Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

April 1, 2014

WE THE PEOPLE: SNAP, health and work

CROSSVILLE — A recent letter from Representative Diane Black to me states that she voted for the farm bill (with $8 million in Food Stamp (SNAP) benefit cuts) because she, like me, is a supporter of food stamp benefits for Tennessee families who qualify. That’s a lot of families, as most recipients are families with children and the elderly. Now, recall that there was already a major cut to the food stamp program back in the fall. But for some Republicans, that was not enough.

Diane seems to think lottery winners and dead people are reaping the rewards of SNAP. Black also wants to be sure that able-bodied individuals who are receiving food stamps are encouraged to work. She applauds the establishment of pilot programs in 10 states that provide job training and work requirements.

However, a check of the Department of Labor website shows that a very similar program, the ABAWD (Able-Bodied Adult Without Dependents) Program, has been in effect since the mid-1990s in Tennessee. This was part of the major welfare reform negotiated between President Clinton and Speaker of the House Newt Gingrich. Yet Tennessee’s Food Stamp Program has expanded to include more than one in every six Tennesseans (according to the 2010/2011 United States Census). Tennessee, in fact, has one of the highest food stamp usages in the country.

16.4% of Cumberland County residents live below the poverty line, as do 25.4% of Fentress County residents. There are few good paying jobs available, and folks here need all the help they can get to support their families. Programs like SNAP and Medicaid are a necessary safety net for poverty stricken areas like Fentress County.

There are two ways to reduce SNAP reliance. One is to raise the minimum wage. This would take a lot of people out of poverty and off the SNAP rolls immediately. Currently, in Tennessee, we are subsidizing companies like Walmart by providing food stamps to their poorly paid employees. Walmart makes billions in profits, but a recent decline in Walmart stock was reported to be related to food stamp cuts. It has also been documented that many other large corporations in this country pay very low wages and actually train their employees to access public assistance programs so they can supplement their paychecks. Some of these companies also receive huge federal subsidies while paying non-livable wages.

The second way to reduce SNAP rolls is to make sure that people are “able-bodied.” The Affordable Care Act can make that happen. Yet the Tennessee Republican Party has blocked the establishment of a state ACA Marketplace and refused to expand Medicaid, leaving thousands without coverage.

Pamela Roshee, regional director for the Department of Health and Human Services, stated to “The Tennessean” that, as of Feb. 1, 2014, less than 60,000 Tennessee residents had signed up for insurance under the ACA. There are over 800,000 uninsured people in the state. Most who enrolled in the ACA qualified for subsidies, another indicator that many Tennessee citizens are in financial need. And, thanks to Tennessee’s refusal to accept federal money to expand TennCare, those who are too poor to qualify for ACA will be left without coverage of any kind.

Rep. Black needs to listen to the needs of her constituents. Area voters need to stop voting against their interests! Vote the person who will stand up for your needs, not the party ignoring them.

• • •

This column represents alternative thoughts to other published columns in the Crossville Chronicle. “We the People” is published each Wednesday. Opinions expressed in “We the People” columns are not necessarily those of the Crossville Chronicle publisher, editor or staff. For more information, contact John Wund, coordinator, at jwund@frontiernet.net.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Tidbits: Taking a low-tech break

    Feeling increasingly strangled by my electronic leash, with phone, text messages, email, social media and a variety of other forms of communication always at my side, I took the weekend off.

    July 28, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Governing before and after mass corruption

    Laws in America were originally written simply. Every citizen could read them quickly and understand their meaning. The founders wrote the Declaration of Independence, the Articles of Confederation, the Northwest Ordinance and the Constitution of the United States, none of which was longer than 4,500 words.

    July 28, 2014

  • We the People: The last dance

    Charlie Hayden’s last recording session with his early partner, Keith Jarrett, was in 2007.  The songs they played were mostly melancholy.  The second album coming from that session includes Weil’s “My Ship” and Porter’s “Every Time We Say Goodbye.” The dark ballad “Goodbye,” by Gordon Jenkins, was the final track.

    July 22, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Living in a pressure cooker

    The Gaza Strip, a small Palestinian territory about the size of Washington, D.C., has been in the news almost every day.  Its key location at the eastern end of the Mediterranean Sea has attracted a number of occupying powers over the years, and it has  been at the center of much Middle East history.

    July 22, 2014

  • Tidbits: The excitement of election day

    On March 12, 1996, there were 427,183 votes cast in the presidential primary election. Among those votes was mine, the first vote I cast in an election, just two days after my 18th birthday.

    July 21, 2014

  • Raising the minimum wage

    My first job from which FICA was withheld was a minimum wage job, seventy-five cents an hour. And yes, even then no one could live on that little money. However, I was a high schooler living at home where my father provided room and board. The job gave me pocket money to buy gasoline, to take my girlfriend out for movies and burgers, and to buy tickets for baseball games.

    July 21, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Children on the move

    The news this past week has focused on the humanitarian crisis developing on our southern border. Thousands of unaccompanied children from El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras seeking to escape from the violence, human trafficking and extreme poverty in their countries have been entering the United States.

    July 15, 2014

  • We the People: Memo to gun rights groups

    The recent incident in California helps us understand why we cannot rely on mental health services alone to solve the problem of gun violence.

    July 15, 2014

  • Tidbits: Make the best of your road trip

    I didn’t care for road trips when I was young. It was so confining to have to sit in the back seat, staring out the window for hour after hour, hayfield after hayfield. And when you’re a kid, time doesn’t pass like it does when you get a little older. Just the trip from Jamestown, TN, to Crossville, roughly 30 miles, felt like an eternity!

    July 14, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Biased climate agenda will cost trillions

    For anyone who has been educated in the history of science and scientific method, this whole issue of “Global Warming” or “Climate Change” is an embarrassing and painful exercise.

    July 14, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice
Graduation 2014