Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

July 16, 2013

Lion and the Lamb: Standing your ground

The National Rifle Association has lobbied hard to get states to adopt "Stand Your Ground" laws. This law originally stated that a person could use deadly force in self-defense in one's own home if there was a reasonable belief that one's life was in danger. Many states have extended the "ground" concept beyond the home to include responding to a deadly threat in any public location. This expansion fits in well with the NRA's Second Amendment emphasis and its desire to increase the number of armed citizens in our society.  

An example of this has been the focus of a trial in Sanford, Florida, this past week. On the Sunday evening of February 26, 2012, a 17-year-old African-American, Trayvon Martin, was walking back to his father's apartment in a gated community from a convenience store when he was followed and then stopped by a 28-year-old Hispanic, George Zimmerman, a Neighborhood Watch volunteer and wannabe police officer armed with a 9 mm handgun.

Zimmerman, just before his confrontation with Martin, was recorded in a cell phone call to 911 as making racial slurs, and then being advised to stop following Martin. Zimmerman, however, got out of his car and a struggle ensued which ended with Zimmerman shooting and killing Martin. He told police afterward that he believed his life to be in danger, and that he had shot Martin in self-defense. Zimmerman wasn't arrested until almost a month later.

A jury of five white women and one Hispanic woman this past week decided that Zimmerman justifiably used deadly force and reasonably believed that such force was necessary to prevent imminent death or great bodily harm to himself. He was released from custody and his gun returned to him.

In the days following the verdict, protests have taken place around the country about issues of racial animosity and profiling, the penalties for walking around in a black skin, civil rights, and questions concerning Stand Your Ground laws. It is interesting to consider what might have been an alternative scenario: If Trayvon Martin had been a year older in Florida, he could have carried a gun. Encountering a threatening George Zimmerman, he could have believed that his life was in great danger, and therefore could have shot and killed Zimmerman in self-defense. Is there any doubt that the NRA (or the Tea Party, for that matter) would have supported such an outcome?

The death of Trayvon Martin provides several important challenges to us. One is revealed in stark figures: 116,385 children and teens, including 44,038 who were black, have been killed by guns since 1979 (when gun data was first collected in our country). 5,740 children and teens were killed by guns in 2008 and 2009, greater than the number of U.S. military personnel killed in action in Iraq and Afghanistan (5,013). What can we do about gun violence, instead of the NRA's answer of more guns in people's hands?

A second challenge is lifted up in a longer segment by Henry Giroux, but one important enough to hear and ponder over: "When traces of the social contract and our responsibility to present and future generations were still alive in the United States (prior to the late 1970s), many Americans believed it took a social state and a strong community to raise a child. That is, they believed in social safety nets that offered social protections, decent health care, child care and important social rights that affirmed the centrality of, and shared experience of, the common good, if not democracy itself.

"What many Americans now accept is a mode of 'failed sociality' that has turned the principles of democracy against itself, deforming both the language of freedom and justice that made equality a viable idea and political goal. Community as a metaphor for the common good and social contract is dead in America. Community is now gated and policed, and responsibility is reduced to a private and privately contracted affair shaped by a set of values that breathe a kind of mad savagery into a new form of economic Darwinism. In this market-driven, hypermasculine and militarized society, shared modes of society that provide collective protections and expand the rights of the social contract are now viewed with disdain."  

How can we create a different kind of grounding for our communities so that "Standing Your Ground" can have a beneficial outcome for all people, young and old?

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lion and the Lamb: Our war on women

    Jimmy Carter, who was president from 1977 to 1981, has had quite an impressive career as an author. His first book was published in 1975, and he has now written a total of 37 books, 23 of them after his presidency. He has set a high example for other past presidents, especially those who would like to find ways of being as beneficial to their nation as possible in the days after their retirement.

    April 22, 2014

  • Tidbits: "Selfie" destruction

    Technology continues to profoundly impact our daily lives, from the Heartbleed Bug that put hundreds of thousands of websites at risk of compromising customer usernames and passwords, to the little light that tries to tell me I'm about to run out of gas. Technology also impacts our language, with new words being created to describe the latest gizmo, gadget or trend.

    April 21, 2014

  • Stumptalk: It depends on what you mean

    A writer’s headline asks, “Do we really believe in democracy?” To which I answer, “What do you mean by democracy?

    April 21, 2014

  • LION AND THE LAMB: Four ways to demonstrate opposition

    Marcus Borg and John Dominic Crossan mention in their book, “The Last Week,” that Roman-occupied Palestine during the first century was under the control of Pontius Pilate who lived in the coastal city of Caesarea. Each year at the beginning of the Passover observance when Jews celebrated their liberation from Egypt, Pilate feared that they might be getting ideas about revolting from Rome, so he would come with additional soldiers on horses to beef up the Roman garrison in Jerusalem. 

    April 15, 2014

  • WE THE PEOPLE: Is it (new) party time?

    The Democratic and Republican parties are toast, according to Joe Trippi. The Republican Party is coming apart at its Tea Party seam. Democratic candidates struggle to celebrate President Obama’s health care successes, while responding to criticism of his failed promises, e.g., government transparency.

    April 15, 2014

  • TIDBITS: I found it at the library

    I have such fond memories of going to my local library as a child, searching through shelf after shelf and finding a book that would make me a Little Princess in World War II England, or bring me along as Nancy Drew solved the Secret in the Old Attic.

    April 14, 2014

  • STUMPTALK: The reason words have meaning

    If words did not have accepted meanings we would not be able to communicate effectively and civilized society would not exist.

    April 14, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Do we really believe in democracy?

    The recent Supreme Court decision, McCutcheon v. Federal Election Commission, is in a long line of debates about power in a democracy. Should power be in the hands of all the citizens or should it be in hands of those who have greater wealth and social position?

    April 8, 2014

  • We the People: Public education or business opportunity?

    A month ago, we followed the money trail left by a ‘think tank’ to the major sources funding an attack on our traditional, locally controlled public schools. We saw that a handful of billionaires provide major support to many organizations lobbying for change.

    April 8, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Just another government lie?

    There is a vault located in Fort Knox, Kentucky. It was built in 1936 and encased in 16 cubic feet of granite and 4200 feet of cement. The door is made of 20-inch thick material that is immune to drills, torches and explosives.

    April 7, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice