Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

November 5, 2013

Lion and the Lamb: Getting under the skin

CROSSVILLE — In 1932 the Boston football team was named the “Redskins” in honor of its coach, Lone Star Dietz, who had a Sioux background.  In 1937 the owner, George Preston Marshall, moved the team to his home city of Washington, DC, but kept the Redskins name.

Over the years, however, the name has become a contentious one.  Native Americans have claimed that it demeans them by making their so-called skin color their chief defining characteristic.  In 2009 a group of Native Americans sued to have a name change, but the Supreme Court refused to take the case.

Many people see nothing wrong with a Redskins name, although the pitfalls in such a view become more apparent when universalized as a principle.  For instance, suppose the football league included four more teams named Whiteskins, Blackskins, Brownskins, and Yellowskins, in addition to Redskins.  There would surely be an added level of racial bias when they engaged in combat.

An excellent example of the challenge we all face in getting beneath the skin in our viewing of others was provided by our own Cumberland County Playhouse these past two months.  Its presentation of “To Kill a Mockingbird” was a very powerful and moving theatrical experience.  The drama’s basic challenge was how Tom Robinson’s fellow townspeople (and we, the viewers) would see Tom:  only on the skin, or beneath the surface, as a fellow human being and brother reflecting in a very special way the highest ethos of humanity.  Playing a central role in meeting that challenge was Tom’s lawyer, Atticus Finch, who was able to see the real person beneath the skin.  But it was not enough to save the framed Tom from prison and death.

A third example of this challenge has been provided in the current debate over the Affordable Care Act.  The history of the Act is revealing.  In 1974 Republican President Richard Nixon proposed a similar plan based on private insurance.  All but the smallest employers would provide insurance to their workers or pay a penalty, an expanded Medicaid-type program would insure the poor, and subsidies would be provided to low-income individuals and small employers.  Also, there would be a requirement that the younger and healthier sign up.  This plan got nowhere because Democrats wanted to attach healthcare onto Social Security and Medicare.

Most recently, Republican governor Mitt Romney made Nixon’s plan the law in Massachusetts, although Democrats had again hoped for a federal single payer system.

An astonishing development in this history took place when President Obama introduced his healthcare plan based on Nixon’s and Romney’s plans, and it became the Affordable Care Act in 2010.  The Republicans led by their Tea Party constituents, however, came out in strong opposition to it, trying to defund and eliminate it.  Even the idea of including an individual mandate had come from conservative Republican roots in the Heritage Foundation.

What made this third healthcare proposal so unacceptable to the Republicans and Tea Party folk?  

Many of us have been waiting for a positive word from the Tea Party folk in Cumberland County.  If they are against the Affordable Health Care Act of 2010, what would be their proposal for a better healthcare plan that would include everyone—one that would be a right for all American citizens and not just a privilege for the more well-off.

• • •

This column is sponsored by Cumberland Countians for Peace and Justice and dedicated by the local writers to the theme that the lion and the lamb can and must learn to live together and grow in their relationship toward one another to ensure a better world. Opinions expressed in “Lion and the Lamb” columns are not necessarily those of the Crossville Chronicle publisher, editor or staff. For more information, contact Ted Braun, editor, at 277-5135.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lion and the Lamb: Time for an oil change

    The land of Iraq, earlier known as Mesopotamia, has a long history going back to Neanderthal times some 60,000 years ago. Later, around 10,000 years ago, it became the site for some of the most important developments in human history: the invention of the wheel, planting of cereal crops, the development of cursive script, mathematics, astronomy and agriculture. Today it is recognized as one of the cradles of civilization.

    July 8, 2014

  • We the People: American women, be informed and vote

    Voting for today’s Republican Party and its Tea Party members, means you are voting against more than most realize.  This is especially true for women.

    July 8, 2014

  • TIDBITS: Beat the heat in July and August

    I hope everyone enjoyed the Independence Day weekend, with lots of celebration and fun. We couldn’t have asked for better weather this July 4, or 5 or 6. In fact, it was so nice I was tempted to try and bottle some of that sunshine, low humidity and gentle breeze that greeted me each morning.

    July 7, 2014

  • STUMPTALK: Demand better from government workers

    In a recent congressional hearing we learned that the VA awarded excessive bonuses to nearly all of their doctors and administrators. In a recent column we mentioned that the civil service employment provisions should be revised so that federal employees in the executive branch could be fired if they don’t perform to the satisfaction of the president. The president would then know that he (or she) will be solely responsible for any failures of the administration and would be more likely to demand hiring competent employees and insist on satisfactory performance.

    July 7, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Getting under the skin

    Last week on June 18, a department of the federal government announced an important ruling concerning the National Football League's Washington Redskins. The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office declared that the name "Redskins," a designation based on skin color, was disparaging to Native Americans.

    June 24, 2014

  • We the People: Which way is up?

    The latest Rasmussen poll finds that almost two-thirds of us think the nation is heading in the “wrong direction.” Less than a third think we are on the “right track.” (We could obsess over the difference between “direction” and “track,” but let’s not.) Rasmussen takes a poll of likely voters every week.

    June 24, 2014

  • Tidbits: A yay-boo time for doughnuts

    Regular readers of my column will know, I have a sweet tooth. I love all kinds of pastries and confections, baked treats and iced deliciousness. Among my top five list of sweet treats are doughnuts. I'm particularly fond of cake doughnuts, an ingenious way to combine two of my favorite treats. And, if you get the blueberry cake doughnuts, it makes a perfectly acceptable breakfast for the busy gal on the go.

    June 23, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Whose war is it now?

    During the 2004 Presidential campaign Democratic Party nominee John Kerry referred to Vietnam as “Nixon’s war.” At first I thought calling Vietnam Nixon’s war a mistake because the first escalation of U.S. involvement in Vietnam began with John F. Kennedy when he increased U.S. military advisors in South Vietnam to 18,000, then continued after his death with Lyndon Johnson’s increase to 550,000 full combat troops.

    June 23, 2014

  • LION AND THE LAMB: The NRA takes aim on the Constitution

    This past week Everytown for Gun Safety, a group advocating greater gun control, reported that in the 18 months since the massacre at the Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, Connecticut, in December 2012, there have been 74 school shootings in our nation. The U.S. has now become the world leader in this category. And if we were to include all firearm-related incidents, we would find that more than 30,000 people in our nation die each year from these.

    June 17, 2014

  • WE THE PEOPLE: Kick corporate greed out of schools

    Last month I promised to end my series on the “education reform movement” that is tearing apart our traditional public school system. I also promised to suggest how you can help stop this train wreck.

    June 17, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
More Immigrants Detained Along Rio Grande FIFA Rejects Suarez Appeal Against Biting Ban World Cup Final Pits Argentina Against Germany Obama Responds to Hecklers on Immigration Chimp-attack Victim Lobbies Congress Police: Prostitute Linked to 2nd Death Thousands Attend NYC Firefighter's Funeral Neighbors Mourn Killing of Texas Family Art of Haitian Machete Fighting Revived Israeli-Palestinian Tensions, Attacks Escalate UN Secretary-General Urges Mideast Ceasefire 'Game of Thrones' Leads Emmy Nominees Raw: Australia Hosts Annual Beer Can Regatta At Texas Border, a Daily Tide of Poor Migrants Raw: Rescuers Push Beached Whale Back to Ocean Mass. Mayor: Families Lost Everything in Fire Four Kids, Two Adults Shot Dead Near Houston Connecticut Boy Dies Inside Parked Car Fans Dying to Be Near Jazz Greats Robots Gearing Up for Their Own 'World Cup'
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice
Graduation 2014