Crossville Chronicle, Crossville, TN

December 27, 2012

MOAA installs officers


CROSSVILLE — The membership of the Upper Cumberland Chapter of the Military Officers Association of America gathered at Cumberland Mountain State Park Dec. 4 to install their new slate of officers and board members. Outgoing president Ed Lewis was pleased to preside over their installation, following unanimous approval by members. The leadership team for next year include: President LTC Russ Schubert, U.S. Army, retired; Vice President Lt. Col. Dave Southall, U.S. Air Force, retired; Secretary-Treasurer CDR Mark Pfaffenroth, U.S. Navy, retired; Board Member Jack Miller; Board Member Bob Ross; and Board Member Col. John Wigington, U.S. Air Force, retired.

The new officers will serve a two-year term (2013-2014) while the new board members will serve for four years (2013-2016). In addition to the new board members, Tom Cross and Gil Johnson will continue to serve as board members. 

During the last meeting of the year, Lewis reviewed highlights for 2012.  Particularly noteworthy was the proclamation, signed by Gov. Bill Haslam, as well as Speaker Harwell and Lieutenant Governor Ramsey, that recognized the MOAA chapters in the state for their outstanding contributions to the Cell Phones for Soldiers campaign, which concluded in February. Tennessee chapters represented 29 percent of all cell phones collected during that campaign, thereby demonstrating the state’s signature volunteer spirit. The Upper Cumberland Chapter ranked no. 6 in the nation and was specifically cited (along with the other two Tennessee chapters) for their effort. 

On a somber note, Lewis paid tribute to two members who passed away this year – charter member Roy Lanz, a World War II-era veteran and retiree of the Air Force, and past president and board member Bob Thomas, who also retired from the Air Force.  

The Upper Cumberland Chapter will begin its 23rd year of operation next year, with new leadership that will continue its tradition of “Service to Membership, Country, and Community.”