Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

May 22, 2013

An American tragedy?

CROSSVILLE — I knew a bond trader. Not well, but well enough to pity the man. Money was his only measure of worth. On a good day (if he made a lot of money), he was ecstatic. On a bad one, he was morose. He could be pleasant in conversation at times, but now and then he would appear clueless about the broader range of human experience. Although he was rich (by my standard, at least), there was something shallow and tawdry about his life.

It stands to reason that the accumulation of vast amounts of wealth requires a bit of unhealthy obsession coupled with a general disregard for the rest of society. This is why the public needs to remind the wealthy, every now and then, that their eccentric behavior will only be tolerated if they can demonstrate some value to the rest of us.

According to Pew Research, from 2009 until 2011 (most recent data available), the net worth of the top 8 million U.S. households rose by 28 percent (with most of the increase going to the tippy-tippy top). You might not have noticed this astounding economic boom, though. The rest of us saw a 4 percent decline in net worth. Lately, wealth has been gushing from most of the country up to people like the bond trader.

With their wealth, the richest few control our government. Bribery isn’t new, but it was once illegal. Now, in a SuperPAC, the wealthy can legally spend as much money as they want on political advertising, as long as they don’t directly coordinate with the official campaign (wink,wink).  In 2010, they spent $63 million. In 2012, they raised and spent over ten times as much, and 90 percent of the money (three quarters of a billion bucks) came from only 1,300 players. We know this because SuperPACs are required to disclose their donors.

Dark Money “public interest” organizations spent even more in 2012 and are worse than SuperPACs. They reveal neither how much money they raise nor who donated. By law, however, they can’t be “political.”   Thus, Karl Rove’s “Crossroads GPS” and Tea Party organizations are non-political, according to their IRS filings. Billionaires can donate to these organizations (as well as some new Democratic groups) without fear of disclosure. It’s harder to tell, but billionaires now probably dominate funding in these groups as they do in SuperPACs

The last time the financial elite held such a stranglehold on both the nation’s wealth and its political system was during the “Progressive Era.” Sadly, Progressives saw but failed to break the stranglehold of wealth in the early 1900’s. The Great Depression finally brought the ultra-rich closer to heel, but almost tore the country apart. 

In 1925, F. Scott Fitzgerald wrote a final, scathing indictment of his characters that represented established wealth in The Great Gatsby.   “They were careless people, …they smashed up things and creatures and then retreated back into their money or their vast carelessness …. and let other people clean up the mess they had made.” 

Our civil society cannot afford to let these careless, shallow, self-centered people run amok again. They have corrupted our representative government, leaving a mess that needs to be mopped up.

• • •

This column represents alternative thoughts to other published columns in the Crossville Chronicle. “We the People” is published each Wednesday. Opinions expressed in “We the People” columns are not necessarily those of the Crossville Chronicle publisher, editor or staff. For more information, contact John Wund, editor, at jwund@frontiernet.net.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Tidbits: The excitement of election day

    On March 12, 1996, there were 427,183 votes cast in the presidential primary election. Among those votes was mine, the first vote I cast in an election, just two days after my 18th birthday.

    July 21, 2014

  • Raising the minimum wage

    My first job from which FICA was withheld was a minimum wage job, seventy-five cents an hour. And yes, even then no one could live on that little money. However, I was a high schooler living at home where my father provided room and board. The job gave me pocket money to buy gasoline, to take my girlfriend out for movies and burgers, and to buy tickets for baseball games.

    July 21, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Children on the move

    The news this past week has focused on the humanitarian crisis developing on our southern border. Thousands of unaccompanied children from El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras seeking to escape from the violence, human trafficking and extreme poverty in their countries have been entering the United States.

    July 15, 2014

  • We the People: Memo to gun rights groups

    The recent incident in California helps us understand why we cannot rely on mental health services alone to solve the problem of gun violence.

    July 15, 2014

  • Tidbits: Make the best of your road trip

    I didn’t care for road trips when I was young. It was so confining to have to sit in the back seat, staring out the window for hour after hour, hayfield after hayfield. And when you’re a kid, time doesn’t pass like it does when you get a little older. Just the trip from Jamestown, TN, to Crossville, roughly 30 miles, felt like an eternity!

    July 14, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Biased climate agenda will cost trillions

    For anyone who has been educated in the history of science and scientific method, this whole issue of “Global Warming” or “Climate Change” is an embarrassing and painful exercise.

    July 14, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Time for an oil change

    The land of Iraq, earlier known as Mesopotamia, has a long history going back to Neanderthal times some 60,000 years ago. Later, around 10,000 years ago, it became the site for some of the most important developments in human history: the invention of the wheel, planting of cereal crops, the development of cursive script, mathematics, astronomy and agriculture. Today it is recognized as one of the cradles of civilization.

    July 8, 2014

  • We the People: American women, be informed and vote

    Voting for today’s Republican Party and its Tea Party members, means you are voting against more than most realize.  This is especially true for women.

    July 8, 2014

  • TIDBITS: Beat the heat in July and August

    I hope everyone enjoyed the Independence Day weekend, with lots of celebration and fun. We couldn’t have asked for better weather this July 4, or 5 or 6. In fact, it was so nice I was tempted to try and bottle some of that sunshine, low humidity and gentle breeze that greeted me each morning.

    July 7, 2014

  • STUMPTALK: Demand better from government workers

    In a recent congressional hearing we learned that the VA awarded excessive bonuses to nearly all of their doctors and administrators. In a recent column we mentioned that the civil service employment provisions should be revised so that federal employees in the executive branch could be fired if they don’t perform to the satisfaction of the president. The president would then know that he (or she) will be solely responsible for any failures of the administration and would be more likely to demand hiring competent employees and insist on satisfactory performance.

    July 7, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast Diplomacy Intensifies Amid Mounting Gaza Toll AP Exclusive: American Beaten in Israel Speaks Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers Raw: Gaza Rescuers Search Rubble for Survivors Raw: International Team Inspects MH17 Bodies Raw: 25 Family Members Killed in Gaza Airstrike US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal 'Weird Al' Is Wowed by Album's Success
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice
Graduation 2014