Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

December 20, 2012

Houston wins "Hustlers" Award


CROSSVILLE — The Hustlers golf group recently presented their "Eagle Award" trophy for outstanding performance during 2012 to Jerry Houston. He became the 15th winner of this traveling trophy and is entitled to keep it until the next winner is determined in December, 2013.

The Hustlers group consists of 36 regular players and several substitute players, competing as four-person teams every Friday, all year long, weather permitting. Players are

rotated so the team structure differs from week to week. A record is kept of each player's finish position each time he plays.

The traveling Eagle trophy was established in 1998 as an annual award to recognize the regular golfer who averaged the best finish during the weekly competitions. For the 2012 season, Jerry averaged a 2.675 finish, making him this year's winner. Finishing in second place was Don Hawker, who averaged 2.795. Congratulations to Jerry from all of the Hustlers!

Previous winners were: Joe Lupion in 1998, Aaron Gray in 1999, Gene Crosley in 2000, Bud Stapleton in 2001 and

2002, Joe Doran in 2003, Larry Mick in 2004, Eldean Shelley in 2005, Ken Wilcox in 2006, Carl Genske in 2007, Jim Mercer in 2008, Bernie Bunyak in 2009, Bill Rogerson in 2010 and Don Fairchild in 2011.

The "Iron Man" award for 2012 went to Steve Murphy, who played 42 rounds during the year. Congratulations  to all of the winners!