Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

January 21, 2013

IN ALL CANDOR: From here to Memorial Day

CROSSVILLE — It’s winter in Tennessee. (116 degrees in Australia) I know I shouldn’t whine about how cold it is since it’s much colder and snowier in other parts of the continental US. But, on second thought, why not — whining is constitutionally protected.

In spite of local predictions to the contrary, December was fairly warm and enjoyable. I have no objections to Christmas shopping in 70 degree weather. The only downside was those weather forecasters who kept saying last year was the warmest year on record and December was way too warm. What do they know?

Come the last days of 2012, the winter solstice hit — and right along with it were the frigid temperatures. Bleh! You would think if you had to put up with sub-freezing temps, you would at least have a half decent snow to enjoy. No. Just a few flurries flying and nothing else but cold rain, fog and mist. My stars, we could be living on the English coast.

The first weekend of the new year, it is noted that daytime highs hit the 50s. Nice. But that couldn’t last for long — forecasters quickly produced a really big mass of cold air plunging temps into the 20s. I would like to assure the Canadians that southerners in the USA are fine with them keeping their cold air masses, and especially since they need all that frigid air to keep the ski slopes in Banff running smoothly.

I’ve been reluctant about going to the attic to pull down serious winter clothes. I’m about four weeks behind on having warm neck scarves and leather gloves in a convenient place in my closet.

January, week three, another cold front has hit and we’re slogging into work through cold rain and fog. Oh, where does the misery end? Flooding is certain in some parts of the state.

Perhaps, since none of us can change the weather, the answer is a comfy chair in front of the television set. The new year brought relief from all the syrupy Hallmark movies with new episodes of Revenge, Gold Rush, Big Bang and those hillbilly Moonshiners. See, I have very sophisticated tastes when it comes to my guilty pleasures (no Honey Boo-Boo). And, to my credit, I have started to watch Downton Abbey, which should raise my sophistication score considerably, seeing that it’s British . . . .

There is one more January woe that cannot be overlooked and seems to have a weather connection: car trouble. I had to spend $1,200 getting all the little leaks and other mechanical things fixed, as well as a timing belt changed. But, kudos for my recent timing belt — it had 188,000 miles on it. The advertising says they should be changed every 80,000 miles. As noted before — what do they know?

Finally, after the latest no-snow cold event found me clearing a thin layer of ice from a car window with my bare hands, producing blue fingernails, it is clearly time to go upstairs and dig out the winter mittens.

• • •

Clayta Richards is a Crossville Chronicle staffwriter. Her column is published periodically. She may be reached at crichards@crossville-chronicle.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lion and the Lamb: A promised land?

    Back in biblical times there was a group of people who believed that God had promised them a segment of land on this planet that would be theirs forever. Who could have known back then that this ancient promise and territorial justification would be used by their descendants today to claim the same segment of land?

    July 29, 2014

  • We the People: Bring back the American dream

    Our economy continues to expand. The stock market is at record levels, yet many ask why so many of us are struggling?  Barely half of us believe the American dream is attainable.

    July 29, 2014

  • Tidbits: Taking a low-tech break

    Feeling increasingly strangled by my electronic leash, with phone, text messages, email, social media and a variety of other forms of communication always at my side, I took the weekend off.

    July 28, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Governing before and after mass corruption

    Laws in America were originally written simply. Every citizen could read them quickly and understand their meaning. The founders wrote the Declaration of Independence, the Articles of Confederation, the Northwest Ordinance and the Constitution of the United States, none of which was longer than 4,500 words.

    July 28, 2014

  • We the People: The last dance

    Charlie Hayden’s last recording session with his early partner, Keith Jarrett, was in 2007.  The songs they played were mostly melancholy.  The second album coming from that session includes Weil’s “My Ship” and Porter’s “Every Time We Say Goodbye.” The dark ballad “Goodbye,” by Gordon Jenkins, was the final track.

    July 22, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Living in a pressure cooker

    The Gaza Strip, a small Palestinian territory about the size of Washington, D.C., has been in the news almost every day.  Its key location at the eastern end of the Mediterranean Sea has attracted a number of occupying powers over the years, and it has  been at the center of much Middle East history.

    July 22, 2014

  • Tidbits: The excitement of election day

    On March 12, 1996, there were 427,183 votes cast in the presidential primary election. Among those votes was mine, the first vote I cast in an election, just two days after my 18th birthday.

    July 21, 2014

  • Raising the minimum wage

    My first job from which FICA was withheld was a minimum wage job, seventy-five cents an hour. And yes, even then no one could live on that little money. However, I was a high schooler living at home where my father provided room and board. The job gave me pocket money to buy gasoline, to take my girlfriend out for movies and burgers, and to buy tickets for baseball games.

    July 21, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Children on the move

    The news this past week has focused on the humanitarian crisis developing on our southern border. Thousands of unaccompanied children from El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras seeking to escape from the violence, human trafficking and extreme poverty in their countries have been entering the United States.

    July 15, 2014

  • We the People: Memo to gun rights groups

    The recent incident in California helps us understand why we cannot rely on mental health services alone to solve the problem of gun violence.

    July 15, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice
Graduation 2014