Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

April 15, 2014

LION AND THE LAMB: Four ways to demonstrate opposition

CROSSVILLE — Marcus Borg and John Dominic Crossan mention in their book, “The Last Week,” that Roman-occupied Palestine during the first century was under the control of Pontius Pilate who lived in the coastal city of Caesarea. Each year at the beginning of the Passover observance when Jews celebrated their liberation from Egypt, Pilate feared that they might be getting ideas about revolting from Rome, so he would come with additional soldiers on horses to beef up the Roman garrison in Jerusalem. 

Borg and Crossan suggest that Pontius Pilate’s military procession entering Jerusalem from the West Gate was for the Jews a symbol of the domination system that they were living under—one of political oppression, economic exploitation, and religious legitimation. Jewish society had become one in which only a few who had become quite wealthy ruled, and where the political, economic, and social arrangements were given additional legitimacy by the Jerusalem Temple.

Borg and Crossan suggest that it was likely that the second procession led by Jesus on a donkey that entered through the East Gate and was welcomed by peasants and the marginalized and common folk, took place on the same day. This dramatic example of street theater carried with it a strong critique of the Roman procession and all it symbolized.

A second event then took place the next day that revealed Jesus’ even stronger opposition to the Roman domination system: a demonstration in the Temple courtyard when he took direct action and overturned the tables of the moneychangers. These financial officials had been helpful, especially for foreign Jews who had come to make a sacrifice at the Temple and had to buy lambs, goats, or pigeons in the local tender. More fundamentally, however, this response had to do with the corruption of the Temple and its priests who were collaborating with Rome and its domination system. Jesus was above all concerned for the renewal of Judaism, focusing on shalom and wholeness, true devotion to God, justice for the poor and stranger, and hospitality to all.

Two other examples of ways that have been used to demonstrate opposition come out of more recent tImes. On July 28, 2012 three peace activists—Greg Boerje-Obed, Sister Megan Rice, and Michael Walli—broke into the Y-12 Nuclear Weapons Complex in Oak Ridge that makes thermonuclear cores for W76 warheads. As an act of nonviolent direct action, they painted peace slogans and poured blood on the side of a warehouse that stores hundreds of tons of weapons-grade highly enriched uranium before being detected and caught. Although they claimed that their act was symbolic in order to raise global awareness on behalf of the cause of nuclear disarmament, two charges were brought against them: vandalism and sabotage. On February 18, 2014 the Roman Catholic nun received a sentence of 35 months in prison, and the two men, because of previous involvement in direct action, sentences of 62 months.

Ralph Hutchison, coordinator of the Oak Ridge Peace Alliance, commented, “Nonviolent direct action is required of us because our government responds to nothing less. It is required of us because of the planet and the future. It is required of some because they feel a divine imperative; the God they follow requires them to beat swords into plowshares and blesses peacemakers. It doesn’t seek an end itself—it seeks to open a conversation, to encourage jurists, prosecutors, defense attorneys, the public, to search themselves to see what they can do and what they should do.”

A fourth example of direct action has been provided by the Moral Monday Movement in North Carolina. Since we wrote about them in an earlier column (February 19), we won’t take much space here except to mention that it is a movement with a “fusion agenda” that is bringing together a wide variety of people and groups concerned about democratic rights, economic justice, and the “soul and future of the state.” This movement is now spreading to other states and is helping individuals and groups to be more effective in demonstrating opposition and bringing about positive change.

A sad example of an individual taking taking violent direct action from a motivation of hatred took place this past Sunday (April 13, a day before the beginning of Passover) in Overland Park, Missouri, a suburb of Kansas City. Frazier Glenn Miller, a 73-year-old former Ku Klux Klan leader with a history of anti-Semitism and racism, shot and killed a doctor and his 14-year-old grandson in the parking lot of the Jewish Community Center of Greater Kansas (both turned out to be Methodists) and a woman in the parking lot at Village Shalom, a nearby senior living community. The retirement community, with a cafe of kosher food, a dental clinic, a day spa, and a library had been established in 1912 by a benevolent society of Orthodox Jews in Kansas City. It’s ironic that the word “shalom” in Hebrew means “peace” and “wholeness.”

It would be great if we could now start working on some life-affirming ways of dealing with the less beneficial forces of opposition in our nation, including those that have been paralyzing our Congress.

• • •

This column by local writers is dedicated to the theme that the lion and the lamb can and must learn to live together and grow in their relationship toward one another to ensure a better world of peace and justice.  Opinions expressed in “Lion and Lamb” columns are not necessarily those of the Crossville Chronicle publisher, editor or staff.  For more information, contact Ted Braun, column coordinator, at 277-5135.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lion and the Lamb: A promised land?

    Back in biblical times there was a group of people who believed that God had promised them a segment of land on this planet that would be theirs forever. Who could have known back then that this ancient promise and territorial justification would be used by their descendants today to claim the same segment of land?

    July 29, 2014

  • We the People: Bring back the American dream

    Our economy continues to expand. The stock market is at record levels, yet many ask why so many of us are struggling?  Barely half of us believe the American dream is attainable.

    July 29, 2014

  • Tidbits: Taking a low-tech break

    Feeling increasingly strangled by my electronic leash, with phone, text messages, email, social media and a variety of other forms of communication always at my side, I took the weekend off.

    July 28, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Governing before and after mass corruption

    Laws in America were originally written simply. Every citizen could read them quickly and understand their meaning. The founders wrote the Declaration of Independence, the Articles of Confederation, the Northwest Ordinance and the Constitution of the United States, none of which was longer than 4,500 words.

    July 28, 2014

  • We the People: The last dance

    Charlie Hayden’s last recording session with his early partner, Keith Jarrett, was in 2007.  The songs they played were mostly melancholy.  The second album coming from that session includes Weil’s “My Ship” and Porter’s “Every Time We Say Goodbye.” The dark ballad “Goodbye,” by Gordon Jenkins, was the final track.

    July 22, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Living in a pressure cooker

    The Gaza Strip, a small Palestinian territory about the size of Washington, D.C., has been in the news almost every day.  Its key location at the eastern end of the Mediterranean Sea has attracted a number of occupying powers over the years, and it has  been at the center of much Middle East history.

    July 22, 2014

  • Tidbits: The excitement of election day

    On March 12, 1996, there were 427,183 votes cast in the presidential primary election. Among those votes was mine, the first vote I cast in an election, just two days after my 18th birthday.

    July 21, 2014

  • Raising the minimum wage

    My first job from which FICA was withheld was a minimum wage job, seventy-five cents an hour. And yes, even then no one could live on that little money. However, I was a high schooler living at home where my father provided room and board. The job gave me pocket money to buy gasoline, to take my girlfriend out for movies and burgers, and to buy tickets for baseball games.

    July 21, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Children on the move

    The news this past week has focused on the humanitarian crisis developing on our southern border. Thousands of unaccompanied children from El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras seeking to escape from the violence, human trafficking and extreme poverty in their countries have been entering the United States.

    July 15, 2014

  • We the People: Memo to gun rights groups

    The recent incident in California helps us understand why we cannot rely on mental health services alone to solve the problem of gun violence.

    July 15, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice
Graduation 2014