Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

November 19, 2013

We the People: Loose lips sink ships

CROSSVILLE — Recently, I read a “Stumptalk” column in which a very liberal position was promoted. The writer was simply speaking from the heart without consulting the required list of allowed positions. He also seemed to forget to lace his letter with the usual “magic words” (Benghazi… oooo!, Obamacare… aaaah!) and the obligatory, juvenile name-calling. I was about to pick up the phone to compliment the author on his position, but in the final sentence or two he reverted to blaming “liberal leftists” for the woes of the world.

It made me think. Not so much about the occasional complicity of “leftist liberals” in supporting flawed policies, but rather about how mentally debilitating it is to listen to slogans day in and day out.

When a society thinks in slogans, it is easily deceived. Slogans are like chants that ripple over our tongues, sounds that have lost almost all descriptive meaning. (Rah-rah-rah! Sis-boom-bah!) If we want to “reason together” toward a common good, then we must pay careful attention to the descriptive meaning and stop using emotional slogans and “magic words.”

Some years ago, I wrote a piece on the meaning of the English word, “liberal.” I combed the most respected source available (the OED) to find ways “liberal” is traditionally used (generous, free, etc.). In a political context, there was only one definition.

A liberal political position, according to the OED, is one that is favors reforms “…tending in the direction of freedom and democracy.”

The terms “liberal” and “conservative” were first used to describe a political stance only in the 19th century. During that time, the Liberals sat on the left of the Parliament assembly and the Conservatives on the right. And, so, liberals are leftists and conservatives are right-wing. That’s where they sat. “Left” and “right” means nothing more in a political context than “liberal” and “conservative.”

When the Stumptalk columnist used the term “leftist liberals,” it demonstrated either an unfortunate inability to recognize redundancy or, more likely, the use of an emotional slogan in order to solidify identification with a particular “political team.” Sis-boom-bah!

The OED tries to be as thoroughly accurate and succinct as possible. Its definitions may seem dry and remote. A famous Parliamentary leader, however, expressed political positions in a much more understandable way. William Gladstone said, “Liberalism is trust of the people tempered by prudence. Conservatism is distrust of the people tempered by fear.”

Am I a liberal? You bet! I love freedom and democracy. I believe in general human rights, not serfdom in deference to an hereditary, propertied elite. Americans, when asked their opinion on specific policies, broadly support liberal programs. I think some in the “Tea Party” probably feel the same way. In fact, I’ll bet some are actually to the left of me on certain, if not many, issues.

So, let’s discuss political programs in real, descriptive language instead of hot-button phrases and slogans produced by “talking heads.” Old habits die hard, but for our vast, multicultural country to survive as a society, those habits need to die. If we, the people, cannot reason together, our country will be ripped apart by those who salivate at the prospect of picking our bones for what scraps remain.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Tidbits: The excitement of election day

    On March 12, 1996, there were 427,183 votes cast in the presidential primary election. Among those votes was mine, the first vote I cast in an election, just two days after my 18th birthday.

    July 21, 2014

  • Raising the minimum wage

    My first job from which FICA was withheld was a minimum wage job, seventy-five cents an hour. And yes, even then no one could live on that little money. However, I was a high schooler living at home where my father provided room and board. The job gave me pocket money to buy gasoline, to take my girlfriend out for movies and burgers, and to buy tickets for baseball games.

    July 21, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Children on the move

    The news this past week has focused on the humanitarian crisis developing on our southern border. Thousands of unaccompanied children from El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras seeking to escape from the violence, human trafficking and extreme poverty in their countries have been entering the United States.

    July 15, 2014

  • We the People: Memo to gun rights groups

    The recent incident in California helps us understand why we cannot rely on mental health services alone to solve the problem of gun violence.

    July 15, 2014

  • Tidbits: Make the best of your road trip

    I didn’t care for road trips when I was young. It was so confining to have to sit in the back seat, staring out the window for hour after hour, hayfield after hayfield. And when you’re a kid, time doesn’t pass like it does when you get a little older. Just the trip from Jamestown, TN, to Crossville, roughly 30 miles, felt like an eternity!

    July 14, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Biased climate agenda will cost trillions

    For anyone who has been educated in the history of science and scientific method, this whole issue of “Global Warming” or “Climate Change” is an embarrassing and painful exercise.

    July 14, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Time for an oil change

    The land of Iraq, earlier known as Mesopotamia, has a long history going back to Neanderthal times some 60,000 years ago. Later, around 10,000 years ago, it became the site for some of the most important developments in human history: the invention of the wheel, planting of cereal crops, the development of cursive script, mathematics, astronomy and agriculture. Today it is recognized as one of the cradles of civilization.

    July 8, 2014

  • We the People: American women, be informed and vote

    Voting for today’s Republican Party and its Tea Party members, means you are voting against more than most realize.  This is especially true for women.

    July 8, 2014

  • TIDBITS: Beat the heat in July and August

    I hope everyone enjoyed the Independence Day weekend, with lots of celebration and fun. We couldn’t have asked for better weather this July 4, or 5 or 6. In fact, it was so nice I was tempted to try and bottle some of that sunshine, low humidity and gentle breeze that greeted me each morning.

    July 7, 2014

  • STUMPTALK: Demand better from government workers

    In a recent congressional hearing we learned that the VA awarded excessive bonuses to nearly all of their doctors and administrators. In a recent column we mentioned that the civil service employment provisions should be revised so that federal employees in the executive branch could be fired if they don’t perform to the satisfaction of the president. The president would then know that he (or she) will be solely responsible for any failures of the administration and would be more likely to demand hiring competent employees and insist on satisfactory performance.

    July 7, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast Diplomacy Intensifies Amid Mounting Gaza Toll AP Exclusive: American Beaten in Israel Speaks Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers Raw: Gaza Rescuers Search Rubble for Survivors Raw: International Team Inspects MH17 Bodies Raw: 25 Family Members Killed in Gaza Airstrike US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal 'Weird Al' Is Wowed by Album's Success
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice
Graduation 2014