Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

January 7, 2013

Stumptalk: We’ll fix it so it never happens again

CROSSVILLE — Whatever the mishap — the Space Shuttle accidents, the September 11 attack, the underwear and Times Square bomb scare, the East-Coast energy blackout, the economic meltdown — the government priesthood was quick on the scene to begin reciting the articles of faith of collective authority.

First came the now familiar mantra that accompanies every plane crash, NASA disaster, or train wreck: “We will find out what went wrong and fix it so it never happens again.”

The duplicity goes on and on: When terrorists kill U.S. diplomatic personnel in Libya, the Capitol gang assures us, “We’ll find out how they breached our security and fix it so it never happens again.” (Still, four months later, and nothing.) And when America slips over a Fiscal Cliff, the Washington Calvary, e.g. the gang that can’t shoot straight, is on hand to fix it so it never happens again. Then a crazy kid shoots up a classroom killing many and, predictably, the authorities assert, “We’ll find what went wrong and make sure it can’t happen again” and, just as predictably, they “know” the cause was "too many guns.”

Let me suggest he was just plain nuts and he could just well have used a hatchet, like the one which little George chopped down the cherry tree, creating the same amount of gore and human misery.

Of course, there will be future plane crashes and power failures, future opportunities for the technocrats to again recite this catechism. Despite dozens of committee hearings, the exercise of “finding out what happened and fixing it so will never happen again” is a futile one at best. There will always be another tomorrow with another hidden workforce of pixies and other mischief-makers and the meddling of government prepared to upset the best-engineered plans. As long as we are mired in the collective mindset of centralized authority, insisting that only government can save us, we shall doubtless continue our vicious circle of reacting to one disaster after another while deluding ourselves that “we will find out what went wrong and fix it so it doesn’t happen again.”

At the end of a thorough and truthful analysis of any of these mishaps, the politicians won’t be pleased by what they find. It’s not “capitalism.” It’s not “greed.” It’s not “deregulation.” Nor is it any of the other popular culprits. It’s an institution of interventionism created by government itself.

• • •

Stumptalk is published weekly in the Crossville Chronicle. The opinions expressed in this column are not necessarily those of the Chronicle publisher, editor or staff. To contact Stumptalk, email coordinator Phil Billington at stumptalk@charter.net.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • We the People: The last dance

    Charlie Hayden’s last recording session with his early partner, Keith Jarrett, was in 2007.  The songs they played were mostly melancholy.  The second album coming from that session includes Weil’s “My Ship” and Porter’s “Every Time We Say Goodbye.” The dark ballad “Goodbye,” by Gordon Jenkins, was the final track.

    July 22, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Living in a pressure cooker

    The Gaza Strip, a small Palestinian territory about the size of Washington, D.C., has been in the news almost every day.  Its key location at the eastern end of the Mediterranean Sea has attracted a number of occupying powers over the years, and it has  been at the center of much Middle East history.

    July 22, 2014

  • Tidbits: The excitement of election day

    On March 12, 1996, there were 427,183 votes cast in the presidential primary election. Among those votes was mine, the first vote I cast in an election, just two days after my 18th birthday.

    July 21, 2014

  • Raising the minimum wage

    My first job from which FICA was withheld was a minimum wage job, seventy-five cents an hour. And yes, even then no one could live on that little money. However, I was a high schooler living at home where my father provided room and board. The job gave me pocket money to buy gasoline, to take my girlfriend out for movies and burgers, and to buy tickets for baseball games.

    July 21, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Children on the move

    The news this past week has focused on the humanitarian crisis developing on our southern border. Thousands of unaccompanied children from El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras seeking to escape from the violence, human trafficking and extreme poverty in their countries have been entering the United States.

    July 15, 2014

  • We the People: Memo to gun rights groups

    The recent incident in California helps us understand why we cannot rely on mental health services alone to solve the problem of gun violence.

    July 15, 2014

  • Tidbits: Make the best of your road trip

    I didn’t care for road trips when I was young. It was so confining to have to sit in the back seat, staring out the window for hour after hour, hayfield after hayfield. And when you’re a kid, time doesn’t pass like it does when you get a little older. Just the trip from Jamestown, TN, to Crossville, roughly 30 miles, felt like an eternity!

    July 14, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Biased climate agenda will cost trillions

    For anyone who has been educated in the history of science and scientific method, this whole issue of “Global Warming” or “Climate Change” is an embarrassing and painful exercise.

    July 14, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Time for an oil change

    The land of Iraq, earlier known as Mesopotamia, has a long history going back to Neanderthal times some 60,000 years ago. Later, around 10,000 years ago, it became the site for some of the most important developments in human history: the invention of the wheel, planting of cereal crops, the development of cursive script, mathematics, astronomy and agriculture. Today it is recognized as one of the cradles of civilization.

    July 8, 2014

  • We the People: American women, be informed and vote

    Voting for today’s Republican Party and its Tea Party members, means you are voting against more than most realize.  This is especially true for women.

    July 8, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice
Graduation 2014