Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

December 31, 2012

Stumptalk: Life’s not fair, Mr. President

CROSSVILLE — Do you remember saying “that’s not fair” when you were a child and hearing an adult respond “life’s not fair”? Well, life is still not fair and our president needs to be reminded of that fact. How many times have you heard our president say that he wants to be fair? Maybe he has never learned that life’s not fair and he might do a better job as president if he recognized that life is a series of decisions to determine what is best for the majority of our citizens and stop blaming others for his inability to make decisions. Our president needs to grow up and stop dividing us into special interest groups.

Not everyone can have everything that they want but, the left seems to believe that if something sounds good, then it should be funded by the federal government. The federal government does not have the authority to provide everything that the liberals think we “need.” The president needs to grow up and learn that taxpayers are not constitutionally authorized to furnish everything.The sooner he learns this lesson, the sooner we will become more financially responsible as a nation.

Good people doing the right thing is what has made this country great. Liberals seem to believe that they should provide everything for everyone instead of helping others learn to provide for themselves. Liberals undercut Christianity and goodness and virtue at every opportunity. They think that judging people who exhibit bad behavior is wrong. Bad behavior is not a desirable characteristic for a civil society but you cannot legislate good behavior so we must judge bad behavior for what it is. Being good requires the enforcement of a moral code and drawing a clear line between right and wrong. Not everyone is entitled to a trophy simply for existing. Rewards in life belong to those who improve society, not those who live off the productive efforts of others. A president who says that “you didn’t build that” needs to grow up!

You don’t deserve special privileges because of your race, sex, national origin or other factors. We should expect the best that each person has to offer and not always offer some excuse for those who don’t even try. When we stop expecting something for nothing then we will start earning what we need or desire. If you don’t like your position in life, then work hard to attain the position that you want. Stop blaming others for your lack of desire to improve your life. If you don’t try, you will never succeed! Become the best you can be!

• • •

Stumptalk is published weekly in the Crossville Chronicle. The opinions expressed in this column are not necessarily those of the Chronicle publisher, editor or staff. To contact Stumptalk, email coordinator Phil Billington at stumptalk@charter.net.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lion and the Lamb: A promised land?

    Back in biblical times there was a group of people who believed that God had promised them a segment of land on this planet that would be theirs forever. Who could have known back then that this ancient promise and territorial justification would be used by their descendants today to claim the same segment of land?

    July 29, 2014

  • We the People: Bring back the American dream

    Our economy continues to expand. The stock market is at record levels, yet many ask why so many of us are struggling?  Barely half of us believe the American dream is attainable.

    July 29, 2014

  • Tidbits: Taking a low-tech break

    Feeling increasingly strangled by my electronic leash, with phone, text messages, email, social media and a variety of other forms of communication always at my side, I took the weekend off.

    July 28, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Governing before and after mass corruption

    Laws in America were originally written simply. Every citizen could read them quickly and understand their meaning. The founders wrote the Declaration of Independence, the Articles of Confederation, the Northwest Ordinance and the Constitution of the United States, none of which was longer than 4,500 words.

    July 28, 2014

  • We the People: The last dance

    Charlie Hayden’s last recording session with his early partner, Keith Jarrett, was in 2007.  The songs they played were mostly melancholy.  The second album coming from that session includes Weil’s “My Ship” and Porter’s “Every Time We Say Goodbye.” The dark ballad “Goodbye,” by Gordon Jenkins, was the final track.

    July 22, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Living in a pressure cooker

    The Gaza Strip, a small Palestinian territory about the size of Washington, D.C., has been in the news almost every day.  Its key location at the eastern end of the Mediterranean Sea has attracted a number of occupying powers over the years, and it has  been at the center of much Middle East history.

    July 22, 2014

  • Tidbits: The excitement of election day

    On March 12, 1996, there were 427,183 votes cast in the presidential primary election. Among those votes was mine, the first vote I cast in an election, just two days after my 18th birthday.

    July 21, 2014

  • Raising the minimum wage

    My first job from which FICA was withheld was a minimum wage job, seventy-five cents an hour. And yes, even then no one could live on that little money. However, I was a high schooler living at home where my father provided room and board. The job gave me pocket money to buy gasoline, to take my girlfriend out for movies and burgers, and to buy tickets for baseball games.

    July 21, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Children on the move

    The news this past week has focused on the humanitarian crisis developing on our southern border. Thousands of unaccompanied children from El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras seeking to escape from the violence, human trafficking and extreme poverty in their countries have been entering the United States.

    July 15, 2014

  • We the People: Memo to gun rights groups

    The recent incident in California helps us understand why we cannot rely on mental health services alone to solve the problem of gun violence.

    July 15, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice
Graduation 2014