Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

May 9, 2013

Entries come to a close for state senior men’s open

By Ed Greif
Sports editor

CROSSVILLE — Defending co-champions professional Harry Taylor and amateur Danny Green are going to have stiff competition when the TPGA's Tennessee Senior Men's State Open is played May 13-14 at Fairfield Glade's Stonehenge Golf Club, as entries closed Wednesday afternoon.

For the fourth consecutive year, the city of Crossville will be the title sponsor of  the tournament. Mayor J.H. Graham III, the City Council and Billy Loggins, all have been gracious, supporting sponsors for the entirety of the Senior State Open and their partnership has once again laid the foundation for another successful championship i 2013, according to the TPGA.

As of Wednesday, Taylor and Danny Green are among the 141 senior pros and amateurs who be teeing it in the tournament hosted by the city of Crossville. Green and Taylor tied for the 2012 championship with four-under-par 68s, and were declared co-champions after wet, rainy conditions cancelled the final round of the third tournament at Stonehenge.

Thunderstorms suspended play on the first day of the tournament, forcing 24 of the 101 participants to return early on the second to complete the first round. Stonehenge received three inches of rain in 24 hours, forcing last year's tournament to be canceled.

The tournament, which is open to all professionals and amateurs with a 10 handicap or better who live in Tennessee, must be 50 years old by May 13.

There is one change from last year — two divisions — one for regular seniors (50-64) and super seniors (65 and older). The super seniors will play from a shorter tee and will be competing for a separate purse.

Senior professionals already registered are Sam Adams, Steve Bolin, Bobby Bray, Bill Breen, Danny Briggs, Walt Chapman, Bob Cox, Ron Cox, Ken Crowder, Jeff Curtis, Hunt Gilliland, George Hall, Buddy Harston, Randy Helton, Bill Hickey, Joey Hickman, Jimbo Hicks, Mark Houser, Audie Johnson, Tom Kammann, Rob Long, Des Mahoney, Gregory Milan, Steve Munson, Pat Nanney, George Newbeck, Jack Oliver, James Paschal, Hank Patton, Richard Rebne, Richard Smith, Brad Snider, Richard Spraker, Taylor, Mike Whitehead, Bob Wolcott and John Wylie.

Local amateurs Tony Cox, Steve Kehrer, John Partain and Eddie Wyatt join the remaining amateur contingent of Jeffery Allen, Eddie Bailey, John Bailey, Tom Baird, Joe Bednarz, John Boswell, Donnie Bowlin, Tommy Bradley, Jim Brown, Randy Bury, James Carroll, Bob Clark, Rick Crawforrd, Wayne Crook, Larry Denny, Tim Dinwiddie, Jerry Drewry, Mike Dye, Buzz Fly, Winston Frazier, Mike Fuller, Mike Freels, Lynman Fulton, Jeff Golliher, Steve Golliher, Danny Green, Tony Green, Greg Guinn,  Ken Hardin, Rick Harrell, Doug Harris, Eddie Hayes, Michael Healy, Tim Herd, Jeff Heston, Harry Hill, Jay Hoover, Michael Jenkins, Jesse L. Jones, Larry Kain, Richard Kammann, Ron Kilgore, Paul Korth, Joel Lavalley, Ronnie Law, Terry Levix, George Lloyd, Gene Lomax, Ben Long, Jerre Maynor, Fred McCord, Craig McElhaney, Jim McKee, William Meadows, Dan Midgett, Mike Mixon, Todd Moreland, David Moss,  Phillip Mullins Sr., Thomas Nichting, Mike Nixon, Bobby Perkinson, Mike Phipps, Gary Pierce, Gary Pinsly, Mike Poe, Steve Prosch, Thom Provow, Bob Rice, Ronnie Rochelle, Bryan Rodgers, Don Rose, Pat Ryan, Doug Ryerson, David Salyers, Rock Saraceni, Tom Schreiner,  Rex Scarborough, Dan Schorsten, Tom Schreiner, Rick Shoulders, Gary Siddens, Gary Simpson, Lenny Sissellman, Michael Smith, Scott Smith,  Randy Songstad, Harry Tarpley, John Thomas, David VanMeter, Dennis Vaughn, Jeff Vick, Guillermo Viva, John Wagoner, Bob Waldschmidt, David Walker, Ron Waters,  Blake Watt, Jim Webb, Pat White, Steve Williams, Larry Wilmore and Randy Yoder.