Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

Opinion

October 9, 2012

Lion and the Lamb: Music in the middle of rubble

CROSSVILLE — We live in a difficult, destructive, discouraging time. We have enough "natural" problems with forest fires and tornadoes without having to endure the horrible senseless numbers of deaths by bullets and bombs.

Amidst our agony are there any examples of hope?  I have one for your reflection.

It is hard to imagine a bleaker place than Bosnia in 1992. Ethnic tensions, centuries old, had flared again.  Protestant Serbs, Orthodox Croats, and Sunni Muslims battled for political control. Detention camps specializing in torture arose everywhere as each group tried to contain the others. Neighborhoods that had been integrated for years became ground zero for ethnic cleansing. A history of bitterness long thought gone raged again. It was a bloody, seemingly hopeless, time.  

Vedran Smailovic was a Bosinian born in 1956 in Sarajevo. He became a professional cellist who played in the Sarajevo Opera Theater. Describing 1992 and that period of war, Smailovic said Sarajevo was "the capital of hell." The Opera Theater was in ruins. The economy was in shambles. The prospect of ever reuniting the country dwindled day by day.

Then, at four in the afternoon on May 22, 1992, a long line of starving people were shelled as they waited in front of the only bakery left in Sarajevo. Twenty-two people died.

The next day, as more hungry people lined up again to beg for bread, Vedran Smailovic, dressed in the black suit and tie in which he had played every night until the Opera Theater was incinerated, arrived carrying his cello and a chair.

Smailovic sat down in the middle of the rubble and, surrounded by the debris of war, the stench of death and the despair of those still living, he began to play Albinoni's "Adagio." And, no matter rhe continuing danger, he came back to the same place for 21 days after that to do the same thing, to honor each life that had been lost in the bakery line.

Today there is, in the spot where Smailiovic sat, a monunument of a man in a chair playing a cello.  The monument is to his refusal to surrender to evil.  It is to the hope that  beauty and joy can rise up and be reborn in the midst of a living hell.  It is about being open to the God of surprising newness.  It is about living the resurrection in our time.

• • •

This column is sponsored by Cumberland Countians for Peace and Justice and dedicated by the local writers to the theme that the lion and the lamb can and must learn to live together and grow in their relationship toward one another to ensure a better world. Opinions expressed in “Lion and the Lamb” columns are not necessarily those of the Crossville Chronicle publisher, editor or staff. For more information, contact Ted Braun, editor, at 277-5135.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lion and the Lamb: A promised land?

    Back in biblical times there was a group of people who believed that God had promised them a segment of land on this planet that would be theirs forever. Who could have known back then that this ancient promise and territorial justification would be used by their descendants today to claim the same segment of land?

    July 29, 2014

  • We the People: Bring back the American dream

    Our economy continues to expand. The stock market is at record levels, yet many ask why so many of us are struggling?  Barely half of us believe the American dream is attainable.

    July 29, 2014

  • Tidbits: Taking a low-tech break

    Feeling increasingly strangled by my electronic leash, with phone, text messages, email, social media and a variety of other forms of communication always at my side, I took the weekend off.

    July 28, 2014

  • Stumptalk: Governing before and after mass corruption

    Laws in America were originally written simply. Every citizen could read them quickly and understand their meaning. The founders wrote the Declaration of Independence, the Articles of Confederation, the Northwest Ordinance and the Constitution of the United States, none of which was longer than 4,500 words.

    July 28, 2014

  • We the People: The last dance

    Charlie Hayden’s last recording session with his early partner, Keith Jarrett, was in 2007.  The songs they played were mostly melancholy.  The second album coming from that session includes Weil’s “My Ship” and Porter’s “Every Time We Say Goodbye.” The dark ballad “Goodbye,” by Gordon Jenkins, was the final track.

    July 22, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Living in a pressure cooker

    The Gaza Strip, a small Palestinian territory about the size of Washington, D.C., has been in the news almost every day.  Its key location at the eastern end of the Mediterranean Sea has attracted a number of occupying powers over the years, and it has  been at the center of much Middle East history.

    July 22, 2014

  • Tidbits: The excitement of election day

    On March 12, 1996, there were 427,183 votes cast in the presidential primary election. Among those votes was mine, the first vote I cast in an election, just two days after my 18th birthday.

    July 21, 2014

  • Raising the minimum wage

    My first job from which FICA was withheld was a minimum wage job, seventy-five cents an hour. And yes, even then no one could live on that little money. However, I was a high schooler living at home where my father provided room and board. The job gave me pocket money to buy gasoline, to take my girlfriend out for movies and burgers, and to buy tickets for baseball games.

    July 21, 2014

  • Lion and the Lamb: Children on the move

    The news this past week has focused on the humanitarian crisis developing on our southern border. Thousands of unaccompanied children from El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras seeking to escape from the violence, human trafficking and extreme poverty in their countries have been entering the United States.

    July 15, 2014

  • We the People: Memo to gun rights groups

    The recent incident in California helps us understand why we cannot rely on mental health services alone to solve the problem of gun violence.

    July 15, 2014

Marketplace Marquee
Parade
Must Read
Section Teases
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar
2014 Readers' Choice
Graduation 2014