Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

September 16, 2013

STUMPTALK: The rich get richer yet again

CROSSVILLE — Congress and the Obama administration are at it again. It is just one fraudulent activity after another with government. Just as they attempted to sneak through a bill to allow congressional members and their staffs to opt out of the vaulted ObamaCare in secret meetings, so too are they endeavoring to sneak through a welfare farming bill that will reward their mega-farmer campaign contributors while we voters are watching the scandals besetting the socialist Obama regime. It is the old Monty game; watch the pea under the shell! The federal government plays the game well.

Our farm policies are locked into the Depression past, but incomes are at record highs. After all, it is only taxpayer money government is spending. Most consumers think $20 billion in subsidies is not out of line, but watch the pea. Subsidies raise prices in the supermarket by design and 80% of government spending over the next ten years will go to Food Stamps. That’s about $80 billion per year. The result is, much as it was in communist USSR, government gives taxpayer paid subsidies to farmers to raise taxpayer food prices and then raise taxes so those on Food Stamps can afford the government caused higher prices. What can go wrong here? Isn’t this the vaunted Obama “fairness” we hear so much about, the rich paying their “fair share”?

The farming subsides of today do not aid the farmer in Big Lick or Pomona. No, the subsidies of today are design to reward mega-farmers for their campaign contributions of both the past and the future. According to the USDA, the top farm incomes over the passed thirty years have all come since 2004. The average commercial farm operator netted, not grossed, an average household income of $205, 215 in 2011 and had a household net worth of about $2 million. This means that instead of helping the stressed family farmer, the farm budget further rewards the large corporate farmers. Since 1995 10% of the largest and wealthiest farms have been paid 74% of all farm subsidies according to the Environmental Working Group. If you recall, the 1996 Freedom to Farm Act was supposed to wean farmers off subsidies and was hailed as the new free market farm system. Ask a local farmer if he or she earns $200k after taxes and expenses are paid! Well, to quote a famous American, “How’s that working far ya?”

• • •

Stumptalk is published weekly in the Crossville Chronicle. The opinions expressed in this column are not necessarily those of the Chronicle publisher, editor or staff. To contact Stumptalk, email coordinator Jim Sykes at sykes113@frontiernet.net.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • We the People: The last dance

    Charlie Hayden’s last recording session with his early partner, Keith Jarrett, was in 2007.  The songs they played were mostly melancholy.  The second album coming from that session includes Weil’s “My Ship” and Porter’s “Every Time We Say Goodbye.” The dark ballad “Goodbye,” by Gordon Jenkins, was the final track.

    July 22, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Living in a pressure cooker

    The Gaza Strip, a small Palestinian territory about the size of Washington, D.C., has been in the news almost every day.  Its key location at the eastern end of the Mediterranean Sea has attracted a number of occupying powers over the years, and it has  been at the center of much Middle East history.

    July 22, 2014

  • Tidbits: The excitement of election day

    On March 12, 1996, there were 427,183 votes cast in the presidential primary election. Among those votes was mine, the first vote I cast in an election, just two days after my 18th birthday.

    July 21, 2014

  • Raising the minimum wage

    My first job from which FICA was withheld was a minimum wage job, seventy-five cents an hour. And yes, even then no one could live on that little money. However, I was a high schooler living at home where my father provided room and board. The job gave me pocket money to buy gasoline, to take my girlfriend out for movies and burgers, and to buy tickets for baseball games.

    July 21, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Children on the move

    The news this past week has focused on the humanitarian crisis developing on our southern border. Thousands of unaccompanied children from El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras seeking to escape from the violence, human trafficking and extreme poverty in their countries have been entering the United States.

    July 15, 2014

  • We the People: Memo to gun rights groups

    The recent incident in California helps us understand why we cannot rely on mental health services alone to solve the problem of gun violence.

    July 15, 2014

  • Tidbits: Make the best of your road trip

    I didn’t care for road trips when I was young. It was so confining to have to sit in the back seat, staring out the window for hour after hour, hayfield after hayfield. And when you’re a kid, time doesn’t pass like it does when you get a little older. Just the trip from Jamestown, TN, to Crossville, roughly 30 miles, felt like an eternity!

    July 14, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Biased climate agenda will cost trillions

    For anyone who has been educated in the history of science and scientific method, this whole issue of “Global Warming” or “Climate Change” is an embarrassing and painful exercise.

    July 14, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Time for an oil change

    The land of Iraq, earlier known as Mesopotamia, has a long history going back to Neanderthal times some 60,000 years ago. Later, around 10,000 years ago, it became the site for some of the most important developments in human history: the invention of the wheel, planting of cereal crops, the development of cursive script, mathematics, astronomy and agriculture. Today it is recognized as one of the cradles of civilization.

    July 8, 2014

  • We the People: American women, be informed and vote

    Voting for today’s Republican Party and its Tea Party members, means you are voting against more than most realize.  This is especially true for women.

    July 8, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice
Graduation 2014