Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

Opinion
  • GARY'S WORLD: The chance to speak your mind

    Are you tired of hearing people complain about the way things are run in Cumberland County? Or, do you like the way the county government is run and operated in our beautiful county?
    Are you happy with the way things are, or would you like some change?

    April 3, 2014

  • LION AND THE LAMB: Digging beneath the headlines

    Our media have been focusing on two important events that have taken place overseas during the last several weeks.

    April 1, 2014

  • WE THE PEOPLE: SNAP, health and work

    A recent letter from Representative Diane Black to me states that she voted for the farm bill (with $8 million in Food Stamp (SNAP) benefit cuts) because she, like me, is a supporter of food stamp benefits for Tennessee families who qualify. That’s a lot of families, as most recipients are families with children and the elderly. Now, recall that there was already a major cut to the food stamp program back in the fall. But for some Republicans, that was not enough.

    April 1, 2014

  • TIDBITS: The courage to start

    Roughly 8,000 people laced up their running shoes Sunday for the 10th annual Covenant Health Knoxville Marathon, half marathon, relay, and 5K.

    March 31, 2014

  • STUMPTALK: Obama’s rogue presidency

    President Obama has detached himself from any meaningful compliance with constitutional limits on administrative power and the principle of separation of powers.

    March 31, 2014

  • We the People: Love America, hate today's politics? Vote!

    The results of the midterm election this Nov. 4 could have more long-term effects than the presidential election of 2016. 
Presidents have a limited amount of power. It is those elected to the House of Representatives and the Senate that approve policy and make bills.

    March 25, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: The unheard deafening roar

    Climate change is a social and environmental problem unlike any we have seen before. The largest and most prestigious non-governmental scientific society in the world, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, with over 125,000 individual and institutional members, released on March 18 a public warning of the dangers posed by climate change,

    March 25, 2014

  • Stumbtalk: What happened to the middle class?

    By listing numerous stereotypes of people whose politics she dislikes, a recent contributor to these pages proved a point I made in my column titled, “They Just Don’t Know.” Refutation of her many incorrect assertions would take years of Stumptalk columns, but her statement about President Reagan and the declining middle class gives me an opportunity to discuss my title’s subject: the destruction of the middle class.

    March 24, 2014

  • Tidbits: Bracket-busting madness

    I am having ill thoughts towards the University of Dayton today. No, it has nothing to do with the school. I actually know very little about the school, other than it is in Dayton, OH. My animosity stems from their shocking upset last week of no. 6 seed Ohio State University in the NCAA men's basketball tournament.

    March 24, 2014

  • GARY'S WORLD: One of the few and the proud

    There are many people you meet in your lifetime and many lessons can be learned from those people.

    March 21, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice