Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

December 2, 2013

Stumptalk: We will remember November 2013

CROSSVILLE — On November 21, 2013, Senator Harry Reid tried to destroy our Republic with the blessing of President Barack Obama by changing the rules of the Senate. This action could be remembered in the future as being as important as the 150th anniversary of November 19, 1863, when President Abraham Lincoln delivered the Gettysburg address and the 50th anniversary of November 22, 1963, the day President John F. Kennedy was shot and killed.

Most observers don’t seem to recognize the significance of Senator Reid’s action. President Obama will now appoint judges to the Washington, DC, Federal Court and will give that Court a seven to four Democratic majority. It is important to remember that this Court rules on regulations and other actions that determine what our national government will do. This court currently has the case that accuses Attorney General Eric Holder of Contempt of Congress for not providing the subpoenaed documents in the Fast and Furious investigation. This action by Senator Reid and the Democrats in the Senate could adversely determine the outcome of many very important cases in the DC Federal Court and require additional time and expense in appealing those cases to the Supreme Court. This alone should indicate to observers that the purpose of the Senate’s actions is to punish President Obama’s enemies as well as to deflect the country’s attention away from the problems with Obamacare. President Obama and his supporters have no desire to work with the opposition, the simply want to punish anyone who does not agree with the president.

For those who are reading this column and might have doubt about the president’s objectives and methods of operation, I would suggest that you read “Rules for Radicals” written by Saul Alinsky and that you use the Internet to research the “Cloward and Piven” strategy. Richard Cloward and Frances Fox Piven, a husband and wife team teaching at Columbia University, formulated this strategy in the 1960s. Their diabolical Marxist plan was first detailed in the May 2, 1966 issue of The Nation magazine.

David Horowitz has described the goal of this strategy is to “hasten the fall of capitalism by overloading the government bureaucracy with a flood of impossible demands, thus pushing society into crisis and economic collapse. It is the strategy of forcing political change through orchestrated crisis.” This strategy almost caused New York City to declare bankruptcy. The methods described in Rules for Radical are being used by this administration to accomplish the objectives of Cloward and Piven. That, in my opinion, is what Obama meant when he declared that he was only 5 days away from fundamental changing the United States of America. President Obama is now showing exactly what he meant by those words and is changing our beloved country from the Republic established by our Founding Fathers to a third rate socialist orientated country that is being destroyed by these actions.

President Obama has not been able to get Congress pass all of the laws required for his Marxist agenda so he is attempting to pack the Court with activist judges who will rule that his actions are legal and constitutional. Judges are not legally permitted to make laws but activist judges have been handing down opinions that are being accepted as doing just that. The president believes that he will now be able to do whatever he wants to do regardless of what is right or best for the majority of our citizens.

We are witnessing history that will destroy the country that we have enjoyed for 237 years. November 2013 has been a sad month for our children and grandchildren.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Tidbits: The excitement of election day

    On March 12, 1996, there were 427,183 votes cast in the presidential primary election. Among those votes was mine, the first vote I cast in an election, just two days after my 18th birthday.

    July 21, 2014

  • Raising the minimum wage

    My first job from which FICA was withheld was a minimum wage job, seventy-five cents an hour. And yes, even then no one could live on that little money. However, I was a high schooler living at home where my father provided room and board. The job gave me pocket money to buy gasoline, to take my girlfriend out for movies and burgers, and to buy tickets for baseball games.

    July 21, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Children on the move

    The news this past week has focused on the humanitarian crisis developing on our southern border. Thousands of unaccompanied children from El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras seeking to escape from the violence, human trafficking and extreme poverty in their countries have been entering the United States.

    July 15, 2014

  • We the People: Memo to gun rights groups

    The recent incident in California helps us understand why we cannot rely on mental health services alone to solve the problem of gun violence.

    July 15, 2014

  • Tidbits: Make the best of your road trip

    I didn’t care for road trips when I was young. It was so confining to have to sit in the back seat, staring out the window for hour after hour, hayfield after hayfield. And when you’re a kid, time doesn’t pass like it does when you get a little older. Just the trip from Jamestown, TN, to Crossville, roughly 30 miles, felt like an eternity!

    July 14, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Biased climate agenda will cost trillions

    For anyone who has been educated in the history of science and scientific method, this whole issue of “Global Warming” or “Climate Change” is an embarrassing and painful exercise.

    July 14, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Time for an oil change

    The land of Iraq, earlier known as Mesopotamia, has a long history going back to Neanderthal times some 60,000 years ago. Later, around 10,000 years ago, it became the site for some of the most important developments in human history: the invention of the wheel, planting of cereal crops, the development of cursive script, mathematics, astronomy and agriculture. Today it is recognized as one of the cradles of civilization.

    July 8, 2014

  • We the People: American women, be informed and vote

    Voting for today’s Republican Party and its Tea Party members, means you are voting against more than most realize.  This is especially true for women.

    July 8, 2014

  • TIDBITS: Beat the heat in July and August

    I hope everyone enjoyed the Independence Day weekend, with lots of celebration and fun. We couldn’t have asked for better weather this July 4, or 5 or 6. In fact, it was so nice I was tempted to try and bottle some of that sunshine, low humidity and gentle breeze that greeted me each morning.

    July 7, 2014

  • STUMPTALK: Demand better from government workers

    In a recent congressional hearing we learned that the VA awarded excessive bonuses to nearly all of their doctors and administrators. In a recent column we mentioned that the civil service employment provisions should be revised so that federal employees in the executive branch could be fired if they don’t perform to the satisfaction of the president. The president would then know that he (or she) will be solely responsible for any failures of the administration and would be more likely to demand hiring competent employees and insist on satisfactory performance.

    July 7, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques ShowBiz Minute: Hoffman, Oberst, Box Office WWII Vet Gets Medals, 70 Years Late Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice
Graduation 2014