Will the second year of the Tony Shultz regime at Cumberland County High School be better than year one?

That question will be answered, as the Jets will seek to better a 0-10 overall record and a 0-5 Region 3-5A mark, as CCHS opens the season tonight against Stone Memorial High School in the first "King of the Mountain" game, sponsored by Rick's Pizza on Miller Ave.

Shultz and his staff of Wesley McNeely (assistant head coach and offensive coordinator), Bruce Heady (defensive coordinator/linebackers), Rocky Gora (quarterbacks/defensive backs), Charlie Alva (defensive line) and Donald Smith (offensive line) will take the Jets into battle against Cookeville, Coffee County, Lincoln County, Warren County and Franklin County in region action, while non-region games are against Rhea County, White County, York Institute, Stone Memorial and Meigs County.

"We have to respond well to adversity and not fall apart," noted Shultz, whose team lettered 18 sophomores last season. "We must bounce back after a bad break."

The offense, which returns six starters, will run first out of a double slot with a balanced line, while the defense, which also has six returnees, will use a 4-3 cover 2 set.

Junior quarterback Lucas Johnson will lead the offense, with sophomore Daniel Forte and freshmen Terryl Bowen, Matthew Pennycuff and Derrek Hankins as backups.

Returning as running backs are juniors Travis Dawson, Brad Davis and Frank Pursell and sophomore Travis Whittenburg. In the wings are sophomores Andrew Phipps, senior Shawn Scott, freshmen Tyler Burke, freshmen Wesley Lewis, sophomore Cody Smith and sophomore T.J. Howard.

Senior Zaq Pearson and junior Bobby Griffin are wide receivers.

"Zag is strong, agile and quick," noted Shultz.

Joining the fray as receivers are junior Ethan Spitler, Andy Pugh, freshmen Billy Segers, Cory King, sophomore Brandon Lindsey and junior Joseph Wyatt.

Senior Jeremiah Limburg and junior Matt Wilson anchor the offensive line.

Sophomores Forrest Longway, Jon West and Brandon Baron, with juniors Wilson Tankersley and Cody Suggs; seniors Cameron Pritchard, Lyle Cox and Derek Atchley; and freshmen Jody Bailey and Brandon Cox round out the offensive line candidates.

Defensive line candidates are seniors Rusty Arwood, Limburg, Pritchard, Cox and Atchley; juniors Wilson, Kasey Hardy, Tankersley, Suggs, Caleb Young, Kevin Smith and Adam Ricketts; sophomores Josh Hodgin, Eric Fitzgerald, Nate Snowden, Baron, West, Alex Cotter and Longway; and freshmen Kyle Pritchard, Patrick Morgenstern, Scott Beaty, Conner Creuz, Jody Bailey, Brandon Cox, Dustin Seffron, Roger Norris, Jon Young and Johnathan Vallecillo.

Senior Chase Wood heads the linebacking corps. He is joined by Andrew Phipps, Scott, Tyler Burk, Wesley Lewis, Cody Smith, Bobby Griffin, Travis Dawson and Morganstern.

The defensive secondary has Kyle Caruthers, Spitler, Pugh, Cory King, Pursell, Michael Baehr, Lindsey, T.J. Howard and Whittenburg.

The kicker is senior T.D. Schlafer.