Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

July 16, 2013

Denton team wins Majors Invitational


— Thirty-three teams (132 players) turned out Sunday afternoon for the annual Johnny Majors Invitational Golf Tournament at the Lake Tansi Golf Course. Former players and coaches joined other supporters of the former Tennessee, Pittsburgh and Iowa State coach for a fund-raiser for a former Vol Mike Cofer.

Majors hit a tee shot and putted for each of the teams on the par 3, sixth hole.

The teams were divided into three flights based on handicap for the 18-hole, four-person scramble.

Bobby Denton, Chuck Grouse, Mickey Dearstone (voice of the Lady Vols) and Kirk Daniel won the first flight with a 19-under-par 53, one stroke better than Scott Headrick, Jordan Damron, Ryan Click and Brad McConnell.

Derrick Brooks, Jason Green, David Kerry and Tom Solberg won third place with a 56.

John Garrison, Jim Gillespie, Frank Elrod and Mike Russell won the second flight with a 13-under-par 59, two shots better than Jim Cone, Lou Heller, Alan Betz and Bob Parkes.

Bob Martin, Bob Roseberry, Mike Malarky and Steve Brady won third place in a scorecard playoff over Roger Thackson, Randy Bond, Mike Dalton and Tommy Hale. Both teams finished with 62s.

Bob Cross, John Ownings, Richard Moras and John Williams won a scorecard playoff over Dick Duncan, David Stone, Larry Smith and Chris Herron to win the third flight. Both teams finished at 11-under-par 61.

Bill Lanter, Bill Maddux, Gene Pharr and Mike Brantley shot a 10-under-par 62 for third place.

First flight (5-10)

53: Bobby Denton, Chuck Grouse, Mickey Dearstone, Kirk Daniel (5)

54: Scott Headrick, Jordan Damron, Ryan Click, Brad McConnell (3)

56: Derrick Brooks, Jason Green, David Kerr, Tom Solberg (0)

58: Jack Shofner,  C. Thornacbien, Chat Hatifield, Ron Byers (5)

58: Bill Powell, C. Greenblatt, Dale Wheeler, Mike Mountain (4)

59: Terry Henry, John C. Cook, John McKenry, John Cook (1)

60: Bill Majors, Harrison Boyb, White Shofner, Chris Bishop (4)

63: Dan Brown, Scott Brown, Robert Echols, Bob Majors (3)

67: Fuad Reveiz, Jeff West, Lynn Johnson, Steven Guinn (5)

69: Kenny Brown, Steve Sudberry, Lavoiser Fisher, Anthony Hancok (0)

Second flight (11-12)

59: John Garrison, Jim  Gillespie, Frank Elrod, Mike Russell (0)

61: Jim Cone, Lou Heller, Alan Betz, Bob Parkes (1)

62: Bob Martin, Bob Roseberry,  Mike Malarkey, Steve Brady (0)•

62: Roger Thackston, Randy Bond, Mike Dalton, Tommy Hale (0),

63: Rob Seahorn,  Adam Levko, Chris Robinson, James Everts (1)

64: Lew Belote, David Woodall, Danny Burnly, Bill Whitesell (1)

65: Tom Mink, Kenny Beavers, Bradley Beavers, Mike Smith (0)

66: Bob Simmons, Frank Livesay, John Miller, Rex Raines (1)

67: Tom Looney, General Edwards, Tom K. Looney, Scott Looney (0)

67: Bill Rudder, Chad Staples, Steve Cone, Danny Wendell (0)

71: Jamie, Dimitri, George Demitri, Dimitri, Terry Brown (0)

•Won third on a scorecard playoff.

Third flight (13 and over)

61: Bob Cross, John Owings, Richard Moras, Julian Mays (0)••

61: Dick Duncan, David Stone, Larry Smithy, Chris Herron (1)

62: Bill Lanter, Bill Maddux, Gene Pharr, Mike Brantley (2)

63: Brad Hayes, Larry Rosebarry, Jeff Klein, Shazzon Bradley (5)

65: Greg Knott, Brian Knott, Jim Knott, Ken Knott (5)

66: Buddy Pack, Bobby Sandlin, Mike Stratton, Glenn Glass (1)

67: Brandon Harrill, Brad Dillon, B. Steverson, Matt Heistand (3)

67: Paul Woody, Dusty Norrod, Drew Dickey, Jeff Haney (3)

68: Ron Cox, Rick Balboa, Judy May, Jon Lawry (4)

68: Brian Kirk, John Kirk, Robert Martin, Roy Vick (1)

70: Steve Kroeger, Ben Kroeger, Stockton Kroeger, Colton Hill (3)

71: Scott Cone, Chris Stump, Chris Cone, Julian Mayes (0)

(The handicap breakdown for each flight and the individual team handicaps are in parenthesis.)