Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

November 9, 2012

Kerley, Souza elected to Crossville City Council

67 percent of registered voters go to polls

By Heather Mullinix
Assistant editor

CROSSVILLE — Jesse Luke Kerley and Pete Souza were elected to serve four-year terms on the Crossville City Council.

Kerley and Souza will join councilmen Danny Wyatt and George Marlow and Crossville Mayor J.H. Graham III. They will be sworn in Nov. 19 at 5:15 p.m. in the new Crossville City Hall, 392 N. Main St. Refreshments will be offered prior to the swearing in beginning at 4:30 p.m.

In national races, President Barack Obama lost Tennessee to challenger Mitt Romney but garnered the needed electoral college votes for a second term. Obama also took 50 percent of the popular vote to Romney's 48 percent.

Sen. Bob Corker returns to the U.S. Senate for another term, and Congressman Diane Black, 6th Congressional District, was also elected. Cumberland County is now part of the 6th District following congressional redistricting last year.

State Rep. Cameron Sexton will serve another term in the General Assembly House of Representatives.

Below are the unofficial election returns for Cumberland County. Votes are unofficial until certified by the Cumberland County Election Commission.

President of the United States

Romney/Ryan (R) 18,651

Obama/Biden (D) 6,260

Goode/Clymer (C) 65

Stein/Honkala (G) 86

Anderson/Rodriguez (I) 26

Johnson/Gray (I) 141

Miller/Abernethy (I) 15

Write-In 51

United States Senate

Bob Corker (R) 17,899

Mark E. Clayton (D) 4,483

Kermit Steck (C) 202

Martin Pleasant (G) 492

Shaun E. Crowell (I) 185

David Gatchell (I) 69

James Higdon (I) 94

Michel Joseph Long (I) 67

Troy Stephen Scoggin (I) 78

Write-In 48

US House of Representatives

6th Congressional District

Diane Black (R) 16,148

Pat Riley (G) 1,660

Scott Beasley (I) 2,926

Write-In 208

Tennessee House of Representatives

25th Representative District

Cameron Sexton (R) 17,405

Flo Matheson (D) 5,485

Write-In 31

Town of Pleasant Hill

Councilman (2)

Lisa Patrick 249

Wayne R. Shelley 227

Write-In 0

Write-In 0

Crab Orchard


Patrick Lee Barnes 74

Emmett H. Sherrill 149

Willard Sherrill 49

Write-In 0


Councilmember (2)

Jesse Luke Kerley 1,535

Halstead (Ted) Meadows Jr. 894

James C. Perry 1,034

P.E. Souza 1,340

Boyd Wyatt Sr. 1,020

Write-In 9

Write-In 0

There were 27,159 votes cast in Cumberland County, including five provisional ballots. Those voters had until 4 p.m. Thursday to present a photo ID and have their vote included in the tally. There were 1,095 absentee ballots, 16,381 early votes and 9,678 votes on election day, representing 67.06 percent of the registered voters.