Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

March 19, 2013

WE THE PEOPLE: Equal protection for some

CROSSVILLE — Apparently the equal protection clause of the U.S. Constitution is just a suggestion, judging by some of the most Constitution-quoting members of our governing bodies. Case in point, consider the recently renewed Violence Against Women Act (VAWA).

This act, first passed in 1994, funds programs and research to help prevent and prosecute domestic and sexual violence. The act has had a significant impact. All states have passed legislation — over 660 laws — to combat domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault and stalking. The incidence of domestic violence has decreased by 58%. Maryland’s intimate partner homicides have been reduced by a remarkable 41% over four years (July 2007-July 2010).

The act has had a positive economic impact also, saving $12.6 billion in the first six years. Our neighbors in Kentucky saved $85 million in one year alone reducing violence through the issuance of protection orders.

VAWA was reauthorized in 2000 and 2005 with nearly unanimous consent. It was due for renewal in 2012. The Senate, after consulting with experts, agreed to offer (for the first time!) protection to people who were Native American, of a sexual persuasion other than heterosexual, and undocumented immigrants. The Republicans in the House apparently couldn’t stomach the idea of helping women in these categories. The divided, gutless 2012 Congress could not come to agreement (surprise!) and the bill languished.

Last month, after being dormant for nearly two years, the act was passed by Congress and signed by the President with the new groups protected. This was despite a “fake” VAWA proposed by conservatives in the House that would have gutted important features of the existing, very popular law.

Thank you Senators Corker and Alexander for voting “yes.” Nevertheless, 22 Senators and 138 Representatives voted AGAINST protecting women.

You might assume that all “no” votes came from men who never had a mother, sister or wife. But, it’s likely that the men who voted against VAWA have women somewhere in their life. Even more amazing, though, is that there were ten lady Representatives (all Republican) who voted against the bill. So what separates the no voters from the other conservatives in their chamber? It won’t surprise most of us to learn that the phony House version and the final no votes were sponsored by the Tea Party wing.

Morally heinous as voting against reauthorizing VAWA is, it is also just plain stupid. One reason the GOP lost big in November was its failure to honor women and their needs. To add insult to injury, many right-wing opponents of VAWA are now claiming to have voted FOR the act, when, in fact, they only voted for the bogus House proposal to give them cover before they voted against reauthorization. Not only are they mean and not particularly smart, they are dishonest. Some of these folks claim to honor “family values.” They must think violence against women is a just fine for the “family.”

If you are a woman, or value the women in your family, you might be interested in how Cumberland County’s Representative voted on H Amdt 23 (the bogus cover) and S47 (the real VAWA reauthorization). Go to “votesmart.org,” type in Diane Black and search her voting record. You’ll be amazed.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lion and the Lamb: Our war on women

    Jimmy Carter, who was president from 1977 to 1981, has had quite an impressive career as an author. His first book was published in 1975, and he has now written a total of 37 books, 23 of them after his presidency. He has set a high example for other past presidents, especially those who would like to find ways of being as beneficial to their nation as possible in the days after their retirement.

    April 22, 2014

  • Tidbits: "Selfie" destruction

    Technology continues to profoundly impact our daily lives, from the Heartbleed Bug that put hundreds of thousands of websites at risk of compromising customer usernames and passwords, to the little light that tries to tell me I'm about to run out of gas. Technology also impacts our language, with new words being created to describe the latest gizmo, gadget or trend.

    April 21, 2014

  • Stumptalk: It depends on what you mean

    A writer’s headline asks, “Do we really believe in democracy?” To which I answer, “What do you mean by democracy?

    April 21, 2014

  • LION AND THE LAMB: Four ways to demonstrate opposition

    Marcus Borg and John Dominic Crossan mention in their book, “The Last Week,” that Roman-occupied Palestine during the first century was under the control of Pontius Pilate who lived in the coastal city of Caesarea. Each year at the beginning of the Passover observance when Jews celebrated their liberation from Egypt, Pilate feared that they might be getting ideas about revolting from Rome, so he would come with additional soldiers on horses to beef up the Roman garrison in Jerusalem. 

    April 15, 2014

  • WE THE PEOPLE: Is it (new) party time?

    The Democratic and Republican parties are toast, according to Joe Trippi. The Republican Party is coming apart at its Tea Party seam. Democratic candidates struggle to celebrate President Obama’s health care successes, while responding to criticism of his failed promises, e.g., government transparency.

    April 15, 2014

  • TIDBITS: I found it at the library

    I have such fond memories of going to my local library as a child, searching through shelf after shelf and finding a book that would make me a Little Princess in World War II England, or bring me along as Nancy Drew solved the Secret in the Old Attic.

    April 14, 2014

  • STUMPTALK: The reason words have meaning

    If words did not have accepted meanings we would not be able to communicate effectively and civilized society would not exist.

    April 14, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Do we really believe in democracy?

    The recent Supreme Court decision, McCutcheon v. Federal Election Commission, is in a long line of debates about power in a democracy. Should power be in the hands of all the citizens or should it be in hands of those who have greater wealth and social position?

    April 8, 2014

  • We the People: Public education or business opportunity?

    A month ago, we followed the money trail left by a ‘think tank’ to the major sources funding an attack on our traditional, locally controlled public schools. We saw that a handful of billionaires provide major support to many organizations lobbying for change.

    April 8, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Just another government lie?

    There is a vault located in Fort Knox, Kentucky. It was built in 1936 and encased in 16 cubic feet of granite and 4200 feet of cement. The door is made of 20-inch thick material that is immune to drills, torches and explosives.

    April 7, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Raw: Kangaroo Rescued From Swimming Pool Raw: 3 American Doctors Killed in Afghanistan Raw: Obama Arrives at State Dinner in Tokyo Raw: Obama Plays Soccer With Japanese Robot Raw: Obama Visits Meiji Shrine in Tokyo Stars Talk Guns N' Roses at Golden Gods New Pictures of Ship That Sank in 1888 Oregon Gay Marriage Ban Goes to Court SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye'
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice