Lions L-J Award- Seabrook.JPG

Lion Ken Steadman (R) presents Bob Seabrook with the 2011 Lindsey-Jennings Fellow Award. Seabrook is only the third FFG Lion to be so honored.

The Lindsey-Jennings Fellow Award was established by the Tennessee Lions Charities, Inc in 2009. It was created to recognize outstanding humanitarian service performed over a period of time by a Tennessee Lion or other caring individual.

It is named in honor of two Tennessee Lions who served as International Presidents, Edward M. Lindsey (1966-1967) and Austin P. Jennings (1988-1989). Mr. Lindsey passed away in January 2011 leaving Austin Jennings as the only living Passed International President in the State of Tennessee.

Only three Lindsey-Jennings Fellow Awards have now been given to Fairfield Glade Lions Club members. Roy Koskinen was the first to receive the award when it was established in 2009. Roy honored Ken Steadman with the award in 2010 and it was Ken’s privilege to honor Bob Seabrook in 2011.

Lion Steadman related that Bob Seabrook joined the FFG Lions in 1998. He immediately became active in nearly every program and activity that the club performed in our community. His most recent endeavor was to serve as Chairman of the Committee to form Leo Clubs in both Cumberland County High Schools in 2009-2010.

Lion Bob has been honored by the FFG Lions Club with many awards for his dedicated work: “Lion of the Year” in 2001, Melvin Jones Fellow in 2003 and “Lion of the Decade” in 2008. Lion Steadman commented, “It is only fitting that we bestow the Lindsey-Jennings Fellow Award to Lion Seabrook for all his great work. We have now run out of major awards to present him but I am sure he will continue his warm service to our club and community for many years to come.”

Recommended for you