Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

July 31, 2012

RANDOM THOUGHTS: The strange sex life of corn

CROSSVILLE — This year corn is newsworthy because of its effect on the economy but now is always the time of year when corn fills the minds of those who love  corn on the cob fresh from the field. When I was a child as soon as I had enough teeth I looked forward to meals of what my family called ‘roastanears.’

Gripping that ear of corn slathered with butter with two hands was not  easy but worth the effort. Eventually corn holders came on the market and it was an easier and much less messy way to hold the corn while munching on row after row of kernels.

After frozen foods became a way of life fewer generations had any idea of the journey that naked ear all wrapped in plastic went through from the field to freezer to table. They never experienced the effort it took to shuck the tough husk to expose the golden ear of corn cushioned in a mass of corn silk threads which had to be carefully removed. All the history of an ear of corn’s life was gone.

I have seen many fields of corn but never did I connect sex with corn until last week when I saw this sentence “It is now corn-sex season across the Midwest, and everything is not going well.” It appeared in a short article discussing the effect of high temperatures on this year’s corn crop.

Tennessee’s corn is suffering from the high temperatures and various degrees of drought conditions from normal to abnormally dry in the east. In the western part of the state it is moderate to severe drought. The ratings for Tennessee’s corn crop are: very poor 25%, poor 30%, fair, 27%, good 17% and excellent 1%.

But back to corn-sex. In his book Omnivore’s Dilemma, author, naturalist and gardener Michael Pollen describes the strange sex life of corn. The female sex organs are hidden within the tough husk and the only way to get to them is by the silk thread that extends from the husk. First a grain of pollen must fall on the very tip of the thread and then move down six or seven inches through a tiny tube which takes several hours. If the journey to pollinate is successful it results in a single kernel! This act is repeated more than eight hundred times before there is a complete ear.  For a bushel of corn the number is about eighty thousand times. 

Those astonishing figures will come to mind whenever I pass a field of corn. Since those early days when my new teeth were strong enough to make quick work of ‘roastanears,’ time has taken its toll on those teeth and now I have only happy memories as I eat my corn off the cob!

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lion and the Lamb: Our war on women

    Jimmy Carter, who was president from 1977 to 1981, has had quite an impressive career as an author. His first book was published in 1975, and he has now written a total of 37 books, 23 of them after his presidency. He has set a high example for other past presidents, especially those who would like to find ways of being as beneficial to their nation as possible in the days after their retirement.

    April 22, 2014

  • Tidbits: "Selfie" destruction

    Technology continues to profoundly impact our daily lives, from the Heartbleed Bug that put hundreds of thousands of websites at risk of compromising customer usernames and passwords, to the little light that tries to tell me I'm about to run out of gas. Technology also impacts our language, with new words being created to describe the latest gizmo, gadget or trend.

    April 21, 2014

  • Stumptalk: It depends on what you mean

    A writer’s headline asks, “Do we really believe in democracy?” To which I answer, “What do you mean by democracy?

    April 21, 2014

  • LION AND THE LAMB: Four ways to demonstrate opposition

    Marcus Borg and John Dominic Crossan mention in their book, “The Last Week,” that Roman-occupied Palestine during the first century was under the control of Pontius Pilate who lived in the coastal city of Caesarea. Each year at the beginning of the Passover observance when Jews celebrated their liberation from Egypt, Pilate feared that they might be getting ideas about revolting from Rome, so he would come with additional soldiers on horses to beef up the Roman garrison in Jerusalem. 

    April 15, 2014

  • WE THE PEOPLE: Is it (new) party time?

    The Democratic and Republican parties are toast, according to Joe Trippi. The Republican Party is coming apart at its Tea Party seam. Democratic candidates struggle to celebrate President Obama’s health care successes, while responding to criticism of his failed promises, e.g., government transparency.

    April 15, 2014

  • TIDBITS: I found it at the library

    I have such fond memories of going to my local library as a child, searching through shelf after shelf and finding a book that would make me a Little Princess in World War II England, or bring me along as Nancy Drew solved the Secret in the Old Attic.

    April 14, 2014

  • STUMPTALK: The reason words have meaning

    If words did not have accepted meanings we would not be able to communicate effectively and civilized society would not exist.

    April 14, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Do we really believe in democracy?

    The recent Supreme Court decision, McCutcheon v. Federal Election Commission, is in a long line of debates about power in a democracy. Should power be in the hands of all the citizens or should it be in hands of those who have greater wealth and social position?

    April 8, 2014

  • We the People: Public education or business opportunity?

    A month ago, we followed the money trail left by a ‘think tank’ to the major sources funding an attack on our traditional, locally controlled public schools. We saw that a handful of billionaires provide major support to many organizations lobbying for change.

    April 8, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Just another government lie?

    There is a vault located in Fort Knox, Kentucky. It was built in 1936 and encased in 16 cubic feet of granite and 4200 feet of cement. The door is made of 20-inch thick material that is immune to drills, torches and explosives.

    April 7, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice