Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

March 11, 2013

Stumptalk: The hoax that won’t go away

CROSSVILLE — Here we go again. Eco-loons, led by the president, are fanning the great global warming hysteria anew urging new spending to “save the planet.” This hoax began with the UN’s Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) report of May 4, 2007, based on geoscientist Michael Mann’s 1998 publication of his famous “hockey stick” plot which purports to show that the Earth’s temperature remained “flat” for a millennium and then suddenly began to heat up 100 years ago just as industrialization in America began.

The 2007 Fourth Assessment report was actually the result of a small coterie of Third-World leftist. Socialists around the world are banking on global warming as their last great hope to mount an assault on capitalism. Global warming or global change as they now refer is the new religion. Never mind any scientific evidence; it’s a matter of faith.

Adding credence, Presidents Bush and Obama bought into this phony science. In the case of Bush it may have been pure ignorance but Obama quickly recognized that global warming was the perfect scheme to dismantle America’s capitalist system; he has been openly hostile to capitalism and the captains of industry. With government’s authoritative stamp on global warming, a herd mentality was created. Millions of people around the world woefully untrained in scientific matters jumped on the bandwagon mindlessly believing, “If so many important people believe it, then it must be true.” Invariably I find the perpetrators are liberals which are suckers for junk science and bogus economic principles.

But alas, Canadian scientists Stephen McIntyre and Ross McKitrick were the first to expose Mann’s fraud. The Canadians created some absolutely random data and applied Mann’s phony algorithm. And sure enough, the hockey stick popped up. Mann manipulated climate data such that his chart obscured the Medieval Warming Period (1200AD) and the Little Ice Age (1650AD).

The Fourth Assessment was so radical that many IPCC contributors resigned in protest. Professor Paul Reiter of the Pasteur Institute had to sue to have his name removed from the author’s list. Lead author of IPCC, Professor John Christy, said, “I’ve heard the claims but this is one scientist who disagrees." Patrick Moore, co-founder of Greenpeace, one of the oldest environmental movements, said in disgust that environmentalism is no longer about science.

The change in the IPCC web page is amusing as it is revealing. The web’s introduction to the Fourth Assessment report read, “2500 scientists support the report.” The media exaggerated the statement to read, “A majority of scientists believe that global warming is caused by man’s activities,” ignorant verbiage repeated still today. MIT Richard Lindzen, an IPCC contributor, said, “Looking at the bibliographies, there is no way you could stretch the author’s list to 2500 scientists.” The IPCC then revised its web to read “2500 expert reviewers.” When pushed further, the IPCC admitted that it does not carry out climate research but merely bases its assessment on peer review of published technical literature.

The hoax was moving along at lightning speed until some of the “experts” got caught in series of big lies — “Climategate.” First it was discovered that Dr. Michael Mann had misapplied statistical techniques and manipulated raw data. Then computer hackers discovered that the “experts” were brazenly discussing among themselves the massaging and falsifying data and the hiding of conflicting data. Then Climategate got much, much bigger when Russian scientists discovered that British Meteorological officials had tampered with Russian-climate data. Thanks to the Russians who, with perfect timing, dropped this bombshell just as the world’s leaders were gathering in Copenhagen to discuss ways of carbon-taxing us all back to the dark ages.

During the Climategate debate, I wrote a Stumptalk article listing the alarmists’ pack of lies and to my surprise hockey stick Mann responded. The famous scientist took time out from his busy university work to write a letter to the Crossville Chronicle to call this columnist by name a liar. Mann didn’t know me from Adam; he didn’t know that I had been a researcher in California for decades and that I was very familiar with the mathematics that he used to fabricate his bogus hockey stick; In fact I used the same methods to evaluate some of our nation’s intelligence satellites. He falsely stated that a particular NOAA thermometer located in Sierra Nevada showed a warming trend at high elevations. From a reliable source I learned that the particular thermometer he referred was actually located on the beach of San Diego. So I wrote back revealing the real liar. Mike hasn’t been heard from since.

Refutable evidence to Mann’s thesis by reputable scientists flooded technical journals. According to famed climatologist Ian Clark of the University of Ottawa, ice core samples going back thousands of years show indeed there is a link between the rise in carbon dioxide levels and temperature as Al Gore said in his movie Inconvenient Truth. But Gore inconveniently failed to mention he had the science backward. The samples show that the rise in CO2 lags the rise in temperature by 800 years and cannot be the cause of global warming. In fact it is the rise in temperature that causes CO2 to rise, not the other way around.

Scientists don’t dispute the existence of global warming (and cooling), only the cause. Probably the best explanation is by weather scientist Henry Svensmark of the Danish Space Center who showed experimentally why the Earth is warming. He showed that cosmic rays influence cloud formation which have a net cooling effect. But for the last three decades there have been fewer clouds than normal because the sun’s magnetic field, which shields us from cosmic rays, has been stronger than usual. So the Earth, and in fact the entire solar system, heated up for the period (SUVs on Jupiter?).

It is simply preposterous to think that by reducing man-made greenhouse gasses, which is less than 1 percent of the total, could change the climate of the earth.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • We the People: The last dance

    Charlie Hayden’s last recording session with his early partner, Keith Jarrett, was in 2007.  The songs they played were mostly melancholy.  The second album coming from that session includes Weil’s “My Ship” and Porter’s “Every Time We Say Goodbye.” The dark ballad “Goodbye,” by Gordon Jenkins, was the final track.

    July 22, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Living in a pressure cooker

    The Gaza Strip, a small Palestinian territory about the size of Washington, D.C., has been in the news almost every day.  Its key location at the eastern end of the Mediterranean Sea has attracted a number of occupying powers over the years, and it has  been at the center of much Middle East history.

    July 22, 2014

  • Tidbits: The excitement of election day

    On March 12, 1996, there were 427,183 votes cast in the presidential primary election. Among those votes was mine, the first vote I cast in an election, just two days after my 18th birthday.

    July 21, 2014

  • Raising the minimum wage

    My first job from which FICA was withheld was a minimum wage job, seventy-five cents an hour. And yes, even then no one could live on that little money. However, I was a high schooler living at home where my father provided room and board. The job gave me pocket money to buy gasoline, to take my girlfriend out for movies and burgers, and to buy tickets for baseball games.

    July 21, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Children on the move

    The news this past week has focused on the humanitarian crisis developing on our southern border. Thousands of unaccompanied children from El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras seeking to escape from the violence, human trafficking and extreme poverty in their countries have been entering the United States.

    July 15, 2014

  • We the People: Memo to gun rights groups

    The recent incident in California helps us understand why we cannot rely on mental health services alone to solve the problem of gun violence.

    July 15, 2014

  • Tidbits: Make the best of your road trip

    I didn’t care for road trips when I was young. It was so confining to have to sit in the back seat, staring out the window for hour after hour, hayfield after hayfield. And when you’re a kid, time doesn’t pass like it does when you get a little older. Just the trip from Jamestown, TN, to Crossville, roughly 30 miles, felt like an eternity!

    July 14, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Biased climate agenda will cost trillions

    For anyone who has been educated in the history of science and scientific method, this whole issue of “Global Warming” or “Climate Change” is an embarrassing and painful exercise.

    July 14, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Time for an oil change

    The land of Iraq, earlier known as Mesopotamia, has a long history going back to Neanderthal times some 60,000 years ago. Later, around 10,000 years ago, it became the site for some of the most important developments in human history: the invention of the wheel, planting of cereal crops, the development of cursive script, mathematics, astronomy and agriculture. Today it is recognized as one of the cradles of civilization.

    July 8, 2014

  • We the People: American women, be informed and vote

    Voting for today’s Republican Party and its Tea Party members, means you are voting against more than most realize.  This is especially true for women.

    July 8, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Obama Seeks Limits on US Company Mergers Abroad Large Family to Share NJ Lottery Winnings U.S. Flights to Israel Resume After Ban Lifted Official: Air Algerie Flight 'probably Crashed' TSA Administrator on Politics and Flight Bans Raw: National Guard Helps Battle WA Wildfires Raw: Ukraine's Donetsk Residents Flee Senators Push to End Hamas Threat in Cease-Fire A Young Victim's Premonition, Hug Before MH17 Raw: Deadly Storm Hits Virginia Campground Death Penalty Expert: 'This is a Turning Point' Raw: MH17 Victim's Bodies Arrive in Netherlands
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice
Graduation 2014