Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

April 3, 2012

RANDOM THOUGHTS: Information giants making changes

CROSSVILLE — Change is a constant force in the world and in every life. Sometimes it is carefully planned. Other times it is completely unexpected. Last week the public learned that two giants in the world of information are making changes. Encyclopedia Britannica will no longer offer printed editions and C-SPAN’s Brian Lamb is stepping down as CEO.

Britannica was first published 244 years ago in Edinburgh, Scotland “by a society of gentlemen in Scotland” but the foundation for encyclopedias began with Greek philosophers in the 1st and 2nd centuries. They said that everything that can be learned by man in this life should be organized into a work that explains all the various kinds of knowledge.

The Romans acted on that theory by compiling the first encyclopedia organized by classifying information from all the sciences, history, arts, biography and subject matter. Over many years every country added their versions of the encyclopedia.

In 1768 Encyclopedia Britannica printed two volumes and added the third in 1771. The title page stated that these books had been compiled on a new plan which arranged the subjects alphabetically. The second edition ten years later had grown to ten volumes and by the sixth edition the words “revised, corrected and improved” appeared.

Bowing to the ever-whirling wheels of change in 1994 they became the first encyclopedia to appear on the Internet. Now in 2012 Britannica appears online but no longer printed on paper. I understand but I consider my 1969, 23 volumes a treasure and they will remain on the shelf as long as I live.

Brian Lamb, founder, chairman and CEO of C-SPAN, is equally treasured by me. Born in Indiana seventy years ago his teen years revolved around music. He was a drummer and a disc jockey on local radio where he had the opportunity to interview many of music’s biggest stars. He graduated from Purdue with a Bachelor of Arts in Speech and then went into the Navy where he spent some time in the Pentagon.

Lamb returned to Indiana after his service and worked at the local TV station. Soon he became press secretary for a senator and in Washington, D.C. he became the assistant for media and congressional relations to the director of the White House office of Telecommunications Policy. During LBJ’s administration he was a social aide and escorted Lady Bird down the aisle for the wedding of Lynda and Chuck Robb. Later he was the editor of several media magazines.

By 1977 all these experiences led to the idea of creating a public affairs-oriented cable network presenting an unedited look at the government in action. Lamb made the proposal to a group of TV cable executives and in December 1977, they accepted his plan. On March 19, 1979 there was live coverage of the first televised debate in the House of Representatives.

From one camera and one TV channel, C-SPAN now has three 24-hour channels presenting an unfiltered view of government and politicians at work. Lamb says, “C-SPAN is the voice of America, with all its flaws.”

I hope he will continue hosting Book Notes and Q&A. Those informative interviews prove what a tough taskmaster Lamb is. He spends an average of twenty hours reading and preparing for each interview. What a difference from so many interviews with authors and politicians. Many authors realize quickly the interviewer has not even read their book. Instead any personality agreeing to be interviewed by Brian Lamb know they too should be well prepared to answer any question.

Someone said the world spins forever on change and we can only hope the changes made by these two givers of knowledge will be successful.

 



 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • We the People: The last dance

    Charlie Hayden’s last recording session with his early partner, Keith Jarrett, was in 2007.  The songs they played were mostly melancholy.  The second album coming from that session includes Weil’s “My Ship” and Porter’s “Every Time We Say Goodbye.” The dark ballad “Goodbye,” by Gordon Jenkins, was the final track.

    July 22, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Living in a pressure cooker

    The Gaza Strip, a small Palestinian territory about the size of Washington, D.C., has been in the news almost every day.  Its key location at the eastern end of the Mediterranean Sea has attracted a number of occupying powers over the years, and it has  been at the center of much Middle East history.

    July 22, 2014

  • Tidbits: The excitement of election day

    On March 12, 1996, there were 427,183 votes cast in the presidential primary election. Among those votes was mine, the first vote I cast in an election, just two days after my 18th birthday.

    July 21, 2014

  • Raising the minimum wage

    My first job from which FICA was withheld was a minimum wage job, seventy-five cents an hour. And yes, even then no one could live on that little money. However, I was a high schooler living at home where my father provided room and board. The job gave me pocket money to buy gasoline, to take my girlfriend out for movies and burgers, and to buy tickets for baseball games.

    July 21, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Children on the move

    The news this past week has focused on the humanitarian crisis developing on our southern border. Thousands of unaccompanied children from El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras seeking to escape from the violence, human trafficking and extreme poverty in their countries have been entering the United States.

    July 15, 2014

  • We the People: Memo to gun rights groups

    The recent incident in California helps us understand why we cannot rely on mental health services alone to solve the problem of gun violence.

    July 15, 2014

  • Tidbits: Make the best of your road trip

    I didn’t care for road trips when I was young. It was so confining to have to sit in the back seat, staring out the window for hour after hour, hayfield after hayfield. And when you’re a kid, time doesn’t pass like it does when you get a little older. Just the trip from Jamestown, TN, to Crossville, roughly 30 miles, felt like an eternity!

    July 14, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Biased climate agenda will cost trillions

    For anyone who has been educated in the history of science and scientific method, this whole issue of “Global Warming” or “Climate Change” is an embarrassing and painful exercise.

    July 14, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Time for an oil change

    The land of Iraq, earlier known as Mesopotamia, has a long history going back to Neanderthal times some 60,000 years ago. Later, around 10,000 years ago, it became the site for some of the most important developments in human history: the invention of the wheel, planting of cereal crops, the development of cursive script, mathematics, astronomy and agriculture. Today it is recognized as one of the cradles of civilization.

    July 8, 2014

  • We the People: American women, be informed and vote

    Voting for today’s Republican Party and its Tea Party members, means you are voting against more than most realize.  This is especially true for women.

    July 8, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Raw: Families Travel to Taiwan Plane Crash Site Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Gen. Odierno Discusses Ukraine, NATO at Forum Gaza Fighting Rages Amid Cease-Fire Efforts Mint Gives JFK Coin a Face-lift Creative Makeovers for Ugly Cellphone Towers Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Raw: ISS Cargo Ship Launches in Kazakhstan Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice
Graduation 2014