Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

November 11, 2013

STUMPTALK: Intentionally punishing Americans

CROSSVILLE — During the “shutdown,” it became obvious to most Americans that the administration of President Obama was intentionally punishing Americans in an effort to get their way. It didn’t seem to matter to them that these innocent Americans were not doing anything wrong, they were simply being used as pawns in the administration’s war on his opponents and it didn’t seem to matter that Americans had to suffer unnecessarily.

The attempt to barricade the World War II memorial revealed the intentional harm that was visited upon Americans. The limited shutdown did not need to affect the memorial because it is open 24 hours, without gates and often without guards. In an effort to turn public opinion in his favor, the administration brought in barricades at an estimated cost of more than $100,000. This same punish-the-people attitude led to the closing of other parks and historic places that do not even receive federal funding. One park ranger told the Washington Times, “We’ve been told to make life as difficult for people as we can.”

Now that the shutdown is over we are learning that Obama knew about people losing their personal health insurance and the president’s rhetoric has morphed from “If you like your insurance, you can keep it” to “If you get a letter, just shop around, that’s what the exchanges are for.” This loss of existing health insurance was known in June 2010 as shown in the federal register. An entry on page 34552 on June 17, 2010 in the federal register indicated that up to 93 million Americans could see their health insurance plan lose their grandfather status. This could cause 66 percent of small employers plans and 45 percent of large employer plans to lose grandfather status by the end of 2013. Soon the employers will probably start canceling and/or changing these existing plans. Americans will then learn the truth about the deceit that has been practiced upon them.

In September 2010, Senate Republicans brought a resolution to the floor to block implementation of the grandfather rule, warning that it would result in canceled policies and violate President Barack Obama’s promise that people could keep their insurance if they liked it.

Under the grandfathering regulation, according to the White House's own economic impact analysis, as many as 69 percent of businesses will lose their grandfathered status by 2013 and be forced to buy government-approved plans,” Iowa Sen. Chuck Grassley said at the time.

On a party line vote, Democrats killed the resolution, which could come back to haunt vulnerable Democrats up for re-election this year.

These canceled policies do not meet the requirements established by the federal government requiring coverage that many Americans do not need or want. All new policies must provide universal abortion, pediatric, and maternity benefits for every insured no matter the age or sex of the policy holder. No coverage? You are terminated. They treat Americans as too stupid to know the type of health insurance we need.

The Affordable Care Act (Obamacare) is the largest transfer of wealth in recent history but you can’t say that openly or you might lose elections. You do it by subterfuge: hidden taxes, penalties, mandates and coverage requirements that yield a surplus of overpayments. These required bells and whistles aren’t just there to popularize the health-care with voter-pleasing freebies. The planners knew all along that if you force insurance buyers to overpay for stuff they don’t need, that money could subsidize other people.

The president has promised to cover 30 million uninsured Americans without costing the government a dime. This claim was the biggest falsehood of all. You can’t provide free preventative care, free mammograms and free contraceptives for Sandra Fluke without someone paying for them. And then when you find your policy canceled, your premium raised and your deductible outrageously increased, you’ve learned the real meaning of “free” to the liberal politician: “something paid for by your neighbor.”

How could Obama imagine getting away with a claim that was sure to be exposed as factually false? The same way he maintained for two weeks that false narrative about Benghazi. He figured he’d get away with it as long as the adoring media didn’t expose him and for the most part the media obliged.

We are now learning that we are getting more and more intentional misrepresentations from this administration every day. The only possible reason for these lies is to hurt the American people enough to convince us that we should just give up and do whatever the Obama administration demands. That cannot be allowed to happen!

Remember this when the president promises to seal the border after his amnesty bill is passed!

 

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lion and the Lamb: A promised land?

    Back in biblical times there was a group of people who believed that God had promised them a segment of land on this planet that would be theirs forever. Who could have known back then that this ancient promise and territorial justification would be used by their descendants today to claim the same segment of land?

    July 29, 2014

  • We the People: Bring back the American dream

    Our economy continues to expand. The stock market is at record levels, yet many ask why so many of us are struggling?  Barely half of us believe the American dream is attainable.

    July 29, 2014

  • Tidbits: Taking a low-tech break

    Feeling increasingly strangled by my electronic leash, with phone, text messages, email, social media and a variety of other forms of communication always at my side, I took the weekend off.

    July 28, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Governing before and after mass corruption

    Laws in America were originally written simply. Every citizen could read them quickly and understand their meaning. The founders wrote the Declaration of Independence, the Articles of Confederation, the Northwest Ordinance and the Constitution of the United States, none of which was longer than 4,500 words.

    July 28, 2014

  • We the People: The last dance

    Charlie Hayden’s last recording session with his early partner, Keith Jarrett, was in 2007.  The songs they played were mostly melancholy.  The second album coming from that session includes Weil’s “My Ship” and Porter’s “Every Time We Say Goodbye.” The dark ballad “Goodbye,” by Gordon Jenkins, was the final track.

    July 22, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Living in a pressure cooker

    The Gaza Strip, a small Palestinian territory about the size of Washington, D.C., has been in the news almost every day.  Its key location at the eastern end of the Mediterranean Sea has attracted a number of occupying powers over the years, and it has  been at the center of much Middle East history.

    July 22, 2014

  • Tidbits: The excitement of election day

    On March 12, 1996, there were 427,183 votes cast in the presidential primary election. Among those votes was mine, the first vote I cast in an election, just two days after my 18th birthday.

    July 21, 2014

  • Raising the minimum wage

    My first job from which FICA was withheld was a minimum wage job, seventy-five cents an hour. And yes, even then no one could live on that little money. However, I was a high schooler living at home where my father provided room and board. The job gave me pocket money to buy gasoline, to take my girlfriend out for movies and burgers, and to buy tickets for baseball games.

    July 21, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Children on the move

    The news this past week has focused on the humanitarian crisis developing on our southern border. Thousands of unaccompanied children from El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras seeking to escape from the violence, human trafficking and extreme poverty in their countries have been entering the United States.

    July 15, 2014

  • We the People: Memo to gun rights groups

    The recent incident in California helps us understand why we cannot rely on mental health services alone to solve the problem of gun violence.

    July 15, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice
Graduation 2014