Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

July 30, 2013

Sittons, Solberg and Stewart go 18 under par to capture Salvation Army win

By Ed Greif
Sports editor

CROSSVILLE — Jason Sitton, Sonya Sitton, Tom Solberg and Logan Stewart fired an 18-under-par 54 to win the sixth annual Mike Steinmann Salvation Army  Golf Tournament Saturday afternoon at the Lake Tansi Golf Course.

The foursome defeated Eric Burton, Woody Mineear, Brent Johnson and Scott Hickey by one stroke to claim the first flight

It took a scorecard playoff to determine the second flight, as Harry Preston, Gene Ballew, Kermit Hurley and Fred Roehlig tied Chuck Nicholls, Jim Ratliff, Gary Norris and Colonel Hall tied with five-under-par 57s, with Preston's winning flight.

First flight

54: Jason Sitton, Sonya Sitton, Tom Solberg, Logan Stewart

55: Eric Burton, Woody Mineear, Brent Johnson, Scott Hickey

59: Paul Dixon, Ken Deadmon, Larry Robertson, Garry Barrett

63: Ed Yoder, Jim Cannon, Bill Sutton, Dave Sutton

63: Owen Ray, Bill Barnett, Ralph Mathis, Jerry Moretz

63: Jerry Davenport, Shelia Davenport, Larry Ward, Kay Ward

63: Daniel Hawkins, Wes Shanks, Darren Gregory, Brady Adams

64: Gary Lively, Chuck Dale, Tim Jones, Shane Keyes

65: Les Elam, Sam Fleming, Jon Stewart, Tom Greer

65:Jim Goins, Rick Dockham, Glee Beatty, Joe Bell

Second flight

67: Harry Preston, Gene Ballew, Kermit Hurley, Fred Roehlig

67: Chuck Nicolls, Jim Ratliff, Gary Norris, Colonel Hall

68: Simone Hedberg, Sandy Hedberg, Andy Hedberg, Shelia Crosby

68: Tom Houston, Jerry Burkhart, James Goodwin, Tony Temple

69: Bud Heuser, Rick Heuser, Harry McCulley, Dave Lucas

69: Peter Koletar, Judy Koletar, Randy Barnwell, Judy Barnwell

69: Tom Upshaw, Ron Bytsol, Bill Snell, Jerry Mayor

70: Keith Burgess, John Collins, Eddie Eller, David Rinks

72: Tom Skender, Bob Murray, Roger Coulter, Don Russ

73: Ray Dalrymple, Raymond Dalrymple, Jim Rodham, Vivian Rodham

77: Marvin Orewiler, Norn Fischer, Bill Erkkila, Amond Wadell

Closest to the pin winners were Tom Soldberg, No. 3; Eric Burton, No. 6; Jason Sitton, No. 12; and Gary Barrett, No.15.

Longest drive winners on No. 16 were Sonya Sitton and Jerry Moretz.

Door prizes were given away after the awards were passed out.