Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

November 11, 2013

STUMPTALK: Intentionally punishing Americans

CROSSVILLE — During the “shutdown,” it became obvious to most Americans that the administration of President Obama was intentionally punishing Americans in an effort to get their way. It didn’t seem to matter to them that these innocent Americans were not doing anything wrong, they were simply being used as pawns in the administration’s war on his opponents and it didn’t seem to matter that Americans had to suffer unnecessarily.

The attempt to barricade the World War II memorial revealed the intentional harm that was visited upon Americans. The limited shutdown did not need to affect the memorial because it is open 24 hours, without gates and often without guards. In an effort to turn public opinion in his favor, the administration brought in barricades at an estimated cost of more than $100,000. This same punish-the-people attitude led to the closing of other parks and historic places that do not even receive federal funding. One park ranger told the Washington Times, “We’ve been told to make life as difficult for people as we can.”

Now that the shutdown is over we are learning that Obama knew about people losing their personal health insurance and the president’s rhetoric has morphed from “If you like your insurance, you can keep it” to “If you get a letter, just shop around, that’s what the exchanges are for.” This loss of existing health insurance was known in June 2010 as shown in the federal register. An entry on page 34552 on June 17, 2010 in the federal register indicated that up to 93 million Americans could see their health insurance plan lose their grandfather status. This could cause 66 percent of small employers plans and 45 percent of large employer plans to lose grandfather status by the end of 2013. Soon the employers will probably start canceling and/or changing these existing plans. Americans will then learn the truth about the deceit that has been practiced upon them.

In September 2010, Senate Republicans brought a resolution to the floor to block implementation of the grandfather rule, warning that it would result in canceled policies and violate President Barack Obama’s promise that people could keep their insurance if they liked it.

Under the grandfathering regulation, according to the White House's own economic impact analysis, as many as 69 percent of businesses will lose their grandfathered status by 2013 and be forced to buy government-approved plans,” Iowa Sen. Chuck Grassley said at the time.

On a party line vote, Democrats killed the resolution, which could come back to haunt vulnerable Democrats up for re-election this year.

These canceled policies do not meet the requirements established by the federal government requiring coverage that many Americans do not need or want. All new policies must provide universal abortion, pediatric, and maternity benefits for every insured no matter the age or sex of the policy holder. No coverage? You are terminated. They treat Americans as too stupid to know the type of health insurance we need.

The Affordable Care Act (Obamacare) is the largest transfer of wealth in recent history but you can’t say that openly or you might lose elections. You do it by subterfuge: hidden taxes, penalties, mandates and coverage requirements that yield a surplus of overpayments. These required bells and whistles aren’t just there to popularize the health-care with voter-pleasing freebies. The planners knew all along that if you force insurance buyers to overpay for stuff they don’t need, that money could subsidize other people.

The president has promised to cover 30 million uninsured Americans without costing the government a dime. This claim was the biggest falsehood of all. You can’t provide free preventative care, free mammograms and free contraceptives for Sandra Fluke without someone paying for them. And then when you find your policy canceled, your premium raised and your deductible outrageously increased, you’ve learned the real meaning of “free” to the liberal politician: “something paid for by your neighbor.”

How could Obama imagine getting away with a claim that was sure to be exposed as factually false? The same way he maintained for two weeks that false narrative about Benghazi. He figured he’d get away with it as long as the adoring media didn’t expose him and for the most part the media obliged.

We are now learning that we are getting more and more intentional misrepresentations from this administration every day. The only possible reason for these lies is to hurt the American people enough to convince us that we should just give up and do whatever the Obama administration demands. That cannot be allowed to happen!

Remember this when the president promises to seal the border after his amnesty bill is passed!

 

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • We the People: The last dance

    Charlie Hayden’s last recording session with his early partner, Keith Jarrett, was in 2007.  The songs they played were mostly melancholy.  The second album coming from that session includes Weil’s “My Ship” and Porter’s “Every Time We Say Goodbye.” The dark ballad “Goodbye,” by Gordon Jenkins, was the final track.

    July 22, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Living in a pressure cooker

    The Gaza Strip, a small Palestinian territory about the size of Washington, D.C., has been in the news almost every day.  Its key location at the eastern end of the Mediterranean Sea has attracted a number of occupying powers over the years, and it has  been at the center of much Middle East history.

    July 22, 2014

  • Tidbits: The excitement of election day

    On March 12, 1996, there were 427,183 votes cast in the presidential primary election. Among those votes was mine, the first vote I cast in an election, just two days after my 18th birthday.

    July 21, 2014

  • Raising the minimum wage

    My first job from which FICA was withheld was a minimum wage job, seventy-five cents an hour. And yes, even then no one could live on that little money. However, I was a high schooler living at home where my father provided room and board. The job gave me pocket money to buy gasoline, to take my girlfriend out for movies and burgers, and to buy tickets for baseball games.

    July 21, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Children on the move

    The news this past week has focused on the humanitarian crisis developing on our southern border. Thousands of unaccompanied children from El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras seeking to escape from the violence, human trafficking and extreme poverty in their countries have been entering the United States.

    July 15, 2014

  • We the People: Memo to gun rights groups

    The recent incident in California helps us understand why we cannot rely on mental health services alone to solve the problem of gun violence.

    July 15, 2014

  • Tidbits: Make the best of your road trip

    I didn’t care for road trips when I was young. It was so confining to have to sit in the back seat, staring out the window for hour after hour, hayfield after hayfield. And when you’re a kid, time doesn’t pass like it does when you get a little older. Just the trip from Jamestown, TN, to Crossville, roughly 30 miles, felt like an eternity!

    July 14, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Biased climate agenda will cost trillions

    For anyone who has been educated in the history of science and scientific method, this whole issue of “Global Warming” or “Climate Change” is an embarrassing and painful exercise.

    July 14, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Time for an oil change

    The land of Iraq, earlier known as Mesopotamia, has a long history going back to Neanderthal times some 60,000 years ago. Later, around 10,000 years ago, it became the site for some of the most important developments in human history: the invention of the wheel, planting of cereal crops, the development of cursive script, mathematics, astronomy and agriculture. Today it is recognized as one of the cradles of civilization.

    July 8, 2014

  • We the People: American women, be informed and vote

    Voting for today’s Republican Party and its Tea Party members, means you are voting against more than most realize.  This is especially true for women.

    July 8, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Obama Seeks Limits on US Company Mergers Abroad Large Family to Share NJ Lottery Winnings U.S. Flights to Israel Resume After Ban Lifted Official: Air Algerie Flight 'probably Crashed' TSA Administrator on Politics and Flight Bans Raw: National Guard Helps Battle WA Wildfires Raw: Ukraine's Donetsk Residents Flee Senators Push to End Hamas Threat in Cease-Fire A Young Victim's Premonition, Hug Before MH17 Raw: Deadly Storm Hits Virginia Campground Death Penalty Expert: 'This is a Turning Point' Raw: MH17 Victim's Bodies Arrive in Netherlands
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice
Graduation 2014