clay crushers-jordan burgess.jpg

Jordan Burgess was high overall male in sporting clays.

Approximately 100 teams and more than 1,500 athletes converged on the Tennessee Clay Target Complex in Nashville June 17-21 to compete in the 2014 Scholastic Clay Target Program (SCTP) State Championships.

The Cumberland County Clay Crushers were among those teams competing for state honors in trap, skeet and sporting clays. 

The Clay Crushers placed in three of the five-team categories and took two individual titles.

The Intermediate Advance (IA) team came away with the highest honor possible in their division. They captured the coveted High Overall Combined Team Championship award. This award is determined by the top three individual scores in both skeet and sporting clays and the top five scores in trap.

The Clay Crusher IA team had a combined score of 989 out of a possible 1,100. This IA team also took second place in the trap team competition with a score of 473 x 500, just five targets behind first place finisher Middle Tennessee Christian School of Murfreesboro with a 478.

Hoodlum Alley Claybusters of Shelbyville took third with a 459. Team members were Ryley Phillips, Jordan Burgess (High Overall Male in Sporting Clays), Clint Kemmer, Dylan Mowdy, Corbin Moore, Cooper Wyatt, Hunter Webb, Taylor Webb, Darren Kittrell, Steven Douglas, David Weismuller, Robbie Parks and Gabe Whittenburg.

The Clay Crusher varsity trap team faced tough competition and found themselves in a three-way tie for first place with the Hardin County Hitmen and Coffee County Claybusters all with a score of 486. Each team sent their top five scoring shooters of the day to the line for a shootout.

The Clay Crushers were outscored and came away with the third-place varsity team award. Coffee County took first and Hardin County came in second.

Cumberland County’s varsity shooters were Nate Hembree, Andrew Smith, Nathan Wattenbarger, Megan Burgess (High Overall Female), Luke Kemmer, Logan Adams, Andy Carey, Cody Chattin, Derek Rose, Casey Clark, Cody McAnally, Meghan Server, Madeline Kittrell and Allyson Petersen.

Cumberland County’s IE trap team took the third place team award with a score of 418 behind Middle Tennessee Christian School posting a 443 and Medina Middle School of Gibson County with a 433. Shooting for the Clay Crushers were Justin Reed, Tyler Brewer, Gavin Threet, Noah Anderson and Steven Huddleston.

The Clay Crushers also had shooters competing in the Junior Varsity (JV) and Rookie divisions, but despite their best efforts, they did not make the podium this year. 

The JV team posted a score of 421 with shooters Ty Stone, Aden Mathis, Cody Hyder, John Weismuller and Spencer Wooten.

The Rookie team shot a 186 with team members Shane Blaylock, Samuel Phillips and Nelson Lankford.

The final competition for this year’s Clay Crusher shooters will be the National SCTP Championships at the World Shooting Complex in Sparta, Ill July 14-19.