Rally for Hope 2019.jpg

The Fairfield Glade Women’s 18 Hole Golf League and CMC joined forces to have the annual Rally for Hope on June 4.

The Fairfield Glade Women’s 18 Hole Golf League and CMC joined forces to have the annual Rally for Hope on June 4. Pink was visible everywhere at the Heatherhurst Crag Golf Course. A total of 105 women participated in the event. 

The committee — Barb DesBiens, Sharon Ellis, Candy Johnson, Sue Orris, Sallee Mallon, and Chris Nagy — had many individuals and golf groups contribute baskets of goodies for the drawing as well as monetary donations. Commemorative signs were displayed on all the tee boxes at the Crag Course. Thanks go to MaryBeth Stiglin, a cancer survivor, for starting this tradition with the CMC Regional Cancer Center. 

Approximately $4,700 was raised this year. A big thank you to all the folks who contributed items or money or volunteered their time. All monies generated by this event stay in Cumberland County to help cancer patients with a variety of expenses during their treatment at the CMC Regional Cancer Center.

The professional staff at Heatherhurst Golf Course deserves a big thank you for all their assistance in getting players on the course and signage placed on the tee boxes.  


The game was two best net scores for a team of four. Any ties were decided by scorecard playoff.

The first-place team of Beth Pearsall, Pat McKissick, Sandi Barth and a blind draw scored 106. The second-place team of Ann Hall, Sue Allen, Barbara Kelso and Barbara Campbell scored 107. Third place went to the team of Connie Fusco, Patricia Poulin, Jayne Johnson and Rosemarie Robak, who scored 109. Fourth place went to Julie Moore, Sue Godfrey, Mary Snell and Jean Kraft with a 110. 

The fifth-place team was Fran Hopp, JoEllen Nauman, Carol Soucie and Sharon Sheet-Long with 111. Sixth place was the team of Nora Joyce Jacquie Larisey, Sherry Stanley and blind draw with 111. The seventh-place team was Trish Arbuckle, Cathy Murphy, Chris Kencitzski and Jan Cellio with 111. The eighth-place team was Dale Renton, Karen Toomey, Brenda Davis and Karen Byrne with 112.

The closest to the line winners were Jackie Baker on Hole 7 and Cindy Hartlieb on Hole 16.

Two birdies each by Suzanne Clarksean, Nancy Harper, Chris Kencitzski, Jean Kraft and Pamela Schwer. 

One birdie each were made by Marjorie Allen, Arlene Blue, Julie Bockman, Karen Byrne, Yong Chagnon, Brenda Davis, Sharon Ellis, Jayne Johnson, Susan Kitto, Susan Knutson, Julie Kraff, Rebecca, Leeper, Mary Listenberger, Mia McLelland, JoEllen Nauman, Martie Novack, Patricia Poulin, Judy Rich, Linda, Rowe, Christine Shumate, Sherry Stanley, and Marty Wennermark.

Again they thank everyone for their support and participation in making this event such a success. Watch for information regarding this event in 2020.