Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

December 5, 2013

Members appointed to new wildlife and fisheries panel

By Gary Nelson
Senior staffwriter

CROSSVILLE — Cumberland County's new wildlife and fisheries committee has taken shape and was formed with members appointed by Cumberland County Mayor Kenneth Carey Jr. after the county commission approved the members during November's monthly meeting.

Resolution 11-2013-2 was approved in a 13-3 vote, with two commissioners abstaining from the vote.

Members appointed to serve on the committee include County Mayor Carey, Charles Seiber, 4th District commissioner; Mike Harvel, 7th District commissioner; Wayne Shadden; Charles Daugherty; Randall Kidwell; and Patrick Garrison.

Commissioners voting against the resolution were Joe Koester and Jan McNeil, 5th District; and Jeff Brown, 8th District.

Commissioners Seiber and Harvel abstained from the vote.

There was no discussion regarding the vote.

A recommendation to form the committee was previously approved by the environmental committee and forwarded to the county commission in October.

The committee will “work with county residents, hunting and fishing clubs in Cumberland County and make recommendations on such changes, or to recommend new regulations to the county legislative body that it might pursue with Tennessee Fish and Wildlife Commission, along with the Tennessee Wildlife Resource Agency (TWRA),” according to resolution 10-2013-3.

The committee will have speaking rights on behalf of the county before the TFWC on issues and requests approved by the county.

The resolution also states that the creation of the committee does not impugn the speech of any citizen being heard from the county, nor shall it supersede the voice of any other group or organization from speaking.

In other areas, the Cumberland County Commission also approved resolution 11-2013-1 — reappointing two members to the county's solid waste committee.

The two members of the committee reappointed were Everett Bolin and Barry Field. Other members of the committee are Wayne Blaylock, Beth Sherrill, Les Cavell, Al Dwenger and Mike Stubbs.