Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

August 12, 2013

Stumptalk: Thank you, Mr. President

CROSSVILLE — I am puzzled by President Obama’s message to the nation given in the press briefing room following the trial in which George Zimmerman was found not guilty in the death of Trayvon Martin. Despite the fact that multiple investigations were unable to find any evidence of racism in the incident (including local law enforcement, state prosecutor, FBI and the jury), Obama adroitly turned the incident between two males, one black and the other Hispanic, into a racial incident while claiming he “accepted” the jury’s findings.

The President then went on to explain that he wanted to talk about the “context,” and proceeded to ramble on about the African-American experience in the U.S, framing it by saying that he could have been Trayvon Martin 35 years ago. Now, as I understand it, 35 years ago Obama was living in a low crime area with his white grandparents in Hawaii, and was a senior at Punahou School (described as one of the top private schools in the city). He did admit to using alcohol, marijuana and cocaine during his teen years, so he has that in common with Trayvon Martin, I guess.

He spent all of two years in public schools (kindergarten in Honolulu, 4th grade in Jakarta, Indonesia) and all of the rest of his education was in private schools (Punahou in Hawaii, Occidental College in L.A., Columbia University and Harvard Law School). At the time of the shooting incident, Trayvon Martin was visiting his father and father’s girlfriend while on a ten-day suspension from Krop Senior High School following the discovery of “drug residue” in his book bag. He had previously been suspended for having a burglary tool and women’s jewelry. The parallels between Obama and Martin are obvious, and one can easily see how Obama would conclude that he could have met the same fate as Martin 35 years earlier.

A true and honest discussion of the “context” would have included George Zimmerman’s experience as a Hispanic living in a high crime area. The crime activity was so significant that the community agreed to start a neighborhood watch program initiated by Zimmerman. There had been 8 burglaries in the previous 14 months, putting the community on edge. A resident described the mood as “afraid and scared.” One family was able to stay for only six months after two men broke into their home during the day with a woman and her youngster hiding in an upstairs room. Zimmerman and his wife were described as “sweet” in their attempt to help her after the incident. Since 2004, Zimmerman had called police 46 times. A spokesman for the Seminole County Sheriff’s office did not regard that as excessive, and in fact encouraged the community to call when they saw anything out of the ordinary.

Context is, indeed, important. On the evening of the shooting, that was the “context” in which Zimmerman called the non-emergency police number to report that he saw Martin “walking about” in the neighborhood on a rainy night and said he was “acting strange.” First Martin walked toward him, then ran away with Zimmerman attempting to follow. Police had been dispatched and Zimmerman was told he did not have to follow, to which he responded “OK.” At some point Martin angrily confronted Zimmerman, then knocked him to the ground with a sucker punch to the face, breaking his nose. He straddled Zimmerman and began pounding his head on the concrete sidewalk. When your head is being pounded on concrete, it is hard to tell when the next blow will be very serious.  Zimmerman pulled his weapon and shot. The total time from Zimmerman’s call to the police until the shot was 7 minutes, including the 4 minutes that Zimmerman was on the police call, leaving 3 minutes for Martin’s assault and the shooting in self-defense.

Yes, Mr. President, context is important. Had Obama functioned as a President of the People,  rather than an apologist for African Americans, he would have discussed the entire context. As it is, it seems he has painted a target on George Zimmerman. Obama’s rhetoric about being a “uniter,” both internationally and domestically, has been a miserable failure and has exacerbated the divisiveness. Thank you, Mr. President.

• • •

Stumptalk is published weekly in the Crossville Chronicle. The opinions expressed in this column are not necessarily those of the Chronicle publisher, editor or staff. To contact Stumptalk, email coordinator Jim Sykes at sykes113@frontiernet.net.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • LION AND THE LAMB: Four ways to demonstrate opposition

    Marcus Borg and John Dominic Crossan mention in their book, “The Last Week,” that Roman-occupied Palestine during the first century was under the control of Pontius Pilate who lived in the coastal city of Caesarea. Each year at the beginning of the Passover observance when Jews celebrated their liberation from Egypt, Pilate feared that they might be getting ideas about revolting from Rome, so he would come with additional soldiers on horses to beef up the Roman garrison in Jerusalem. 

    April 15, 2014

  • WE THE PEOPLE: Is it (new) party time?

    The Democratic and Republican parties are toast, according to Joe Trippi. The Republican Party is coming apart at its Tea Party seam. Democratic candidates struggle to celebrate President Obama’s health care successes, while responding to criticism of his failed promises, e.g., government transparency.

    April 15, 2014

  • TIDBITS: I found it at the library

    I have such fond memories of going to my local library as a child, searching through shelf after shelf and finding a book that would make me a Little Princess in World War II England, or bring me along as Nancy Drew solved the Secret in the Old Attic.

    April 14, 2014

  • STUMPTALK: The reason words have meaning

    If words did not have accepted meanings we would not be able to communicate effectively and civilized society would not exist.

    April 14, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Do we really believe in democracy?

    The recent Supreme Court decision, McCutcheon v. Federal Election Commission, is in a long line of debates about power in a democracy. Should power be in the hands of all the citizens or should it be in hands of those who have greater wealth and social position?

    April 8, 2014

  • We the People: Public education or business opportunity?

    A month ago, we followed the money trail left by a ‘think tank’ to the major sources funding an attack on our traditional, locally controlled public schools. We saw that a handful of billionaires provide major support to many organizations lobbying for change.

    April 8, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Just another government lie?

    There is a vault located in Fort Knox, Kentucky. It was built in 1936 and encased in 16 cubic feet of granite and 4200 feet of cement. The door is made of 20-inch thick material that is immune to drills, torches and explosives.

    April 7, 2014

  • GARY'S WORLD: The chance to speak your mind

    Are you tired of hearing people complain about the way things are run in Cumberland County? Or, do you like the way the county government is run and operated in our beautiful county?
    Are you happy with the way things are, or would you like some change?

    April 3, 2014

  • LION AND THE LAMB: Digging beneath the headlines

    Our media have been focusing on two important events that have taken place overseas during the last several weeks.

    April 1, 2014

  • WE THE PEOPLE: SNAP, health and work

    A recent letter from Representative Diane Black to me states that she voted for the farm bill (with $8 million in Food Stamp (SNAP) benefit cuts) because she, like me, is a supporter of food stamp benefits for Tennessee families who qualify. That’s a lot of families, as most recipients are families with children and the elderly. Now, recall that there was already a major cut to the food stamp program back in the fall. But for some Republicans, that was not enough.

    April 1, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Raw: Bulgarian Monastery Dyes 5000 Easter Eggs Diplomats Reach Deal to Ease Tensions in Ukraine U.S. Sending Nonlethal Aid to Ukraine Military Holder: Americans Stand With KC Mourners Obama Greets Wounded Warriors Malaysia Plane: Ocean Floor Images 'Very Clear' Sparks Fly With Derulo and Jordin on New Album Franco Leads Star-studded Broadway Cast Raw: Two Lucky Kids Get Ride in Popemobile Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice