Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

August 12, 2013

Stumptalk: Thank you, Mr. President

CROSSVILLE — I am puzzled by President Obama’s message to the nation given in the press briefing room following the trial in which George Zimmerman was found not guilty in the death of Trayvon Martin. Despite the fact that multiple investigations were unable to find any evidence of racism in the incident (including local law enforcement, state prosecutor, FBI and the jury), Obama adroitly turned the incident between two males, one black and the other Hispanic, into a racial incident while claiming he “accepted” the jury’s findings.

The President then went on to explain that he wanted to talk about the “context,” and proceeded to ramble on about the African-American experience in the U.S, framing it by saying that he could have been Trayvon Martin 35 years ago. Now, as I understand it, 35 years ago Obama was living in a low crime area with his white grandparents in Hawaii, and was a senior at Punahou School (described as one of the top private schools in the city). He did admit to using alcohol, marijuana and cocaine during his teen years, so he has that in common with Trayvon Martin, I guess.

He spent all of two years in public schools (kindergarten in Honolulu, 4th grade in Jakarta, Indonesia) and all of the rest of his education was in private schools (Punahou in Hawaii, Occidental College in L.A., Columbia University and Harvard Law School). At the time of the shooting incident, Trayvon Martin was visiting his father and father’s girlfriend while on a ten-day suspension from Krop Senior High School following the discovery of “drug residue” in his book bag. He had previously been suspended for having a burglary tool and women’s jewelry. The parallels between Obama and Martin are obvious, and one can easily see how Obama would conclude that he could have met the same fate as Martin 35 years earlier.

A true and honest discussion of the “context” would have included George Zimmerman’s experience as a Hispanic living in a high crime area. The crime activity was so significant that the community agreed to start a neighborhood watch program initiated by Zimmerman. There had been 8 burglaries in the previous 14 months, putting the community on edge. A resident described the mood as “afraid and scared.” One family was able to stay for only six months after two men broke into their home during the day with a woman and her youngster hiding in an upstairs room. Zimmerman and his wife were described as “sweet” in their attempt to help her after the incident. Since 2004, Zimmerman had called police 46 times. A spokesman for the Seminole County Sheriff’s office did not regard that as excessive, and in fact encouraged the community to call when they saw anything out of the ordinary.

Context is, indeed, important. On the evening of the shooting, that was the “context” in which Zimmerman called the non-emergency police number to report that he saw Martin “walking about” in the neighborhood on a rainy night and said he was “acting strange.” First Martin walked toward him, then ran away with Zimmerman attempting to follow. Police had been dispatched and Zimmerman was told he did not have to follow, to which he responded “OK.” At some point Martin angrily confronted Zimmerman, then knocked him to the ground with a sucker punch to the face, breaking his nose. He straddled Zimmerman and began pounding his head on the concrete sidewalk. When your head is being pounded on concrete, it is hard to tell when the next blow will be very serious.  Zimmerman pulled his weapon and shot. The total time from Zimmerman’s call to the police until the shot was 7 minutes, including the 4 minutes that Zimmerman was on the police call, leaving 3 minutes for Martin’s assault and the shooting in self-defense.

Yes, Mr. President, context is important. Had Obama functioned as a President of the People,  rather than an apologist for African Americans, he would have discussed the entire context. As it is, it seems he has painted a target on George Zimmerman. Obama’s rhetoric about being a “uniter,” both internationally and domestically, has been a miserable failure and has exacerbated the divisiveness. Thank you, Mr. President.

• • •

Stumptalk is published weekly in the Crossville Chronicle. The opinions expressed in this column are not necessarily those of the Chronicle publisher, editor or staff. To contact Stumptalk, email coordinator Jim Sykes at sykes113@frontiernet.net.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lion and the Lamb: A promised land?

    Back in biblical times there was a group of people who believed that God had promised them a segment of land on this planet that would be theirs forever. Who could have known back then that this ancient promise and territorial justification would be used by their descendants today to claim the same segment of land?

    July 29, 2014

  • We the People: Bring back the American dream

    Our economy continues to expand. The stock market is at record levels, yet many ask why so many of us are struggling?  Barely half of us believe the American dream is attainable.

    July 29, 2014

  • Tidbits: Taking a low-tech break

    Feeling increasingly strangled by my electronic leash, with phone, text messages, email, social media and a variety of other forms of communication always at my side, I took the weekend off.

    July 28, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Governing before and after mass corruption

    Laws in America were originally written simply. Every citizen could read them quickly and understand their meaning. The founders wrote the Declaration of Independence, the Articles of Confederation, the Northwest Ordinance and the Constitution of the United States, none of which was longer than 4,500 words.

    July 28, 2014

  • We the People: The last dance

    Charlie Hayden’s last recording session with his early partner, Keith Jarrett, was in 2007.  The songs they played were mostly melancholy.  The second album coming from that session includes Weil’s “My Ship” and Porter’s “Every Time We Say Goodbye.” The dark ballad “Goodbye,” by Gordon Jenkins, was the final track.

    July 22, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Living in a pressure cooker

    The Gaza Strip, a small Palestinian territory about the size of Washington, D.C., has been in the news almost every day.  Its key location at the eastern end of the Mediterranean Sea has attracted a number of occupying powers over the years, and it has  been at the center of much Middle East history.

    July 22, 2014

  • Tidbits: The excitement of election day

    On March 12, 1996, there were 427,183 votes cast in the presidential primary election. Among those votes was mine, the first vote I cast in an election, just two days after my 18th birthday.

    July 21, 2014

  • Raising the minimum wage

    My first job from which FICA was withheld was a minimum wage job, seventy-five cents an hour. And yes, even then no one could live on that little money. However, I was a high schooler living at home where my father provided room and board. The job gave me pocket money to buy gasoline, to take my girlfriend out for movies and burgers, and to buy tickets for baseball games.

    July 21, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Children on the move

    The news this past week has focused on the humanitarian crisis developing on our southern border. Thousands of unaccompanied children from El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras seeking to escape from the violence, human trafficking and extreme poverty in their countries have been entering the United States.

    July 15, 2014

  • We the People: Memo to gun rights groups

    The recent incident in California helps us understand why we cannot rely on mental health services alone to solve the problem of gun violence.

    July 15, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice
Graduation 2014