Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

Opinion
  • TIDBITS: The trouble with springing forward

    This weekend, we will dutifully spring forward at 2 a.m. Sunday morning and begin daylight saving time.

    March 3, 2014

  • STUMPTALK: History continues to repeat itself

    Propaganda was the key to victory for the communists in the Russian Revolution of 1917. Less than ten percent of the population was communist, but that ten percent controlled the media of the day.

    March 3, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Sticks, stones, and hurting words

    Most of us have grown up knowing some version of that children's proverb "Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words (names) will never hurt me."

    February 25, 2014

  • We the People: Black focusing on false facts

    I would like to take exception to Rep. Diane Black's recent newsletter about President Obama and the Democrats. I have had concerns for some time that Rep. Black does not represent the majority of the constituents in her district. Like many others in her party, she continues to put forth the same stale talking points that are not borne out by the facts. Instead, she picks and chooses to support false talking points.

    February 25, 2014

  • Tidbits: A walk down memory lane

    What an absolutely wonderful weekend! After months of dark, dreary weather, and bitter cold that has kept many people inside, huddled under blankets chasing away the chill, we were blessed with highs near 70 degrees and sunshine — lots and lots of sunshine.

    February 24, 2014

  • Stumptalk: The secret party unmasked

    Recently a doctor-friend asked, “Why would the American people elect a completely unknown street organizer, president of the United States?”

    February 24, 2014

  • LION AND THE LAMB: Birth pangs in North Carolina

    A remarkable event happened in Raleigh, NC, on Saturday, Feb. 8. Nearly 100,000 people gathered for a Moral March on the State Capital in support of a “fusion agenda” focusing on democratic rights, economic justice, and the “soul and future of the state.”

    February 18, 2014

  • WE THE PEOPLE: Happiness requires a good income

    The saying “money doesn’t buy happiness” is usually told to us by those who have it! What does it take to be happy? The working class knows part of the answer is money... enough income to buy happy “stuff” for the family, put food on the table, have a decent home, good health care and savings for higher education for their children. We need to feel safe to be happy! For this, everyone (that isn’t living off of Daddy’s trust fund) has always needed a decent paying job, a job with livable incomes that allows for paying bills and giving our fair share to taxes that support our government.

    February 18, 2014

  • TIDBITS: The thrill of victory, the agony of defeat

    The eyes of the world have been focused on Sochi the last week or so as the winter Olympics enthralled us all. Out of the games come some memorable moments.

    February 17, 2014

  • STUMPTALK: Obama’s speeches are factually empty

    “Lies, damned lies and statistics” is a quote often attributed to Mark Twain. It should be a required quotation printed at the top of each government report and on the TV screen during an Obama speech.

    February 17, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Raw: Kangaroo Rescued From Swimming Pool Raw: 3 American Doctors Killed in Afghanistan Raw: Obama Arrives at State Dinner in Tokyo Raw: Obama Plays Soccer With Japanese Robot Raw: Obama Visits Meiji Shrine in Tokyo Stars Talk Guns N' Roses at Golden Gods New Pictures of Ship That Sank in 1888 Oregon Gay Marriage Ban Goes to Court SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye'
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice