Dowlen Scholarship (2).jpg

Scholarship recipient Janet Dowlen (center) is pictured with Cumberland County SCD Chairman Jeff Dodson (far left) and Cumberland County SCD Supervisor David Beaty (far right).

Janet Dowlen, soil conservationist with the Cumberland County Soil Conservation District, was recently awarded the Tennessee Conservation District Employees Association’s O’Bryan/Franks Memorial Scholarship. She was presented with the scholarship at the Tennessee Association of Conservation Districts Annual Convention which was held in Gatlinburg the end of February.

Each year the TCDEA awards scholarships to three of its members. To be eligible to receive one of the $500 scholarships, the recipient must be a current member of the TCDEA and they must be enrolled in clerical or agricultural courses through a college, university or technical school.

Janet is enrolled at Tennessee Technological University in Cookeville where she plans to pursue a teaching certificate in agriculture.