Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

November 27, 2013

WE THE PEOPLE: Take a moment to be thankful

CROSSVILLE — Yay! It’s Thanksgiving week — one of the best weeks of the year. Great food, amazing sales, vacation days … But let’s all take a moment during the busy holiday activities to identify and appreciate the good things in our lives.

The official United States Thanksgiving holiday was proclaimed by President Lincoln 150 years ago this year. It was 1863. We all (especially opinion writers) can find things to grumble and complain about. Pain and uncertainty are never far from our doors. But if people could pause to find gratitude during one of the most brutal periods in our nation’s history, we can certainly find many reasons to be thankful to live in this time and place.

We can be grateful for equality and freedom. Women and minority citizens can vote. Free access to a variety of information sources, unregulated by a totalitarian regime, is a gift. We are allowed to openly (and responsibly?) express our opinions. We enjoy a mostly civil society in which we can work, live and play without threat of violence. We can make our own spiritual choices.

All children, regardless of gender or color, have access to public schools without the fear of dogs or guns. Thanks to progressive reforms there are safety nets for our more vulnerable citizens — the disabled, the elderly and children. Child labor has been eliminated. Workers are protected, to some degree, by a guaranteed minimum wage. The unemployed receive help. We’ve become more accepting of varying lifestyle choices.

We can appreciate citizens who are willing to work in tough jobs. Our military forces, first responders, health care workers, and teachers come to mind. Let’s also value those who clean up our messes, fix our stuff and provide comfort and entertainment.

Science and technology advancements continue to make our lives better. Medical knowledge helps us avoid and cure diseases, and lead healthier lifestyles. We have started a commitment to insure that all will have access to good healthcare. We can use new technologies to help save and improve our environment. Clean water is readily available for most. Modern conveniences allow us to more easily and effectively complete daily chores. Entertainment choices are more varied and available.

Personally, I can be thankful for loving parents who allowed their children to make their own mistakes and celebrated their successes. Those parents modeled kindness and acceptance of differing races and social classes. They valued learning, critical thinking and respectful disagreement. They demanded honesty and hard work. They embraced fun and a strong sense of humor. They demonstrated the importance of honoring family and friends. Even though they’re now gone, they guide me every day.

This article was going to be about big business, big government, big money and big media — things that few of us are probably thankful for. Those institutions will still be here next time I write (sigh). I can use up valuable time, paper and ink then. But, for now those resources are better used to reflect on the value of our everyday good fortunes, meager or large, physical or intangible, permanent or fleeting. So, let’s be thankful that we can choose to use that reflection to try to make things better for our neighbors, nation, and world.

• • •

This column represents alternative thoughts to other published columns in the Crossville Chronicle. “We the People” is published each Wednesday. Opinions expressed in “We the People” columns are not necessarily those of the Crossville Chronicle publisher, editor or staff. For more information, contact John Wund, editor, at jwund@frontiernet.net.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Tidbits: Taking a low-tech break

    Feeling increasingly strangled by my electronic leash, with phone, text messages, email, social media and a variety of other forms of communication always at my side, I took the weekend off.

    July 28, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Governing before and after mass corruption

    Laws in America were originally written simply. Every citizen could read them quickly and understand their meaning. The founders wrote the Declaration of Independence, the Articles of Confederation, the Northwest Ordinance and the Constitution of the United States, none of which was longer than 4,500 words.

    July 28, 2014

  • We the People: The last dance

    Charlie Hayden’s last recording session with his early partner, Keith Jarrett, was in 2007.  The songs they played were mostly melancholy.  The second album coming from that session includes Weil’s “My Ship” and Porter’s “Every Time We Say Goodbye.” The dark ballad “Goodbye,” by Gordon Jenkins, was the final track.

    July 22, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Living in a pressure cooker

    The Gaza Strip, a small Palestinian territory about the size of Washington, D.C., has been in the news almost every day.  Its key location at the eastern end of the Mediterranean Sea has attracted a number of occupying powers over the years, and it has  been at the center of much Middle East history.

    July 22, 2014

  • Tidbits: The excitement of election day

    On March 12, 1996, there were 427,183 votes cast in the presidential primary election. Among those votes was mine, the first vote I cast in an election, just two days after my 18th birthday.

    July 21, 2014

  • Raising the minimum wage

    My first job from which FICA was withheld was a minimum wage job, seventy-five cents an hour. And yes, even then no one could live on that little money. However, I was a high schooler living at home where my father provided room and board. The job gave me pocket money to buy gasoline, to take my girlfriend out for movies and burgers, and to buy tickets for baseball games.

    July 21, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Children on the move

    The news this past week has focused on the humanitarian crisis developing on our southern border. Thousands of unaccompanied children from El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras seeking to escape from the violence, human trafficking and extreme poverty in their countries have been entering the United States.

    July 15, 2014

  • We the People: Memo to gun rights groups

    The recent incident in California helps us understand why we cannot rely on mental health services alone to solve the problem of gun violence.

    July 15, 2014

  • Tidbits: Make the best of your road trip

    I didn’t care for road trips when I was young. It was so confining to have to sit in the back seat, staring out the window for hour after hour, hayfield after hayfield. And when you’re a kid, time doesn’t pass like it does when you get a little older. Just the trip from Jamestown, TN, to Crossville, roughly 30 miles, felt like an eternity!

    July 14, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Biased climate agenda will cost trillions

    For anyone who has been educated in the history of science and scientific method, this whole issue of “Global Warming” or “Climate Change” is an embarrassing and painful exercise.

    July 14, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice
Graduation 2014