Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

February 5, 2013

WE THE PEOPLE: Wisdom demands thought, not obedience

CROSSVILLE — Almost 3,000 years ago, perhaps earlier, a people began their journey toward democracy. Along the way, they invented and formalized both deductive logic and the inductive system that we now call the scientific method.

Scholars think the Iliad was composed by a single author a century or so before the Pentateuch. Homer’s tale demonstrates that ancient Greeks expected individuals to make personal choices. The gods many considered powerful often fought against each other. People needed to choose very carefully. (Agamemnon pleased one god by sacrificing his daughter, but angered another and he lived to rue his action.)

The Iliad, however, also depicts an iron-age western society dominated by warlords and their royal spouses. It would take another 400 years for Greece to “suffer into wisdom” and develop a society of city-states, with Athens as the crown jewel. During this time, a growing population, believing in the importance of individual choice, renounced traditional blood-lust retaliation and adopted the ideals of justice and equality as a better way to live in relative harmony. (For an allegorical summary of that process, read “The Orestia,” written by Aeschylus in about 500 B.C.)

The Athenian government, like ours, consisted of three branches. The first, the Ekklesia, was a “general assembly” of male citizens who had the time and energy to show up. This was their Congress. The second, the “executive branch,” was the Boule (council of 500), whose members were chosen by a lottery and met every day. The third (the Court) was called the Dikasteria, in which jury members were chosen by lottery from a list of citizens and placed under oath.

Of course, the ancient Athenian Spring didn’t produce perfection. Early Greeks didn’t expect perfection. They recognized that progress was only possible by tempering human intellect with careful observation, by honestly striving and probing. They understood an individual, as well as societal, responsibility to suffer into wisdom. They did not comfortably accept ‘revealed truth’ dispensed by somebody else.

The Athenian democracy (the “Classical Era”) lasted for a little over 200 years (about the age of our current nation). It took several centuries for the classical ethic to be repressed in Greece (and, later, Rome), but for a while the advancement of formal human logic, language, technology and justice under a common law advanced at a rate that has never been surpassed.

Someone once said, “The arc of the moral universe is long but it bends towards justice.” Thus it did for the millennium between Trojan War until the fall of Athenian democracy. But in Europe, the arc then moved toward aristocratic excess and servile poverty for another thousand years. It only began to lean toward justice and rationality again after people became interested in classical learning during the 13th century.

Which way is that arc bending now? A free and vital society teaches its children to value skepticism, honest intellectual struggle and rationality. Posting “revealed law” in public schools better serves the needs of a stagnant, authoritarian caste system. To paraphrase Edmund Burke, those who ignore history (or don’t strive mightily to learn from it) are destined to repeat it.

• • •

This column represents alternative thoughts to other published columns in the Crossville Chronicle. “We the People” is published each Wednesday. Opinions expressed in “We the People” columns are not necessarily those of the Crossville Chronicle publisher, editor or staff. For more information, contact John Wund, editor, at jwund@frontiernet.net.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • We the People: The last dance

    Charlie Hayden’s last recording session with his early partner, Keith Jarrett, was in 2007.  The songs they played were mostly melancholy.  The second album coming from that session includes Weil’s “My Ship” and Porter’s “Every Time We Say Goodbye.” The dark ballad “Goodbye,” by Gordon Jenkins, was the final track.

    July 22, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Living in a pressure cooker

    The Gaza Strip, a small Palestinian territory about the size of Washington, D.C., has been in the news almost every day.  Its key location at the eastern end of the Mediterranean Sea has attracted a number of occupying powers over the years, and it has  been at the center of much Middle East history.

    July 22, 2014

  • Tidbits: The excitement of election day

    On March 12, 1996, there were 427,183 votes cast in the presidential primary election. Among those votes was mine, the first vote I cast in an election, just two days after my 18th birthday.

    July 21, 2014

  • Raising the minimum wage

    My first job from which FICA was withheld was a minimum wage job, seventy-five cents an hour. And yes, even then no one could live on that little money. However, I was a high schooler living at home where my father provided room and board. The job gave me pocket money to buy gasoline, to take my girlfriend out for movies and burgers, and to buy tickets for baseball games.

    July 21, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Children on the move

    The news this past week has focused on the humanitarian crisis developing on our southern border. Thousands of unaccompanied children from El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras seeking to escape from the violence, human trafficking and extreme poverty in their countries have been entering the United States.

    July 15, 2014

  • We the People: Memo to gun rights groups

    The recent incident in California helps us understand why we cannot rely on mental health services alone to solve the problem of gun violence.

    July 15, 2014

  • Tidbits: Make the best of your road trip

    I didn’t care for road trips when I was young. It was so confining to have to sit in the back seat, staring out the window for hour after hour, hayfield after hayfield. And when you’re a kid, time doesn’t pass like it does when you get a little older. Just the trip from Jamestown, TN, to Crossville, roughly 30 miles, felt like an eternity!

    July 14, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Biased climate agenda will cost trillions

    For anyone who has been educated in the history of science and scientific method, this whole issue of “Global Warming” or “Climate Change” is an embarrassing and painful exercise.

    July 14, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Time for an oil change

    The land of Iraq, earlier known as Mesopotamia, has a long history going back to Neanderthal times some 60,000 years ago. Later, around 10,000 years ago, it became the site for some of the most important developments in human history: the invention of the wheel, planting of cereal crops, the development of cursive script, mathematics, astronomy and agriculture. Today it is recognized as one of the cradles of civilization.

    July 8, 2014

  • We the People: American women, be informed and vote

    Voting for today’s Republican Party and its Tea Party members, means you are voting against more than most realize.  This is especially true for women.

    July 8, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice
Graduation 2014