The Cumberland County Commission approved a resolution to create a procedures manual for the citizens of the county.

The resolution states the county will create the procedures manual so that citizens will be aware of the proper steps to follow when making a request of the Cumberland County Commission, such as a request for an event on the courthouse lawn, changing a speed limit on their road, funding request for a nonprofit or filing a complaint about a dilapidated property, they can refer to the manual and see what steps need to be followed.

“It shall be the responsibility of the chair of each committee to have their committee review and/or update as needed their procedures, annually between September and Nov. 1.,” the resolution states.

Once put together, the book of procedures manual will be kept in the Cumberland County Mayor’s office.

The procedures and some of the forms needed will ultimately be available on the county’s website

Darrell Threet, 3rd District commissioner, moved for the resolution’s approval.

Carl McLeod, 9th District commissioner supported the motion and it was unanimously approved.

During a brief discussion regarding the manual, Nancy Hyder, 2nd District commissioner, said she thought it would be good for the new county commissioners, as well.

In other areas, the county unanimously approved two appointment resolutions.

Herbert L. Blevins and Danny Cantwell were approved to be reappointed as judicial commissioners for two-year terms. 

When asked about the term length, county attorney Philip Burnett said the length was up to the county commission, but the only way to remove a judicial commissioner is through an ouster suit.

The resolution originally had four-year terms but Rebecca Stone, 3rd District commissioner, suggested amending it to two years. It was unanimously approved.

Kathy Ivey was appointed to serve a first term on the Cumberland County Library Board for a three-year term beginning July 1, 2019 through June 30, 2022. Dough Scarlett was reappointed for second three-year term beginning July 1, 2019 through June 30, 2022. J.D. Atkinson was reappointed to the Falling Water River Regional Library Board for a second three-year term beginning July 1, 2019 through June 30, 2022.

Gary Nelson may be reached at

Crossville Chronicle senior staff writer