Commissioners sped through a light agenda during Monday night's Cumberland County Commission meeting.

The only action taken was passing three resolutions and a short list of candidates for the election of notary public at large.

Upon the recommendation of Circuit Court Clerk Larry Sherrill, commissioners approved resolution 0708-1 to reappoint judicial commissioners William Benton Threet and Ernest Abston to a four-year term beginning July 21, 2008. The resolution was unanimously approved.

Commissioners also approved resolution 0708-2 to appoint Lisa Harrison to fill the remaining second three-year term to the Caney Fork Regional Library Board. The appointment fills a vacancy created on the board recently due to the death of Carol Darling. The term expires June 30, 2010.

The resolution was approved with 2nd District Commissioner Rob Harrison abstaining from the vote.

Commissioners also approved a special resolution of appreciation honoring all county emergency responders and personnel for their efforts and work during the recent chemical spill and accident on I-40 in Crab Orchard. The accident forced forced the complete closure of the interstate and resulted in a mandatory evacuation of a two-mile radius surrounding the accident.

Commissioners Wendell Wilson, 6th District, and Jeff Brown, 8th District, did not attend the meeting.

Trending Video