Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

June 28, 2012

GARY'S WORLD: Three years until Back to the Future Day

CROSSVILLE — It amazes me how fast rumors and folklore spread on the Internet. In fact, I often get a big kick out of some of the stories that circulate on the web, but feel like I have to set the record straight when I see these bloopers.

Such was the case yesterday when I was on Facebook and saw that one of my friends shared a photo image from classic 80s mega blockbuster movie "Back to the Future."

In the movie, Doc, a mad scientist, friend of Michael J. Fox, creates a time traveling machine made from a DeLorean automobile and Fox (Marty McFly) travels back to the 1950s.

In a scene from the movie, Doc sets the time machine ahead in the future on a digital readout panel inside the DeLorean. Wednesday, an image supposedly taken from the movie was posted on the web with the date June 27, 2012 and a caption that read, "It's Back to the Future day."

The whole thing was an Internet hoax that went viral in a matter of hours on the web. With the help of mega social media sites like Facebook, Twitter and Tumblr, the image which was posted on craft company Colour Me Fun's Facebook page had 10,000 shares, a 1,000 likes and 300 comments in a matter of hours and went viral over the web.

What strikes me as really funny is that this is the second time this has happened with the same thing. The first time the "Back to the Future" time hoax happened was in 2010.

Thousands of people, including me, were duped into thinking it was the date. The true skeptic that I am, a voice in the back of my mind said, "there's got to be a way to verify the real date on the Internet."

After some research I was able to find the clip from the movie "Back to the Future II" on YouTube.

Although the photo on the web says characters Doc and Marty McFly traveled to June 27, 2012 from Oct. 26, 1985, the actual date used in the film was Oct. 21, 2015.

Another three years until it's REALLY Back to the Future day.

So how did so many people fall for this hoax again? Here’s what happened according to social media news site www.mashable.com:

"Steve Berry, a social media manager for mobile checkout company Simply Tap, designed the (Photoshop) image to promote the Back to the Future trilogy Blu-ray box set for his client. The photo — which used Wednesday’s date as “the future” — was a deliberate reference to the same hoax that was accidentally started by Total Film in 2010."

Berry was referring to the first hoax, thinking everyone would remember it and get a chuckle.

“We promoted the image fully confident in the knowledge that everyone was familiar with the original hoax from a couple of years ago,” Berry told Mashable. “We figured that no one would fall for the same joke twice, so the caption was deliberately replicated it word for word so people would get the reference.”

However, the new image developed a life of its own and it too was posted and reposted all over the Internet.

I personally think what helps fuel the fire in cases of Internet folklore, or rumor spreading, like this is a nostalgic love for the past and the desire to make it relate to current times.

There must be millions of people who love that movie who, like me, saw it in the theater back in the '80s and thought, "Oh, how cool" and reposted the photo.

It's harmless fun, but in some cases — especially political instances — the viral lies can be damaging or hurtful.

One of the best fact-checking sites for these Internet rumors or urban folklore is Snopes.com.

I can't help but think it's kind of funny and sad at the same time. What does it say about our society and how gullible we are? With so many people trying to look smart at the same time with a simple re-post, or share — there's bound to be disaster.

Don't fall for this stuff. Do some quick fact checking and you'll discover that, no, President Barack Obama and the First Lady didn't say the pledge with their left hands over their hearts — it was simply a photoshopped picture that was flipped backward.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lion and the Lamb: Our war on women

    Jimmy Carter, who was president from 1977 to 1981, has had quite an impressive career as an author. His first book was published in 1975, and he has now written a total of 37 books, 23 of them after his presidency. He has set a high example for other past presidents, especially those who would like to find ways of being as beneficial to their nation as possible in the days after their retirement.

    April 22, 2014

  • Tidbits: "Selfie" destruction

    Technology continues to profoundly impact our daily lives, from the Heartbleed Bug that put hundreds of thousands of websites at risk of compromising customer usernames and passwords, to the little light that tries to tell me I'm about to run out of gas. Technology also impacts our language, with new words being created to describe the latest gizmo, gadget or trend.

    April 21, 2014

  • Stumptalk: It depends on what you mean

    A writer’s headline asks, “Do we really believe in democracy?” To which I answer, “What do you mean by democracy?

    April 21, 2014

  • LION AND THE LAMB: Four ways to demonstrate opposition

    Marcus Borg and John Dominic Crossan mention in their book, “The Last Week,” that Roman-occupied Palestine during the first century was under the control of Pontius Pilate who lived in the coastal city of Caesarea. Each year at the beginning of the Passover observance when Jews celebrated their liberation from Egypt, Pilate feared that they might be getting ideas about revolting from Rome, so he would come with additional soldiers on horses to beef up the Roman garrison in Jerusalem. 

    April 15, 2014

  • WE THE PEOPLE: Is it (new) party time?

    The Democratic and Republican parties are toast, according to Joe Trippi. The Republican Party is coming apart at its Tea Party seam. Democratic candidates struggle to celebrate President Obama’s health care successes, while responding to criticism of his failed promises, e.g., government transparency.

    April 15, 2014

  • TIDBITS: I found it at the library

    I have such fond memories of going to my local library as a child, searching through shelf after shelf and finding a book that would make me a Little Princess in World War II England, or bring me along as Nancy Drew solved the Secret in the Old Attic.

    April 14, 2014

  • STUMPTALK: The reason words have meaning

    If words did not have accepted meanings we would not be able to communicate effectively and civilized society would not exist.

    April 14, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Do we really believe in democracy?

    The recent Supreme Court decision, McCutcheon v. Federal Election Commission, is in a long line of debates about power in a democracy. Should power be in the hands of all the citizens or should it be in hands of those who have greater wealth and social position?

    April 8, 2014

  • We the People: Public education or business opportunity?

    A month ago, we followed the money trail left by a ‘think tank’ to the major sources funding an attack on our traditional, locally controlled public schools. We saw that a handful of billionaires provide major support to many organizations lobbying for change.

    April 8, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Just another government lie?

    There is a vault located in Fort Knox, Kentucky. It was built in 1936 and encased in 16 cubic feet of granite and 4200 feet of cement. The door is made of 20-inch thick material that is immune to drills, torches and explosives.

    April 7, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice