Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

November 18, 2013

Cross country teams learn a lot

By Ed Greif
Sports editor

CROSSVILLE — The Cumberland County High School cross country teams received special awards and letters at their annual banquet Thursday night at First National Bank.

" I want to thank Coach Rachel Shoemaker for letting me help. They learned a lot. The girls timed the boys...the boys timed the girls," said Louie DeLorenzo.

He also praised senior Carolyn Cravens for her leadership this season, which earned her the Leadership Award.

"She did what she exactly had to do this season. I hope you will further your career," he said.

"There were no questions Caroline was a leader for the team. She led on the bus and was a valuable asset to the team," said Shoemaker, who also presented the Leadership Award to Bradly Mathis for his leadership on and off the course.

Cravens was also presented a special gift as being the team's only senior this season, after helping the team finish 24th in the state cross country earlier this month.

Letter awards went to Selinda Bryant (three years), Caroline Cravens (four years), Taylor Hammons (three years), Chelsey Roysdon, Lindsey Roysdon (two years), Kassidy Sommer and Madaline Toy.

Participation awards went to Jennifer Hedgecoth and Alison Sherer.

Jet runners receiving letter awards were Brady Adams, Tyler Boniol, Kevin Buffkin (three years), Kyle Lockwood (two years), Bradley Mathis (three years), Nathan Philiips (two years), Benjamin Tabor and Ryan Tabor (two years).

"Thank your for being an awesome group," added Shoemarker.

Seven of the runners earned All-Region honors for finishing in the top 15 this season.

Receiving certificates were Kassidy Sommer, Chelsey Roysdon, Caroline Cravens, Ben Tabor, Bradley Mathis and Nathan Phillips.

Chelsey Roysdon and Ben Tabor won Rookie Awards "for stepping up to the plate. They really gave it all," according to Shoemaker.

The Most Improved Award went to Taylor Hammons and Nathan Phillips.

"This was the easiest and hardest to figure. They were most improved from the beginning to the end of the year," said Shoemaker.

The Fleet Feet Award for the fastest times went to Kassidy Sommer and Ben Tabor.

Most Valuable Awards were awarded to Selenda Bryant and Nathan Phillips.