Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

December 2, 2013

Stumptalk: We will remember November 2013

CROSSVILLE — On November 21, 2013, Senator Harry Reid tried to destroy our Republic with the blessing of President Barack Obama by changing the rules of the Senate. This action could be remembered in the future as being as important as the 150th anniversary of November 19, 1863, when President Abraham Lincoln delivered the Gettysburg address and the 50th anniversary of November 22, 1963, the day President John F. Kennedy was shot and killed.

Most observers don’t seem to recognize the significance of Senator Reid’s action. President Obama will now appoint judges to the Washington, DC, Federal Court and will give that Court a seven to four Democratic majority. It is important to remember that this Court rules on regulations and other actions that determine what our national government will do. This court currently has the case that accuses Attorney General Eric Holder of Contempt of Congress for not providing the subpoenaed documents in the Fast and Furious investigation. This action by Senator Reid and the Democrats in the Senate could adversely determine the outcome of many very important cases in the DC Federal Court and require additional time and expense in appealing those cases to the Supreme Court. This alone should indicate to observers that the purpose of the Senate’s actions is to punish President Obama’s enemies as well as to deflect the country’s attention away from the problems with Obamacare. President Obama and his supporters have no desire to work with the opposition, the simply want to punish anyone who does not agree with the president.

For those who are reading this column and might have doubt about the president’s objectives and methods of operation, I would suggest that you read “Rules for Radicals” written by Saul Alinsky and that you use the Internet to research the “Cloward and Piven” strategy. Richard Cloward and Frances Fox Piven, a husband and wife team teaching at Columbia University, formulated this strategy in the 1960s. Their diabolical Marxist plan was first detailed in the May 2, 1966 issue of The Nation magazine.

David Horowitz has described the goal of this strategy is to “hasten the fall of capitalism by overloading the government bureaucracy with a flood of impossible demands, thus pushing society into crisis and economic collapse. It is the strategy of forcing political change through orchestrated crisis.” This strategy almost caused New York City to declare bankruptcy. The methods described in Rules for Radical are being used by this administration to accomplish the objectives of Cloward and Piven. That, in my opinion, is what Obama meant when he declared that he was only 5 days away from fundamental changing the United States of America. President Obama is now showing exactly what he meant by those words and is changing our beloved country from the Republic established by our Founding Fathers to a third rate socialist orientated country that is being destroyed by these actions.

President Obama has not been able to get Congress pass all of the laws required for his Marxist agenda so he is attempting to pack the Court with activist judges who will rule that his actions are legal and constitutional. Judges are not legally permitted to make laws but activist judges have been handing down opinions that are being accepted as doing just that. The president believes that he will now be able to do whatever he wants to do regardless of what is right or best for the majority of our citizens.

We are witnessing history that will destroy the country that we have enjoyed for 237 years. November 2013 has been a sad month for our children and grandchildren.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • LION AND THE LAMB: Four ways to demonstrate opposition

    Marcus Borg and John Dominic Crossan mention in their book, “The Last Week,” that Roman-occupied Palestine during the first century was under the control of Pontius Pilate who lived in the coastal city of Caesarea. Each year at the beginning of the Passover observance when Jews celebrated their liberation from Egypt, Pilate feared that they might be getting ideas about revolting from Rome, so he would come with additional soldiers on horses to beef up the Roman garrison in Jerusalem. 

    April 15, 2014

  • WE THE PEOPLE: Is it (new) party time?

    The Democratic and Republican parties are toast, according to Joe Trippi. The Republican Party is coming apart at its Tea Party seam. Democratic candidates struggle to celebrate President Obama’s health care successes, while responding to criticism of his failed promises, e.g., government transparency.

    April 15, 2014

  • TIDBITS: I found it at the library

    I have such fond memories of going to my local library as a child, searching through shelf after shelf and finding a book that would make me a Little Princess in World War II England, or bring me along as Nancy Drew solved the Secret in the Old Attic.

    April 14, 2014

  • STUMPTALK: The reason words have meaning

    If words did not have accepted meanings we would not be able to communicate effectively and civilized society would not exist.

    April 14, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Do we really believe in democracy?

    The recent Supreme Court decision, McCutcheon v. Federal Election Commission, is in a long line of debates about power in a democracy. Should power be in the hands of all the citizens or should it be in hands of those who have greater wealth and social position?

    April 8, 2014

  • We the People: Public education or business opportunity?

    A month ago, we followed the money trail left by a ‘think tank’ to the major sources funding an attack on our traditional, locally controlled public schools. We saw that a handful of billionaires provide major support to many organizations lobbying for change.

    April 8, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Just another government lie?

    There is a vault located in Fort Knox, Kentucky. It was built in 1936 and encased in 16 cubic feet of granite and 4200 feet of cement. The door is made of 20-inch thick material that is immune to drills, torches and explosives.

    April 7, 2014

  • GARY'S WORLD: The chance to speak your mind

    Are you tired of hearing people complain about the way things are run in Cumberland County? Or, do you like the way the county government is run and operated in our beautiful county?
    Are you happy with the way things are, or would you like some change?

    April 3, 2014

  • LION AND THE LAMB: Digging beneath the headlines

    Our media have been focusing on two important events that have taken place overseas during the last several weeks.

    April 1, 2014

  • WE THE PEOPLE: SNAP, health and work

    A recent letter from Representative Diane Black to me states that she voted for the farm bill (with $8 million in Food Stamp (SNAP) benefit cuts) because she, like me, is a supporter of food stamp benefits for Tennessee families who qualify. That’s a lot of families, as most recipients are families with children and the elderly. Now, recall that there was already a major cut to the food stamp program back in the fall. But for some Republicans, that was not enough.

    April 1, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice