Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

March 26, 2013

Lion and the Lamb: A sad anniversary to remember

CROSSVILLE — On March 20 ten years ago, President George Bush and Vice President Dick Cheney took our nation into the Iraq War. According to George Tenet, director of the CIA, it was supposed to be a “slam-dunk.” In fact, on May 1 of that year Bush, standing before a “Mission Accomplished” banner on the aircraft carrier Abraham Lincoln, declared the end of “major combat” in Iraq.

Today at the ten-year mark, however, the Iraq War is being described as one of the biggest disasters in the history of our nation. The figures are disturbing: An amount of $2 trillion has already been spent. Nearly 5,000 U.S. soldiers have lost their lives (either in combat or through suicide). Tens of billions will still be needed for continuing troop disability expenses. It is costing over $600 million a year to guard the giant U.S. Embassy and its personnel in Baghdad.

The figures for the Iraqi side are disquieting, too. Over one million Iraqis have died due to the invasion. Five million have become refugees, many fleeing to other countries. But the worst outcome for the Iraqi people is taking place as they suffer from contamination resulting from Depleted Uranium (DU) munitions, white phosphorous, a new kind of napalm, and bullets containing lead, uranium, and mercury. Between 2002 and 2005, the U.S. armed forces expended six billion of these bullets.

Two Iraqi cities, Fallujah and Basrah, have exhibited increasing rates of cancer and congenital birth defects: children being born with two heads, only one eye in the center of their face, multiple tumors, disfiguring facial and body deformities, and complex nervous system problems. The majority of families had returned to their bombarded homes and lived there, or otherwise rebuilt on top of the contaminated rubble of their old homes. The remaining traces of DU in Iraq represent a formidable long-term environmental hazard since they will remain radioactive for more than 4.5 billion years.

Another source of Iraqi anger against the U.S. (still continuing today) was the treatment that Iraqi prisoners received in fourteen U.S. prisons in Iraq after 2003. A leaked report from the International Committee of the Red Cross listed treatment that included mock executions, waterboarding, painful stress positions, extreme heat and cold, sleep deprivation, electric shocks, rape and sodomy, and sexual humiliation.

Two days before the Iraq War began, a group of veteran Intelligence professionals wrote a Memorandum to President Bush, urging him not to attack Iraq. In it they stated that the intelligence information upon which the attack was being based—the reports of uranium, aluminum tubes, and weapons of mass destruction—was fraudulent and cooked. It appeared, they said, that the administration was shaping the intelligence for political purposes. Needless to say, their Memorandum was ignored and the war commenced.

On the Internet there is a moving “Last Letter” written by Tomas Young, an Iraq War veteran who was paralyzed in an insurgent ambush in 2004 in Sadr City and is now under hospice care. He wrote the letter to George Bush and Dick Cheney on behalf of the 4,488 soldiers and Marines who died in Iraq. Following are two paragraphs from his letter. They are rather long, but it’s important for us to hear what this dying man has to say:

“I joined the Army two days after the 9/11 attacks. I joined the Army because our country had been attacked. I wanted to strike back at those who had killed some 3,000 of my fellow citizens. I did not join the Army to go to Iraq, a country that had no part in the September 2001 attacks and did not pose a threat to its neighbors, much less to the United States. I did not join the Army to ‘liberate’ Iraqis or to shut down the mythical weapons-of-mass-destruction facilities or to implant what you cynically called ‘democracy’ in Baghdad and the Middle East. I did not join the Army to rebuild Iraq, which at the time you told us could be paid for by Iraq’s oil revenues. Instead, this war has cost the United States over $3 trillion. I especially did not join the Army to carry out preemptive war. Preemptive war is illegal under international law. And as a soldier in Iraq I was, I now know, abetting your idiocy and your crimes. The Iraq War is the largest strategic blunder in U.S. history. It obliterated the balance of power in the Middle East. It installed a corrupt and brutal pro-Iranian government in Baghdad, one cemented in power through the use of torture, death squads and terror. And it has left Iran as dominant force in the region. On every level—moral, strategic, military and economic—Iraq was a failure. And it was you, Mr. Bush and Mr. Cheney, who started this war. It is you who should pay the consequences.

“I would not be writing this letter if I had been wounded fighting in Afghanistan against those forces that carried out the attacks of 9/11. Had I been wounded there I would still be miserable because of my physical deterioration and imminent death, but I would at least have the comfort of knowing that my injuries were a consequence of my own decision to defend the country I love. I would not have to lie in my bed, my body filled with painkillers, my life ebbing away, and deal with the fact that hundreds of thousands of human beings, including children, including myself, were sacrificed by you for little more than the greed of oil companies, for your alliance with the oil sheiks in Saudi Arabia, and your insane visions of empire.”   

There are many things to think about on this tenth anniversary.

• • •

This column is sponsored by Cumberland Countians for Peace and Justice and dedicated by the local writers to the theme that the lion and the lamb can and must learn to live together and grow in their relationship toward one another to ensure a better world. Opinions expressed in “Lion and the Lamb” columns are not necessarily those of the Crossville Chronicle publisher, editor or staff. For more information, contact Ted Braun, editor, at 277-5135.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Tidbits: The excitement of election day

    On March 12, 1996, there were 427,183 votes cast in the presidential primary election. Among those votes was mine, the first vote I cast in an election, just two days after my 18th birthday.

    July 21, 2014

  • Raising the minimum wage

    My first job from which FICA was withheld was a minimum wage job, seventy-five cents an hour. And yes, even then no one could live on that little money. However, I was a high schooler living at home where my father provided room and board. The job gave me pocket money to buy gasoline, to take my girlfriend out for movies and burgers, and to buy tickets for baseball games.

    July 21, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Children on the move

    The news this past week has focused on the humanitarian crisis developing on our southern border. Thousands of unaccompanied children from El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras seeking to escape from the violence, human trafficking and extreme poverty in their countries have been entering the United States.

    July 15, 2014

  • We the People: Memo to gun rights groups

    The recent incident in California helps us understand why we cannot rely on mental health services alone to solve the problem of gun violence.

    July 15, 2014

  • Tidbits: Make the best of your road trip

    I didn’t care for road trips when I was young. It was so confining to have to sit in the back seat, staring out the window for hour after hour, hayfield after hayfield. And when you’re a kid, time doesn’t pass like it does when you get a little older. Just the trip from Jamestown, TN, to Crossville, roughly 30 miles, felt like an eternity!

    July 14, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Biased climate agenda will cost trillions

    For anyone who has been educated in the history of science and scientific method, this whole issue of “Global Warming” or “Climate Change” is an embarrassing and painful exercise.

    July 14, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Time for an oil change

    The land of Iraq, earlier known as Mesopotamia, has a long history going back to Neanderthal times some 60,000 years ago. Later, around 10,000 years ago, it became the site for some of the most important developments in human history: the invention of the wheel, planting of cereal crops, the development of cursive script, mathematics, astronomy and agriculture. Today it is recognized as one of the cradles of civilization.

    July 8, 2014

  • We the People: American women, be informed and vote

    Voting for today’s Republican Party and its Tea Party members, means you are voting against more than most realize.  This is especially true for women.

    July 8, 2014

  • TIDBITS: Beat the heat in July and August

    I hope everyone enjoyed the Independence Day weekend, with lots of celebration and fun. We couldn’t have asked for better weather this July 4, or 5 or 6. In fact, it was so nice I was tempted to try and bottle some of that sunshine, low humidity and gentle breeze that greeted me each morning.

    July 7, 2014

  • STUMPTALK: Demand better from government workers

    In a recent congressional hearing we learned that the VA awarded excessive bonuses to nearly all of their doctors and administrators. In a recent column we mentioned that the civil service employment provisions should be revised so that federal employees in the executive branch could be fired if they don’t perform to the satisfaction of the president. The president would then know that he (or she) will be solely responsible for any failures of the administration and would be more likely to demand hiring competent employees and insist on satisfactory performance.

    July 7, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques ShowBiz Minute: Hoffman, Oberst, Box Office WWII Vet Gets Medals, 70 Years Late Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice
Graduation 2014