Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

November 11, 2013

STUMPTALK: Intentionally punishing Americans

CROSSVILLE — During the “shutdown,” it became obvious to most Americans that the administration of President Obama was intentionally punishing Americans in an effort to get their way. It didn’t seem to matter to them that these innocent Americans were not doing anything wrong, they were simply being used as pawns in the administration’s war on his opponents and it didn’t seem to matter that Americans had to suffer unnecessarily.

The attempt to barricade the World War II memorial revealed the intentional harm that was visited upon Americans. The limited shutdown did not need to affect the memorial because it is open 24 hours, without gates and often without guards. In an effort to turn public opinion in his favor, the administration brought in barricades at an estimated cost of more than $100,000. This same punish-the-people attitude led to the closing of other parks and historic places that do not even receive federal funding. One park ranger told the Washington Times, “We’ve been told to make life as difficult for people as we can.”

Now that the shutdown is over we are learning that Obama knew about people losing their personal health insurance and the president’s rhetoric has morphed from “If you like your insurance, you can keep it” to “If you get a letter, just shop around, that’s what the exchanges are for.” This loss of existing health insurance was known in June 2010 as shown in the federal register. An entry on page 34552 on June 17, 2010 in the federal register indicated that up to 93 million Americans could see their health insurance plan lose their grandfather status. This could cause 66 percent of small employers plans and 45 percent of large employer plans to lose grandfather status by the end of 2013. Soon the employers will probably start canceling and/or changing these existing plans. Americans will then learn the truth about the deceit that has been practiced upon them.

In September 2010, Senate Republicans brought a resolution to the floor to block implementation of the grandfather rule, warning that it would result in canceled policies and violate President Barack Obama’s promise that people could keep their insurance if they liked it.

Under the grandfathering regulation, according to the White House's own economic impact analysis, as many as 69 percent of businesses will lose their grandfathered status by 2013 and be forced to buy government-approved plans,” Iowa Sen. Chuck Grassley said at the time.

On a party line vote, Democrats killed the resolution, which could come back to haunt vulnerable Democrats up for re-election this year.

These canceled policies do not meet the requirements established by the federal government requiring coverage that many Americans do not need or want. All new policies must provide universal abortion, pediatric, and maternity benefits for every insured no matter the age or sex of the policy holder. No coverage? You are terminated. They treat Americans as too stupid to know the type of health insurance we need.

The Affordable Care Act (Obamacare) is the largest transfer of wealth in recent history but you can’t say that openly or you might lose elections. You do it by subterfuge: hidden taxes, penalties, mandates and coverage requirements that yield a surplus of overpayments. These required bells and whistles aren’t just there to popularize the health-care with voter-pleasing freebies. The planners knew all along that if you force insurance buyers to overpay for stuff they don’t need, that money could subsidize other people.

The president has promised to cover 30 million uninsured Americans without costing the government a dime. This claim was the biggest falsehood of all. You can’t provide free preventative care, free mammograms and free contraceptives for Sandra Fluke without someone paying for them. And then when you find your policy canceled, your premium raised and your deductible outrageously increased, you’ve learned the real meaning of “free” to the liberal politician: “something paid for by your neighbor.”

How could Obama imagine getting away with a claim that was sure to be exposed as factually false? The same way he maintained for two weeks that false narrative about Benghazi. He figured he’d get away with it as long as the adoring media didn’t expose him and for the most part the media obliged.

We are now learning that we are getting more and more intentional misrepresentations from this administration every day. The only possible reason for these lies is to hurt the American people enough to convince us that we should just give up and do whatever the Obama administration demands. That cannot be allowed to happen!

Remember this when the president promises to seal the border after his amnesty bill is passed!

 

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • LION AND THE LAMB: Four ways to demonstrate opposition

    Marcus Borg and John Dominic Crossan mention in their book, “The Last Week,” that Roman-occupied Palestine during the first century was under the control of Pontius Pilate who lived in the coastal city of Caesarea. Each year at the beginning of the Passover observance when Jews celebrated their liberation from Egypt, Pilate feared that they might be getting ideas about revolting from Rome, so he would come with additional soldiers on horses to beef up the Roman garrison in Jerusalem. 

    April 15, 2014

  • WE THE PEOPLE: Is it (new) party time?

    The Democratic and Republican parties are toast, according to Joe Trippi. The Republican Party is coming apart at its Tea Party seam. Democratic candidates struggle to celebrate President Obama’s health care successes, while responding to criticism of his failed promises, e.g., government transparency.

    April 15, 2014

  • TIDBITS: I found it at the library

    I have such fond memories of going to my local library as a child, searching through shelf after shelf and finding a book that would make me a Little Princess in World War II England, or bring me along as Nancy Drew solved the Secret in the Old Attic.

    April 14, 2014

  • STUMPTALK: The reason words have meaning

    If words did not have accepted meanings we would not be able to communicate effectively and civilized society would not exist.

    April 14, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Do we really believe in democracy?

    The recent Supreme Court decision, McCutcheon v. Federal Election Commission, is in a long line of debates about power in a democracy. Should power be in the hands of all the citizens or should it be in hands of those who have greater wealth and social position?

    April 8, 2014

  • We the People: Public education or business opportunity?

    A month ago, we followed the money trail left by a ‘think tank’ to the major sources funding an attack on our traditional, locally controlled public schools. We saw that a handful of billionaires provide major support to many organizations lobbying for change.

    April 8, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Just another government lie?

    There is a vault located in Fort Knox, Kentucky. It was built in 1936 and encased in 16 cubic feet of granite and 4200 feet of cement. The door is made of 20-inch thick material that is immune to drills, torches and explosives.

    April 7, 2014

  • GARY'S WORLD: The chance to speak your mind

    Are you tired of hearing people complain about the way things are run in Cumberland County? Or, do you like the way the county government is run and operated in our beautiful county?
    Are you happy with the way things are, or would you like some change?

    April 3, 2014

  • LION AND THE LAMB: Digging beneath the headlines

    Our media have been focusing on two important events that have taken place overseas during the last several weeks.

    April 1, 2014

  • WE THE PEOPLE: SNAP, health and work

    A recent letter from Representative Diane Black to me states that she voted for the farm bill (with $8 million in Food Stamp (SNAP) benefit cuts) because she, like me, is a supporter of food stamp benefits for Tennessee families who qualify. That’s a lot of families, as most recipients are families with children and the elderly. Now, recall that there was already a major cut to the food stamp program back in the fall. But for some Republicans, that was not enough.

    April 1, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice