Rebekah Teeple, left, and Logan Parsons received their game jersies from the CCHS Booster Club.

The Cumberland County High School basketball teams received special awards and letter awards Sunday afternoon at their annual awards luncheon at the Main Street Church of Christ.

Lady Jet coach Radhika Miller said, "I want to thank everyone for  being here. Without you, none of this would have been possible."

She introduced assistant freshmen coach and husband, Andrew, to start the presentations. He read a text message from head freshman Coach Cub Whitson who was unable to attend.

"I want to thank Coach Miller and Coach Leslie (Eldridge) for getting me back into coaching. The girls had pretty good work ethich. I am very proud of their hustle and they have great character. I look forward to watching them play for many years to come," read Andrew Miller.

The Lady Jet freshmen finished with a 10-2 record and won the District 6AAA freshmen tournament at Rhea County in late January.

Members of the freshmen team were Emily Pugh, Lindsey Norrod, Lexi Lee, Mattie Hinch, Sydney Clark, Bekah Capps, Hannah Brown, Kali Turbett, Klaire Varney and Bethany Dyer.

Leslie Eldridge pointed out the Lady Jet junior varsity finished with a 7-3 record.

"They showed great character and great work ethic," said Eldridge.

Eldridge noted the Lady Jets attained a 3.75 GPA this year.

"They worked tremendously hard in the classroom. Over 80 percent of the players were taking honors or advanced classes," said Eldridge.

Those players with 4.0 GPAs were Rebekah Teeple, Gina Dick, Victoria Lee, Makenzie Iles, Alli Hyder, Courtney Smith, Bekah Capps, Destiny Carlton, Sydney Clark, Mattie Hinch, Lindsey Norrod and Klaire Varney.

Those with 3.75 GPAs were Skylar VanWinkle, Bailey Davis, Kelsey Eldridge, Madison McLaughlin, Madison Wyatt, Hannah Brown, Bethany Dyer, Mary Beth Maxwelll and Emily Pugh. Lexi Lee had a 3.50 GPA.

Radhika Miller pointed out they had a "great team" with one senior, three juniors, six sophomores and four freshmen, along with managers Madison Wyatt, Jalen Holt and  Mary Beth Maxwell, director of basketball operations Lynn Burgess, official scorer Greg Maxwell and bus driver Steve Maxwell.

"We all had an amazing run this season," said Radhika Miller, whose team finished 28-6 overall, including the Jon Loden Christmas Tournament championship, District 6AAA tournament championship, Region 3AAA Tournament runners-up and Region 3AAA runner-up.

"Nothing was sweeter than beating White County (for the district championship). We made it to the Sweet 16 for the second time. We played the No. 1 team in the nation (in the substate). We learned why they were the No. 1 in the nation," she said. "We competed at various times in the game. We couldn't have done this without the support of all of year."

Game shirts, varsity letters and pins were presented to Lynn Burgess, Mary Beth Maxwell, Jalen Holt, Madison Wyatt, Lindsey Norrod, Sydney Clark, Klaire Varney, Courtney Smith, Destiny Carlton, Bailey Davis, Makenzie Iles, Alli Hyder, Madison McLaughlin, Kelsie Eldridge, Skylar VanWinkle, Victoria Lee, Gina Dick and Rebekah Teeple.

Freshmen receiving game shirts were Kali Turbett, Mattie Hinch, Emily Pugh, Bekah Capps, Lexi Lee, Bethany Dyer and Hannah Brown.

Gina Dick won the Assist Award, having dished out 108 this season, and won the Hustle Award.

Makenzie Iles won the Free Throw Excellence Award for hitting 121 of 143 freebies for 86 percent and the Best Offensive Player Award for scoring 595 points, or 17.5 per game. She  needs 80 points to join the 1,000 point club. She also won the MVP award.

Klaire Varney won the Most Improved Player award, while Courtney Smith won the Coaches Award for her committment and work ethic.

Destiny Carlton won the Defensive Player of the Year Award for having 152 steals and 120 rebounds and earned both Lions Club Three-Point percentage award (41 percent) and made three's award (57).

Rebekah Teeple won the Beast of the Boards Award (107 rebounds) and UNITY Award for academic excellence, offense, defense, leadership, heart and character, among other things.

Special awards were given to the three managers, while Travis Clark, Shelia Vaden, Scott Davis, Brian McLauglin, Brad Eldridge, Blaine Moore, Will Foster, Steve Dishman, Jon Hall, Kim Herring, Greg Maxwell, Ed Greif, Travis Issacson, Cub Whitson, Andrew Miller, Leslie VanWinkle and Lynn Burges all received game shirts and other special recognition.

"We came, we conquered, and will do it again," concluded Radhika Miller.

Jet Coach Will Foster also thanked the parents, the booster club, Steve Randel Trevena, bus driver Chuck Howe, Sandy and Blaine Moore, Beth and Scott Davis, CCHS principal Jon Hall and the administration, Ed Greif and Foster's wife, Christy, and family for their support this season.

Assistant coach Blaine Moore presented freshmen Kevin Flores, Mason Crisp, Cory Brooks, Tristan Partridge, Mason Houston, Casey Graham, Ben Tabor and Jake Moore, and managers/trainers James Vallecillo, Olivia Nye, Allayna Kerley and Samantha Godsey.

Varsity letters went to Tyler Daugherty, David Elliott, Jordan Graham, Drew Vaden, Nolan McLain, Alex Dixon, Tanner Christopher, Cade Smith, Ty Tabor, Blake McLaughlin, Brandon Myers, Austin Brown, Diego Poore (co-captain) and Logan Parsons (co-captain).

Austin Brown won the Lions Club Three Point Percentage Award (38 percent) and Cade Smith had the most 3's (48).

Most Improved Players were David Elliott and Blake McLauglin.

Ty Tabor (140) and Logan Parsons (123) won the Rebounding Award, helping the team achieve 656 total boards this season.

Logan Parsons and Diego Poore shared Defensive Player of the Year honors, while Logan Parsons won the Offensive Player of the Year Award and received a basketball for scoring 1,210 points for his career.

"Logan is fantastic basketball player. He finished 11th in his class and he is a role model for the rest of the team. Logan will playing at Bryan College next year," said Foster, whose team finished 12-18 this season, finished fourth in the district tournament and lost at Walker Valley in the region.

Parsons joins his older brother, Caleb, and former SMHS players Brandon Cole, Robert Troino, Tyler Yoder and Luke Matthews at the Dayton school in 2014-'15.

Trending Video