Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

December 4, 2012

CCHS volleyball team rewarded for having an ‘awesome season’

By Ed Greif
Sports editor

CROSSVILLE — The Cumberland County High School Lady Jet volleyball team received letter and special awards during their annual awards luncheon Sunday afternoon at the Cumberland County Complex.

"Thanks to everyone for being here. I want to thank the administration for allowing me to be here," said Coach Donald Smith. "We accomplished a lot this season and we had more wins this year than in the eight previous years. We have a lot to be thankful for."

Before the coaches presented awards to the players, each team member received a special gift from the booster club.

"We had an awesome season. We did a lot of new things and got a lot of things done," said Assistant Coach Roger Dixon, whose junior varsity team finished unbeaten this season. "This shows the future is bright. I am excited about these players."

The underclassmen presented senior Haley Slabough a scrapbook giving highlights from this season.

Managers Jessica Sexton, Kristi Carter and Becky Carter were presented awards.

"They're unsung heroes," said Sherry Smith, who also thanked Lonnie Kilby and the National Guard for prividing team pictures to the team members.

Shelby Kilby and Cheyanne Frazee were named to the All-District freshmen team, while Christine Jones was second team All-District and Halie Slabough was first team All-District.

Smith pointed out CCHS will be in a new District 6AAA. Coffee County is out, with Stone Memorial and Rhea County joining the league, beginning with the 2013-'14 school year.

Receiving letters and bars were Cheyanne Frazee, Amber Johnson, Haley Spriggs, Kansas Stamper, Kayla Stamper, Christine Jones, Tessa Dixon, Victoria Lee, Sara Shinn, Halie Slabough, Shelby Smith and Amanda Ford.

Receiving special awards for the junior varsity team were Kansas Stamper and Haley Spriggs, Most Improved; Tessa Dixon, Defensive Player of the Year; Sara Shinn, Offensive Player of the Year; and Kayla Stamper, MVP.

Varsity award winners were Victoria Lee, Most Improved Player; Amber Johnson, Defensive Player of the Year; Halie Slabough, Offensive Player of the Year; Christine Jones, MVP; and Tessa Dixon, Attendance Award for not missing a day from open jump through the entire season.

Angela Shinn received the Donna Jones Volunteer Award.