Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

October 9, 2012

We the People: Illusions we live with

CROSSVILLE — Forever is an illusion we live with. Not everyone would agree, but if we all believed the same things, there would be no need for democracy or denominations.  It is not an illusion that if we don’t face facts and make compromises, our democracy is threatened no matter who is elected. 

The major candidates told us repeatedly that we are all created equal, or that if we work hard, we can be anything we want. It sounds good, but it’s another illusion we live with. Total equality isn’t real, either intellectually or physically.  Working hard is a worthy attribute, but many of those who talk most about hard work have never worked hard enough to entitle them to give advice to a fellow citizen who does grinding work every day — a stone worker shaping a slab of sandstone or a maintenance worker in a garbage dump spreading trash and discouraging scavengers. We may say we admire such efforts (whether artful or tedious), but not everyone can do such work day after day, no matter how honorable and necessary it is to the community. 

There is no more or less glory, honor or purpose for our country than doing our part and doing it right, even if the work is knee deep in other people’s trash or leads to gnarled fingers from breaking and lifting stone so others can construct magnificent buildings. A college education is valuable, but not always essential.

We the People are the people. The important thing is to work together honestly at what we do best. We do not all believe the same things or know the same things, but we are the government. Rich or poor, we have no more room for sorry leaders and bad choices. It is past time for us to make peace at home and stop making unnecessary war abroad.

We don’t need to learn to hug all our enemies, foreign and domestic, and go to prayer meetings together.

The idea that the entire world wants democracy, though, is another illusion. We cannot borrow forever to make endless war on people in caves halfway around the world. Enough is enough. Don’t we have better places for our money and our children?

It’s high noon for Congress. It’s time for Congressional noses to point toward statesmanship instead of constantly sniffing the Washington winds for the biggest pile of campaign money. No honest American citizen wants four more years of bickering and obstruction from ideologues. 

Members of Congress come and go, but the People go on. Most of us know right from wrong. We are the government. And it’s choosing time again. It’s time to show our common sense and our faith that We the People are still capable of governing ourselves. We do that by voting for statesmen (or stateswomen) and by kicking out one-party addicts who are filling their already deep pockets at the lobby machines. We are not for sale, but we must prove that we won’t be bought or sold against our will or snookered by political illusions passed off as straight talk.

• • •

This column represents alternative thoughts to other published columns in the Crossville Chronicle. "We the People" is published each Wednesday. Opinions expressed in "We the People" columns are not necessarily those of the Crossville Chronicle publisher, editor or staff. For more information, contact John Wund, editor, at jwund@frontiernet.net.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lion and the Lamb: Time for an oil change

    The land of Iraq, earlier known as Mesopotamia, has a long history going back to Neanderthal times some 60,000 years ago. Later, around 10,000 years ago, it became the site for some of the most important developments in human history: the invention of the wheel, planting of cereal crops, the development of cursive script, mathematics, astronomy and agriculture. Today it is recognized as one of the cradles of civilization.

    July 8, 2014

  • We the People: American women, be informed and vote

    Voting for today’s Republican Party and its Tea Party members, means you are voting against more than most realize.  This is especially true for women.

    July 8, 2014

  • TIDBITS: Beat the heat in July and August

    I hope everyone enjoyed the Independence Day weekend, with lots of celebration and fun. We couldn’t have asked for better weather this July 4, or 5 or 6. In fact, it was so nice I was tempted to try and bottle some of that sunshine, low humidity and gentle breeze that greeted me each morning.

    July 7, 2014

  • STUMPTALK: Demand better from government workers

    In a recent congressional hearing we learned that the VA awarded excessive bonuses to nearly all of their doctors and administrators. In a recent column we mentioned that the civil service employment provisions should be revised so that federal employees in the executive branch could be fired if they don’t perform to the satisfaction of the president. The president would then know that he (or she) will be solely responsible for any failures of the administration and would be more likely to demand hiring competent employees and insist on satisfactory performance.

    July 7, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Getting under the skin

    Last week on June 18, a department of the federal government announced an important ruling concerning the National Football League's Washington Redskins. The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office declared that the name "Redskins," a designation based on skin color, was disparaging to Native Americans.

    June 24, 2014

  • We the People: Which way is up?

    The latest Rasmussen poll finds that almost two-thirds of us think the nation is heading in the “wrong direction.” Less than a third think we are on the “right track.” (We could obsess over the difference between “direction” and “track,” but let’s not.) Rasmussen takes a poll of likely voters every week.

    June 24, 2014

  • Tidbits: A yay-boo time for doughnuts

    Regular readers of my column will know, I have a sweet tooth. I love all kinds of pastries and confections, baked treats and iced deliciousness. Among my top five list of sweet treats are doughnuts. I'm particularly fond of cake doughnuts, an ingenious way to combine two of my favorite treats. And, if you get the blueberry cake doughnuts, it makes a perfectly acceptable breakfast for the busy gal on the go.

    June 23, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Whose war is it now?

    During the 2004 Presidential campaign Democratic Party nominee John Kerry referred to Vietnam as “Nixon’s war.” At first I thought calling Vietnam Nixon’s war a mistake because the first escalation of U.S. involvement in Vietnam began with John F. Kennedy when he increased U.S. military advisors in South Vietnam to 18,000, then continued after his death with Lyndon Johnson’s increase to 550,000 full combat troops.

    June 23, 2014

  • LION AND THE LAMB: The NRA takes aim on the Constitution

    This past week Everytown for Gun Safety, a group advocating greater gun control, reported that in the 18 months since the massacre at the Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, Connecticut, in December 2012, there have been 74 school shootings in our nation. The U.S. has now become the world leader in this category. And if we were to include all firearm-related incidents, we would find that more than 30,000 people in our nation die each year from these.

    June 17, 2014

  • WE THE PEOPLE: Kick corporate greed out of schools

    Last month I promised to end my series on the “education reform movement” that is tearing apart our traditional public school system. I also promised to suggest how you can help stop this train wreck.

    June 17, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Joy Fills Streets of Cleveland As LeBron Returns Proposed Bill to Regulate NY Costumed Characters WH: LeBron's Move a 'Powerful Statement' Ana Ortiz on 'Devious Maids' Finale CDC Addresses Lab Safety Problems Texas Shooting Suspect Collapses in Court Death Toll Tops 100 As Israel Offense Continues LeBron James Says He's Returning to Cavaliers Man Flees Police in World Cup Scalping Scheme Robot Writes Jewish Torah Scroll Raw: Israel, Gaza Exchange Rocket Fire More Immigrants Detained Along Rio Grande World Cup Final Pits Argentina Against Germany Police: Prostitute Linked to 2nd Death Thousands Attend NYC Firefighter's Funeral Art of Haitian Machete Fighting Revived Raw: Australia Hosts Annual Beer Can Regatta Mass. Mayor: Families Lost Everything in Fire Fans Dying to Be Near Jazz Greats Robots Gearing Up for Their Own 'World Cup'
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice
Graduation 2014