Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

January 27, 2014

Tidbits: Look for better role models

CROSSVILLE — In 1993, Charles Barkley proclaimed "I am not a role model."

Barkley was a star in the NBA. When he retired in 1997, he was one of a handful of players to score more than 20,000 points and collect more than 10,000 rebounds and 4,000 assists. His stats were impressive, but the professional athlete also found himself being called upon to be a role model to young kids who looked up to him and other professional athletes.

This, in his mind, was ridiculous.

"I'm not a role model," Barkley wrote for a Nike advertisement. "Just because I dunk a basketball doesn't mean I should raise your kids."

But still, people look to these celebrity's as examples, and when they fall from the public's good graces, it can be difficult for those who looked up to them. And, based on the reaction these superstar celebrities receive for their misdeeds, those watching the round-the-clock coverage may be learning other messages, like rules don't apply to everyone.

It's not easy to pin the blame for this celebrity worship we have in our society today. What came first, the media coverage or the reader insistence? Media companies, which are businesses, usually strive to give the customer what they want. In recent years, it's been more and more celebrity news and celebrity gossip. The tabloids and paparazzi are now main stream. You even have interviews with senior members of Congress discussing the abuses of the National Security Agency interrupted for live coverage of a spoiled little Canadian being arrested for driving drunk, drag racing a luxury sports car and resisting arrest.

But the networks want to give the public what they want and, sadly, it's often at the expense of what they need — coverage of issues that really do affect their every day lives.

According to the police report and media reports, Beiber was driving a rented yellow Lamborghini at 4 a.m. last Thursday morning. He was charged with DUI, driving with an expired license and resisting arrest. His entourage apparently blocked traffic on the street. The police report states Beiber confessed to having beer, marijuana and prescription drugs in his system.

Now, it appears some of those charges Beiber have been dropped following further investigation and he only faces a charge of resisting arrest without violence.

But Bieber's legal troubles aren't over. He's facing felony vandalism charges in Los Angeles. And though criminal charges aren't likely, there have been photos of the teen smoking what appears to be marijuana, with reports the pop star is partying like a rock star.

Bieber is one of many child stars who reach a certain age and go off the rails, unable to handle their fame. Think Lindsey Lohan, Brittany Spears and Miley Cyrus. It's almost like they're consciously saying, "If you can't be a good example, then be a horrible warning."

If we want to change the culture of celebrity worship in our society, it has to start with us. If you don't want your children emulating the garbage they're seeing on the awards shows, the reality shows, or even the nightly news, talk to them about what's wrong with what they're seeing. Or, just turn the TV off. Maybe if we ignore them, they'll go away.

Even better, point to actual role models they have in their lives. From teachers to coaches, to family or friends, everyone needs someone they can look up to.

And then, be a parent to your child. Talk to them about right and wrong. Teach them the values you believe are important and actually model those values as best you can every day for your child. Sure, you're not as glitzy and glamorous as the celebrities on TMZ, but you can teach your children a lot more than the over-priveleged stars.

Like Barkley said, don't expect celebrities to raise your kids. That's your job. That's the job you signed up for. The folks who are famous didn't sign up for that, and we should stop being surprised when they fail to meet our expectations for them.

• • •

Heather Mullinix is assistant editor of the Crossville Chronicle. Her column is published on Tuesdays. She may be reached at hmullinix@crossville-chronicle.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lion and the Lamb: Time for an oil change

    The land of Iraq, earlier known as Mesopotamia, has a long history going back to Neanderthal times some 60,000 years ago. Later, around 10,000 years ago, it became the site for some of the most important developments in human history: the invention of the wheel, planting of cereal crops, the development of cursive script, mathematics, astronomy and agriculture. Today it is recognized as one of the cradles of civilization.

    July 8, 2014

  • We the People: American women, be informed and vote

    Voting for today’s Republican Party and its Tea Party members, means you are voting against more than most realize.  This is especially true for women.

    July 8, 2014

  • TIDBITS: Beat the heat in July and August

    I hope everyone enjoyed the Independence Day weekend, with lots of celebration and fun. We couldn’t have asked for better weather this July 4, or 5 or 6. In fact, it was so nice I was tempted to try and bottle some of that sunshine, low humidity and gentle breeze that greeted me each morning.

    July 7, 2014

  • STUMPTALK: Demand better from government workers

    In a recent congressional hearing we learned that the VA awarded excessive bonuses to nearly all of their doctors and administrators. In a recent column we mentioned that the civil service employment provisions should be revised so that federal employees in the executive branch could be fired if they don’t perform to the satisfaction of the president. The president would then know that he (or she) will be solely responsible for any failures of the administration and would be more likely to demand hiring competent employees and insist on satisfactory performance.

    July 7, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Getting under the skin

    Last week on June 18, a department of the federal government announced an important ruling concerning the National Football League's Washington Redskins. The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office declared that the name "Redskins," a designation based on skin color, was disparaging to Native Americans.

    June 24, 2014

  • We the People: Which way is up?

    The latest Rasmussen poll finds that almost two-thirds of us think the nation is heading in the “wrong direction.” Less than a third think we are on the “right track.” (We could obsess over the difference between “direction” and “track,” but let’s not.) Rasmussen takes a poll of likely voters every week.

    June 24, 2014

  • Tidbits: A yay-boo time for doughnuts

    Regular readers of my column will know, I have a sweet tooth. I love all kinds of pastries and confections, baked treats and iced deliciousness. Among my top five list of sweet treats are doughnuts. I'm particularly fond of cake doughnuts, an ingenious way to combine two of my favorite treats. And, if you get the blueberry cake doughnuts, it makes a perfectly acceptable breakfast for the busy gal on the go.

    June 23, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Whose war is it now?

    During the 2004 Presidential campaign Democratic Party nominee John Kerry referred to Vietnam as “Nixon’s war.” At first I thought calling Vietnam Nixon’s war a mistake because the first escalation of U.S. involvement in Vietnam began with John F. Kennedy when he increased U.S. military advisors in South Vietnam to 18,000, then continued after his death with Lyndon Johnson’s increase to 550,000 full combat troops.

    June 23, 2014

  • LION AND THE LAMB: The NRA takes aim on the Constitution

    This past week Everytown for Gun Safety, a group advocating greater gun control, reported that in the 18 months since the massacre at the Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, Connecticut, in December 2012, there have been 74 school shootings in our nation. The U.S. has now become the world leader in this category. And if we were to include all firearm-related incidents, we would find that more than 30,000 people in our nation die each year from these.

    June 17, 2014

  • WE THE PEOPLE: Kick corporate greed out of schools

    Last month I promised to end my series on the “education reform movement” that is tearing apart our traditional public school system. I also promised to suggest how you can help stop this train wreck.

    June 17, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Texas Shooting Suspect Collapses in Court Death Toll Tops 100 As Israel Offense Continues LeBron James Says He's Returning to Cavaliers Man Flees Police in World Cup Scalping Scheme Robot Writes Jewish Torah Scroll Raw: Israel, Gaza Exchange Rocket Fire More Immigrants Detained Along Rio Grande World Cup Final Pits Argentina Against Germany Police: Prostitute Linked to 2nd Death Thousands Attend NYC Firefighter's Funeral Art of Haitian Machete Fighting Revived Raw: Australia Hosts Annual Beer Can Regatta Mass. Mayor: Families Lost Everything in Fire Fans Dying to Be Near Jazz Greats Robots Gearing Up for Their Own 'World Cup'
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice
Graduation 2014