Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

Opinion
  • GARY'S WORLD: A 'Look Back' at the social network

    Facebook celebrated its 10th anniversary this past Tuesday. In fact, it's celebrating all week long. The king of social networking websites first launched Feb. 4, 2004, at Harvard University, connecting students through a network at the school.

    February 6, 2014

  • WE THE PEOPLE: Spinning out of control

    Some “anti-government” folks have gone so far out on the right wing that they are causing us to spin out of control. They promote policies that actually take away personal choices. They frame social issue arguments to the point of absurdity. They show blind adherence to groups that couldn’t care less about them. And… they may take us all down with them.

    February 4, 2014

  • LION AND THE LAMB: Pete Seeger’s gift to us

    The past decades since the 1940s have brought us a golden age of folk singers. These have included Woody Guthrie, Bob Dylan, Joan Baez, Bruce Springsteen, The Kingston Trio, Peter, Paul, and Mary, New Christy Minstrels, and Bernice Johnson Reagon (and her Sweet Honey on the Rock group). But the most influential of all has been Pete Seeger who died this past week on Jan. 27 at the age of 94.

    February 4, 2014

  • TIDBITS: Surviving the winter weather

    I demand a recount, a do-over, a mulligan — something that will give that furry little weather forecaster up in Pennsylvania an opportunity to change his mind on his prediction. I just don't think I can handle another six weeks of the bitter cold winter weather and I'm sure he got it wrong.

    February 3, 2014

  • STUMPTALK: Some things just aren’t right

    Some things aren’t right, for example, aluminum baseball bats. The people who introduced aluminum bats should be prosecuted. As one who grew up hearing thunderous zocks! from wooden bats hitting baseballs, I cringe every time I hear the effeminate poink! of an aluminum bat. No wonder fewer children now play baseball. Who wants to listen to that?

    February 3, 2014

  • We the People: School reform or social disaster?

    “What the best and wisest parent wants for his own child, that must the community want for all of its children. Any other ideal for our schools … destroys our democracy.” (John Dewey, 1907)

    January 28, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: The demise of our democracy

    Democracy took some time to arrive in our nation. The founding fathers were all white men who were property owners, and it took them more than a century before non-property owners, non-whites and women were allowed to vote.

    January 28, 2014

  • Tidbits: Look for better role models

    In 1993, Charles Barkley proclaimed "I am not a role model."

    January 27, 2014

  • Stumptalk: A Ponzi scheme Forced On America By Socialists

    Who can forget that socialist icon FDR and his gift to the unsuspecting American people? Of course, I am referring to the Social Security Ponzi scheme; taking wealth from one group to award it to another just to pay the bills.

    January 27, 2014

  • GARY'S WORLD: Acts of kindness make a big impression

    I have written about this before, but it’s often the little things in life that make the biggest impressions and commentary about our society.

    January 23, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice