Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

February 18, 2013

STUMPTALK: It was never about hunting

CROSSVILLE — “A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.”

Quoted above is the Second Amendment of our Constitution! Can anyone point to any reference therein to hunting? The true purpose of the Second Amendment is “being necessary to the security of a free State.” If our federal government infringes on our liberties and freedoms, we the people have the right and responsibility to change our government, even if it becomes necessary to bear arms.

This time when we discuss regulating guns we need to have a discussion of the facts without the emotions. Gun owners regret the killings by people using guns more than anyone since they know what is going to follow. Most of the citizens who own guns don’t own them for the purpose of killing other people and certainly not multiple killings.

The Second Amendment of the Constitution was not for hunters. It was not even for protection from other individuals. If you examine the wording you will recognize that it was to provide protection against invasion and against totalitarian government like the one that we have today. If the current trend continues, our only hope will be for the citizens to prevent the total takeover of our freedoms by the federal government.

Even a cursory review of history reveals that every government that has taken away the citizens right to own guns has eventually taken over every aspect of their citizen’s lives. Removing the right to own guns is the first step in enforcing total government control. Some members of Congress have already proposed the elimination, or restriction, of the First Amendment. The Federal Government and Courts have already eliminated the application of the Tenth Amendment. Those of you who wish to control guns should study what has happened in other countries where gun ownership has been restricted.

A very wise man once said, “Any society that would give up a little liberty to gain a little security will deserve neither and lose both.”

All criminal shootings are nothing more than an indication of what is wrong within our society. Does anyone deny that killing is evil?  If we continue to force God out of our society, we should expect evil to grow and the killings will continue even if all guns are outlawed. Criminals and evil humans will always find ways to get guns or find some other means of killing.  Newtown is simply the latest tragedy exposing our decaying morals and our failure to teach our citizens to accept responsibility for their actions.

We need to return to teaching morality and responsibility to our citizens.

• • •

Stumptalk is published weekly in the Crossville Chronicle. The opinions expressed in this column are not necessarily those of the Chronicle publisher, editor or staff. To contact Stumptalk, email coordinator Phil Billington at stumptalk@charter.net.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lion and the Lamb: A promised land?

    Back in biblical times there was a group of people who believed that God had promised them a segment of land on this planet that would be theirs forever. Who could have known back then that this ancient promise and territorial justification would be used by their descendants today to claim the same segment of land?

    July 29, 2014

  • We the People: Bring back the American dream

    Our economy continues to expand. The stock market is at record levels, yet many ask why so many of us are struggling?  Barely half of us believe the American dream is attainable.

    July 29, 2014

  • Tidbits: Taking a low-tech break

    Feeling increasingly strangled by my electronic leash, with phone, text messages, email, social media and a variety of other forms of communication always at my side, I took the weekend off.

    July 28, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Governing before and after mass corruption

    Laws in America were originally written simply. Every citizen could read them quickly and understand their meaning. The founders wrote the Declaration of Independence, the Articles of Confederation, the Northwest Ordinance and the Constitution of the United States, none of which was longer than 4,500 words.

    July 28, 2014

  • We the People: The last dance

    Charlie Hayden’s last recording session with his early partner, Keith Jarrett, was in 2007.  The songs they played were mostly melancholy.  The second album coming from that session includes Weil’s “My Ship” and Porter’s “Every Time We Say Goodbye.” The dark ballad “Goodbye,” by Gordon Jenkins, was the final track.

    July 22, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Living in a pressure cooker

    The Gaza Strip, a small Palestinian territory about the size of Washington, D.C., has been in the news almost every day.  Its key location at the eastern end of the Mediterranean Sea has attracted a number of occupying powers over the years, and it has  been at the center of much Middle East history.

    July 22, 2014

  • Tidbits: The excitement of election day

    On March 12, 1996, there were 427,183 votes cast in the presidential primary election. Among those votes was mine, the first vote I cast in an election, just two days after my 18th birthday.

    July 21, 2014

  • Raising the minimum wage

    My first job from which FICA was withheld was a minimum wage job, seventy-five cents an hour. And yes, even then no one could live on that little money. However, I was a high schooler living at home where my father provided room and board. The job gave me pocket money to buy gasoline, to take my girlfriend out for movies and burgers, and to buy tickets for baseball games.

    July 21, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Children on the move

    The news this past week has focused on the humanitarian crisis developing on our southern border. Thousands of unaccompanied children from El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras seeking to escape from the violence, human trafficking and extreme poverty in their countries have been entering the United States.

    July 15, 2014

  • We the People: Memo to gun rights groups

    The recent incident in California helps us understand why we cannot rely on mental health services alone to solve the problem of gun violence.

    July 15, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice
Graduation 2014