With 10 days until the second annual Cumberland County stroke play championship, there are only 19 entries for the tournament to be played June 28 at Lake Tansi and June 29 at Heatherhurst. The entry deadline is June 23 at 5 p.m.

"Our hope is the tournament will continue to grow and get stronger by playing it over different courses in the county. As with last year, the City of Crossville will be the major sponsor of the event," said Jeff Houston, head professional at Heatherhurst Golf Club.

Mayor J.H. Graham III will present the winner of the scratch division with the championship trophy that will be kept on display at Lake Tansi Pro Shop. 

"We will have a scratch championship flight for men and women that you will have to declare to play in.  As with last year, we will have handicap divisions for men and women and a senior men’s division for players 70 and older from the gold tees. If enough players sign up, we will have age divisions among the handicap brackets," added Houston.

Forty-nine men and women entered the inaugural event last year at Heatherhurst. Logan Stewart won the scratch division, while Ben Brooks took the handicap division and Howard Swan captured the super senior division. Chris Kenchitzski won the women's flight.

These four individuals are expected to defend their titles.

Swan is joined in the 70 and over division by Kemit Selvig, Eddie Liskovec, Tom Prieur and John Manning.

Kencitzski is joined in the ladies division by Fran Hopp, Sue Allen and Sonya Sitton.

Brooks is joined in the handicap division by Jeff Heston, Walt Renton, Gary Lively, Ed Eller, Dave Hickey and Ron Ford.

Kyle Jackman, Jordan Vance and Jason Sitton have entered the scratch division.

To be eligible to participate in the handicap division, you have to be a member of the U.S.G.A. GHIN system and have posted four scores in 2014. 

This tournament will be played strictly by the U.S.G.A. rules of golf.  Your entry fee will include range balls, two tournament rounds, Saturday skins game, and lunch both days. You have to be a resident of Cumberland County to be eligible to enter the tournament, and the tournament will be limited to the first 60 paid entrants. 

If you need help establishing your handicap or have any other questions, please call Jeff Houston or Jeremy Jones at Heatherhurst Golf Club or Matt Phipps or Cody King at Lake Tansi Pro Shop.

This Week's Circulars