Brown-8th grade 2.jpeg

The five eighth-grade students with the highest GPAs for the 2018-’19 school year at Frank P. Brown Elementary School were presented with awards for exceptional academic achievement. They are, from left, Kenzie Rupp (second place), Adeline Seals (third place), Kaidense Loshbough (fourth place), Makenzie Ryan (fifth place) and Jade Laws (first place).

Frank P. Brown Elementary School held its annual eighth-grade recognition program on the evening of May 16. Students received awards for academic accomplishments, outstanding character, subject and club leadership, and other achievements for the 2018-2019 academic year.   

Principal Stephanie Speich and Assistant Principal Tracie Buckner warmly welcomed families and friends to the honors program. School counselor Kelly Thurman was the key announcer for the school awards.

Superlative winners were recognized first: Friendliest — William Izek Temple and Madison Daniels; Funniest — Brooke Goble and Carson Brown; Most Dependable — Jaden Brookins and Jaylynn Muckenthaler; Best Character — Kaidense Loshbough and Julian Hancock; Best All Around — Kenzie Rupp and Colin Cloyd; Most Likely to Succeed — Jade Laws and Tyson Mifflin; Most Talented — Caesar Sewell and Bridgit Rofe; Most Athletic — Allyson Hubbard and Brandon Davis; Most School Spirit — Chloe Hayes and Brayden Akins; Most Individual — Kimra Keiffer and Shelton Welch; Most Outgoing — Sydney Huling and Wyatt Petty; Miss BES — Megan Melecha; and Mr. BES — Marcus Pedde.

Special area award recipients were Art Award — Kimra Keiffer, Jade Laws and Kaidense Loshbough; Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) Award — Jade Laws; Physical Education Award — Jaylynn Muckenthaler; Teen Living Award — Adeline Seals; and Computer Award — William Izek Temple.  

BETA Club sponsors Lisa Parker and Jennifer Cox recognized club members Jade Laws (vice president), Kaidense Loshbough, Marcus Pedde, Kenzie Rupp (president), Makenzie Ryan and Adeline Seals. The Outstanding BETA Award was given to Kenzie Rupp.

Cindy Kemmer, FFA sponsor, bestowed FFA Discovery Degrees upon Brayden Akins, Lauren Begley, Amy Brewer, Carson Brown, Brooke Goble, Allyson Hubbard, Kaidense Loshbough, Carson Rosen, Justin Stamps and Shelton Welch.

Lana Davis of the Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) presented the DAR Award to Kaidense Loshbough. Debbie Jones honored Jade Laws with the Lion's Club Award.

Principal's Awards were given to Sydney Huling, Kenzie Rupp, Jaylynn Muckenthaler and Jade Laws. Good Character Award recipients for the year were Kaidense Loshbough, Taylor Haston, Crystal Merrill, Justin Stamps, Matthew Anzalone, Megan Melecha and Caesar Sewell.

Cheer Awards were presented to cheerleaders Kinzey Brown, Chloe Hayes, Sydney Huling and Megan Melecha.

Millionaire Readers (students who read over a million words in independent reading) recognized in eighth grade were Amy Brewer, Brooke Goble, Kimra Keiffer, Jade Laws, Kaidense Loshbough, Wyatt Petty, Mitcholl Powell, Carson Rosen, Adeline Seals, Caesar Sewell, Justin Stamps and Skylar Treslar. The Top Reader was Mitcholl Powell, who received a Kindle Fire.

Top Math Awards were presented to Sydney Huling, Tyson Mifflin, Brayden Akins, Jade Laws, Lauren Begley and Adeline Seals.

Jade Laws and Kenzie Rupp made the A Honor Roll for the year and were presented with certificates for outstanding academic performance. Kaidense Loshbough, Makenzie Ryan and Adeline Seals were recognized for achieving the A or A/B Honor Roll for the year.      

Students with the highest grade point averages were presented awards for exceptional academic achievement. These students were, in order from first to fifth place, Jade Laws,  Kenzie Rupp, Adeline Seals, Kaidense Loshbough and Makenzie Ryan.

Promotion Certificates were conferred to each eighth-grader. Following the presentation of awards, the eighth-grade video was shown. Mrs. Speich gave closing remarks with inspiring words for the continued success of the future graduating class of 2023. 

Recommended for you